We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Charmaine T

Couple getaway and bonding

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Jan 2019
We had an overall amazing experience. the staff and Rashid and the guys at the pool bar especially was always helpful and ready to assist with all we needed. We will be back for sure. Marli on the game drive was fantastic!!!
Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LightPacker741974, Manager at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara, responded to this review
Responded 30 Jan 2019
Dear Guest ,

It was really amazing to see you once again and i really appreciate your feedback . It was definitely the pleasure of whole team to serve you and offer you the best of Anantara Hospitality.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With my warmest regards

Rachid Bakas
Director Of Rooms
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£375
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £370
  • Trip.com
    £327
  • Hotels.com
    £370
3.1 miles from Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Free Wifi
Free parking
£375
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £370
  • ZenHotels.com
    £362
  • Expedia.com
    £370
3.8 miles from Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Free Wifi
Free parking
£217
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £225
  • Trip.com
    £193
  • Hotels.com
    £225
0.0 miles from Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
£74
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £72
  • Agoda.com
    £66
  • Expedia.com
    £90
14.4 miles from Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Free Wifi
Free parking
£119
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
    £91
  • Hotels.com
    £98
  • ZenHotels.com
    £93
19.0 miles from Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Exterior
£96
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £103
  • Agoda.com
    £84
  • Vio.com
    £87
19.1 miles from Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £65
  • Agoda.com
    £55
  • Priceline
    £81
37.8 miles from Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Multiple ways to pay
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
14.0 miles from Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
Manish varghese oommen
Contact accommodation for availability.
18.6 miles from Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara
View more hotels in Sir Bani Yas Island
Reviews (1,453)
Filter reviews
1,453 results
Traveller rating
992
271
117
47
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
992
271
117
47
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews abu dhabi desert islands resort wildlife drive kids club al shams horse riding boat ride water sports hour drive wild animals seafood restaurant f b sir baniyas amazing experience safari tour amazing weekend the main hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
393 - 398 of 1,453 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2019

This was a family stay including grandparents and we couldn't have been made more welcome! From arriving at the ferry port, the staff went out of their way to help us and make us feel welcome. The hotel is beautifully and sympathetically decorated. The rooms look a little "tired" vs the sister hotel Eastern Mangroves where we had spent a couple of nights before, but it didn't detract at all. The facilities we experienced were all excellent, including the restaurants. The Amwaj barbecue is highly recommended as is Al Shams where we went almost every night. Only slight disappointment was the Savannah Christmas day carvery.. by the time the chef had finished going through all the options and serving everyone, our meals had gone cold, but not sure how he could have got around this as we were a fairly large family. Breakfast was excellent, with good choice. The service throughout the stay was impeccable from front desk, to room maintenance to bar/restaurants - I genuinely can't fault it however some staff consistently went above and beyond expectations for example Jomom, Delilah & Asri. The safari is a must. We had Mirellie as a guide and she was outstanding. She engaged our 7 year old throughout and was very knowledgeable. If you're a wildlife watcher like myself and my family, please take the opportunity to hangout on the beach as you will be amazed. We had it pretty much to ourselves and watched ospreys fishing and dolphins swimming close by, daily. The breakwater acts as a reef so there are lots of fish and even rays if you venture beyond the breakwater but there is no supervision, so this is not recommended to novices. All in all, it's not the cheapest however I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be visiting again in the future, without a doubt. Thanks!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LightPacker741974, Manager at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2019

Dear Paula,

Warm Greeetings from Sir Bani Yas Resorts,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your feedback about your experience with us.

We are delighted to learn that you had a memorable stay and we appreciate your kind praise of our team members. I will ensure to share this feedback with them and the rest of the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you again for your time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise in the near future.

Best Regards
Rachid Bakas
Director Of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2019 via mobile

Just finished a 2 night stay at Anantara desert island resort , Sir Baniyas island ,with my daughter. First and foremost the efforts of all involved in the maintenance of an eco consverative island in the middle of a desert has to be appreciated..The island does not disappoint ! Kudos to HRH Sheikh Zayed to the exemplary vision of tranforming a desert patch into a beautiful lush fertile land where so many species of life co exist, Although a controlled environment it is marvellous example of how human beings can help sustain nature , enjoy nature and wild animals , helping them flourish! The hotel( desert islands resort) is a bit dated( given the premium price we paid for accomodation alone) .The check in including the transfers from Sir Baniyas island boat jetty was smooth . Michelle was the check in assistant assigned to us and she clearly explained the activities and facilities in the resort. The room had a gorgeous sea facing balcony and the amenities were considerably ok. The toilet flush malfunctioned at times though . The pool was relatively small and the beach available for the Desert islands resort per se was just a strip. But the beach at the other property Al yamm villas was quite ok . The food at the breakfast buffet and the in room dining and the italian restaurant at al yamm villas was quite good . The 2 activites I took- the nature walk and the wild life safari ( both overpriced for a mere 90 minutes ) were made worthy by the 2 activity guides- Mr Khaled and Mr Anvi ..both passionate about wild life and well informed
Now the cons and the reason for giving only 3 stars

1) Too expensive for a property thats outdated in the exterior and old fittings- we have a lot of gorgeous new resorts to choose these days..the only reason to come here would be just to be in Sir Baniyas island
2) The wait staff in both the restaurants we visited put us off completely..both Al shams and the italian restaurant..both for lunch..They didnt have a smile on their face, they seemed to resent us coming in as they looked clearly overworked..and Mr Shaheen at al shams even mentioned that a lot of staff are on leave..strange because it was peak season when we visited ! Also when on a holiday we want to be greeted by smiling and happy staff..not overworked and unhappy lot..The management has to take care of this..we didnt want to pay money for food and then leave guilty of overworking the wait staff

5) The only free activity were the bikes which unfortunately for us turned out to be a fiasco since the bike we took out didnt function properly and when we returned to the shed there was no one around . Called the hotel, hung around for 20 minutes, spoke to michelle at the reception desk - no luck..so walked back to the hotel

Was this irresponsible service because it was a free bike?

All in all for the discerning tourist used to impeccable service and value for the money they pay , there are other great resorts..except for the beautiful baniyas island..

All in all a disappointment from the anantara stable!!!!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rajshree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LightPacker741974, Manager at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Dear Rajshree R,

Warm Greetings from Sir Bani Yas Resorts,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us and we are very happy to learn that you had a good time overall.

In another hand , we appreciate your feedback on areas for improvement and we will ensure the necessary corrective measures are in place. Please do accept our sincere apologies if this may cause you an inconvenience.

We hope you can give us a chance to welcome you back in the island and restore your faith in Anantara Hospitality.

Best Regards
Rachid Bakas
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2019

Booked two nights in the Anantara Suite and was pleasantly surprised by the whole experience! From the moment we arrived at the jetty, till our arrival at the resort, everything was taken care of. The staff in particular were very friendly and welcoming. The activities desk were helpful and friendly. The spa was divine! The thai massage was the best I ever had, absolutely brilliant! This was a welcomed break away from the hustle and bustle of the city! Definitely recommended! Thank you.

Room tip: Book the activities in advance to avoid disappointment!
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aalhilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LightPacker741974, Manager at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Dear aalhilou,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your feedback about your experience with us.

We are delighted to learn that you had a memorable stay and we appreciate your kind praise of our team members. I will ensure to share this feedback with them and the rest of the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you again for your time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Resort in the near future.


Sincerely,
Rachid Bakas
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2019

Great place to unwind - beach, mountains and wildlife safari! Friendly and helpful staff, great food and lots of outdoor activities for different age groups. This is our 2nd trip to the island and were not disappointed in coming back.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank 555Rowena
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LightPacker741974, Manager at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your feedback about your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Resort in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rachid Bakas
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2018

Overall experience of the resort from arrival to departure was excellent. There was a good variety of water sports. We enjoyed the wild life safari as well as the water sports.The staff were all helpful and courteous.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Cruiser515865
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LightPacker741974, Manager at Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2018

Dear Cruiser 515865,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your feedback about your experience with us.

We are delighted to learn that you had a memorable stay and we appreciate your kind praise of our team members. I will ensure to share this feedback with them and the rest of the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you again for your time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Anantara Sir Bani Yas Resort in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rachid Bakas
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews