We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millstreet Country Park

Millstreet Country Park
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great Park, with plenty of walks and multiple attractions. Great value for money considering the amount of effort gone into the park and the wide range of attractions and activities. Disagree totally with some of the reviews suggesting the park is not good value for money and not worth the visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donohanlon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlaith G, Marketing Executive at Millstreet Country Park, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello Donohanlon2

We are delighted you had such a great experience at Millstreet Country Park.

Great effort is made to keep the 500 arce park in such good shape all year round.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Orlaith Giltinan
Marketing Executive
021 70810
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    1
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bantry, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will appeal to wide variety of people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Myself & my husband & 3 kids went to the country park last weekend. My kids are nearly 3, 6 & 8. It cost €15 to get in & on reflection it was worth it. This was a family day pass, kids under 12 are free and adults are usually €9 each. It takes about 5 mins to drive from the entrance down to the centre of the park where the coffee shop, car park ,etc is based. Along the way you pass a number of picnic areas. We drove back up & had our picnic up there and then went back down and parked up and commenced our walk. There is so much to see and do here. We stuck with the easier walks cos of our toddler and the fact that we still have a buggy. However for older children there are loads of other harder trails, etc and also a mountain bike trail for all levels. The lakeside walks were fabulous and were as long or as short as you wanted them to be as you could get off the trail at various locations and just head back to the centre. The 3 children loved the obstacle course we came upon along the way and it kept them occupied for 15 mins & would have stayed there longer only for the midges driving us mad. The coffee shop/restaurant was lovely and spacious and bright and not overpriced. There were great bayb changing facilities if required and also a kids corner with blackboard, crayons, etc. Coffee was really good! They were also showing the hurling matches in a seperate area which kept everyone happy. There is loads to see and do here and we will definitely go back there. The midges did drive us crazy due to the fact that it was a muggy day. I think this would appeal to families of all ages but also to couples and anyone interested in the outdoors, its a massive park and there is plenty to see and do. The water feature to the rear of the centre is spectacular and very soothing to just listen to. Definitely worth the entrance fee and a great way to spend a day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Meabh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Prices have lowered to €9 worth it as so much to see.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We went at the end of summer and our little boy is walking now, well running really. It has great little walks around the lakes. We also went through a wooded area with the historical info which was really cool. We havent done the whole area yet but there are little surprises along the way such as an assault course. Cant wait to go when he's older and able to walk further. Great whole day out as good cafe and toilets available.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DayTripsnad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, especially for kids.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

My kids ( aged 12 and 8 ) love this place and so do I. We've been there a few times over the past 2 years and they always ask to go back. It has a variety of gardens, rose , sensory, music and bee gardens, the kind of thing kids love. The mont des arts water feature is spectacular. They love the duck racing on one of the little streams and the obstacle course.
The place is so tranquil and scenic and well maintained. There are lots of walks and paths to explore. Some of these are themed walks featuring busts of famous people in Irish history. In fact the place puts a big emphasis on our history with a recreation of a Crannog and Fulacht Fia and there is also an ancient stone circle and standing stones in the park.

It is well laid out with all the gardens and above mentioned walk near to the car park and visitor centre but if one wishes you can venture further into the park. The visitor centre itself has a nice restaurant and we always found the staff helpful and friendly.

Last time we brought our bikes and it was a wonderful way to see more. We got there at 11am and left at 5pm and the kids wanted to stay longer ! It cost us €15. Expensive some might say but 2 hours in an indoor play centre in the city would have cost €14 !

If you like nature and getting out there and want a good day out with the kids I highly recommend this park .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank puntospilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

€15 Euro one has to pay AFTER driving through the automatic gate. You drive in to be advised that its another 4km to the free parking. Then you need a token to leave the park and that's €15 for two people. Never again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Steffenschubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Millstreet Country Park also viewed

Millstreet, County Cork
Millstreet, County Cork
 

Been to Millstreet Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing