We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truely amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A truely amazing place”
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Desert Islands Resort and Spa is truely an amazing experience. From the moment we parked the car at the jetty we were very well looked after. The short boat ride to the island is exciting and the views as you arrive to the hotel are breathtaking.
Upon arrival at the hotel we were approached by the activities organisor to book in for what we wanted to do while we were there. We picked the Game Drive that evening and Kayaking the next morning. The Game drive was fab, we saw many species, and our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. The Kayaking was great fun, something niether myself or my huband have tried before, the highlight for us was seeing some dolphins playing not far from where we were paddling.
The Hotel itself was very well decorated, clean, and the staff were more friendy and attentive than any hotel I have stayed in across the UAE. The food in the Palm restaurant was good, we ate there 3 times and also had room service which was great.
The pool was lovely, a good size and nice temperature.
I had informed the hotel when I booked that it was our wedding anniversary, and upon check in we were presented with a complimentary cake and a room upgrade
We will definitely be visiting this resort again, the only downside is that it is a 3 1/2 hour drive from Dubai, maybe next time we will fly!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    173
    73
    29
    16
See reviews for
341
287
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2009

The Island is incredible and the staff and very friendly. i suggest you avoid weekends like we did and hence the resort has less people and the service is better. We enjoyed theactivities associated with the hotel, like Game Drive, Arching, Kayaking, Schoba Diving ..etc
The Hotel is the only one on the Island and hence provide a theme of relaxing and joy.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibda3uae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Great service, view, activities and food. We had a great time, specially with kids, they had a blast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
166 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Granted, I probably would not have picked this place on my own, but was with a group and so didn't have a choice. The facilities themselves are very nice, the rooms very clean, beds comfortable, and the decor was very well done. That said, I didn't get where the cost came from, as the beach was unimpressive (others have described the unsightly 'beach sausages', and there was also garbage on the beach that no one was picking up), the hotel pool was fine but should have been cooled, and the food was only average. Some others in my group tried to sign up for activities, but most were already full (even though they were included in the price). The staff were friendly, though, and the rooms were spacious and well appointed. Overall, though, it was far from an exceptional experience, which is not how it is billed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Just came back today from the resort, and we had a very good experience there. The activities were very well organised, and the guides were very knowledgeable and helpful. There is a flexibility in the timings for the activities, would it be kayaking in the mangroves, snorkelling, archery, walks or the jeep safari. The food at the restaurant was very good and the buffet breakfast was abundant. I will definitely head back there when the weather gets a little cooler. The hotel was accomodating and arranged our return to our car very early in the morning by speedboat.

  • Liked — Good location, very nicely decorated
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sag79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

The concept is great, the management is terrible and the service reflects the very poor management. The only nice thing about the place is the island setting and the animal safari but honestly for that price you could take your faily to Kenya and get much better service.

It is a 4 hour drive from Dubai and once you reach the jetty to take the ferry to the island, you realise you will have to leave your car baking in the very hot sun during your entire stay.
The staff are friendly but expect you to fend for yourself though. You pay 5 stars but you get outback desert service...
Once you check- in don't expect your bags to reach your room any time soon. It took 1 hour and 10 mins for 1 suitcase to reach the room, even though the hotel has a very small number of rooms and plenty of staff.
The air conditionning wasn't working and no matter how much we complained, we still had to spend 2 nights at 28C in the room before they switched us to another room... and the hotel was not full.
There are only 2 restaurants and the buffet food quality is very average (almost bad) although you will pay top dollar for it. the seafood restaurant is nice but as expensive as any top of the range restaurant in London.
Room service... never understood anything right, brought the wrong food every time and let's not even mention the quality.
The general hotel staff are very nice but seem have almost no training, especially when it comes to 5 star service. Behind the smile there is no clue on how to provide decent service.
You can complain all you want about how horrible your experience is, all you will get from every one there, from the GM to the cleck is a nod and a "sorry".

There is no decent beach. it is a construction site. perhaps one day...

Again, the safari is very nice and so is the island setting but for the top dollar you pay, you could afford flying to Africa.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CCEAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DXB, UAE
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2009

The only thing more surprising than discovering a tower of giraffes on a desert island in the Middle East is meeting a mob of emus . Bumping into some unexpected Australians is one of the highlights of a two-hour game drive on Sir Bani Yas Island, during which we also encounter a cackle of hyenas, several departments of deer, a herd of antelope and a flamboyance of flamingos. The island is owned by the royal family of Abu Dhabi and they have a huge palace on it. The hotel is at the other end of the island from the palace. Sheikh Zayed (the last ruler of Abu Dhabi) was a huge fan of wildlife and when he realized that the Arabian flora was starting to become extinct he started planting trees on Sir Bani Yas Island and populating it with native wildlife.

I went on a game drive on Monday morning (which I thought was going to be pretty lame after Africa) but I have to say that it was every bit as good as Africa and we even saw Cheetahs (that we didn't get to see in Africa).
During an overnight visit I'm able to do things I never imagined possible in the Abu Dhabi, I spent a morning kayaking through mangroves in search of stingrays and turtles and a GREEN sand-dome mountain.

The Hotel was great, An Arabian Night fantasy: with petal-strewn hot tubs separated by swathes of gold and burnt orange furnishings, domes, hand-carved wood ceilings and sideboards. A prefect venue to explore Arabia, especially for an Aussie couple like us. We were a long way from Sydney.
It was a truly lovely trip away from Dubai and I can totally recommend it to people.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sir Bani Yas Island
3.9 mi away
Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al Yamm Villa Resort
Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al ...
#2 of 3 in Sir Bani Yas Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
3.2 mi away
Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al Sahel Villa Resort
Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al ...
#1 of 3 in Sir Bani Yas Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
14.4 mi away
Dhafra Beach Hotel
Dhafra Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Jebel Dhanna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Danat Jebel Dhanna Resort
Danat Jebel Dhanna Resort
#1 of 2 in Jebel Dhanna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barracuda Beach Resort
Barracuda Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
112.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Residence Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa

Property: Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 12452, Sir Bani Yas Island 00945, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Sir Bani Yas Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sir Bani Yas Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 64 luxuriously appointed rooms, suites, spacious one-bedroom villas and truly luxurious two-bedroom Royal Villas, Desert Islands Resort & Spa by Anantara invites you to live out your own Arabian nights in a destination that is anything but ordinary. 240km from Abu Dhabi City and just eight kilometers off the Abu Dhabi emirate’s western coastline, the island beckons with a mystique that is worlds away from the hustle and bustle of modern urban life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Islands Resort And Spa By Anantara
Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara Hotel Sir Bani Yas Island
Desert Islands Hotel
Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa Emirate Of Abu Dhabi/Sir Bani Yas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing