We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent rooms but lacks soul”
Review of Vila Vagalume

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vila Vagalume
Ranked #3 of 5 Guajiru B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms but lacks soul”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed in Villa Vagalume for two days on a kite surfing expedition with a group of ten.
Ages from 16 to 60 generally staying in good quality accommodation.

On the positive side the rooms were very nice clean had air con and the wi-fi worked.
Location very good on the beach.

On the less positive side there was no real service and the whole facility seemed dead. Breakfast was only ok and there was no English spoken at all.

My recommendation is stay in Rede Beach up the road a few hundred yards.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eamonn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ali_d_s, Owner at Vila Vagalume, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Eamonn,

Many thanks for your review. We apologies if the service wasn't up to standard. We work with local people and try and train them up to give the best service, we strive to do this at all times. It's hard to find English speaking, trained staff in remote areas. When myself or my wife are on site we try and deal with English speaker but this isn't always possible.

Many thanks

Ramon de Sarriera - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    67
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
81
68
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza
Level Contributor
172 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

friendly staff, good common areas.. pleasant garden..clean rooms.
pool dirty with bits of algae, very poor breakfast,limited selection of breads , food at the restaurant overpriced, safe not working and no one to fix it, telephone not working, staff not well trained...
no black out curtains in the room..very poor tv with local channels..
poor value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumeetbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ali_d_s, Owner at Vila Vagalume, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Sumeetbr,
We are very sorry that your stay wasn't up to standard. At Vila Vagalume we always try and give the best service possible at all times.
We'd like to hopefully answer some of your issues. A few of the things you mention are down to the remoteness of the area - we can't get as many TV channels as others, we make our bread daily so it's fresh but limited to types and staff is also limited. We work hard to train local people to work with us but this is an ongoing process that we hope we are getting better at all the time.
Regarding the safe and telephone not working we strive to fix things as soon as we are told but again sometimes take a bit longer to get fixed as some technicians live far away.
We will look into the staff issue and hopefully can improve on this
Many thanks for your review
Ramon de Sarriera - Owner Vila Vagalume
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guajiru
0.7 mi away
Zorah Beach Hotel
Zorah Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Guajiru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.5 mi away
Orixas Art Hotel
Orixas Art Hotel
#1 of 3 in Flecheiras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inn Tribus
Inn Tribus
#2 of 3 in Flecheiras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rede Beach
Rede Beach
#1 of 5 in Guajiru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Albergaria
Villa Albergaria
#2 of 5 in Guajiru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pousada Janelas do Mar
Pousada Janelas do Mar
#5 of 9 in Flecheiras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Vagalume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Vagalume

Property: Vila Vagalume
Address: Rua da Praia s/n, Guajiru, Trairi, State of Ceara 62690-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Trairi > Guajiru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guajiru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Vagalume 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2009, Vila Vagalume is situated on one of the warmest and endless beaches of northeastern Brazil and is completely integrated in the natural environment, with solar energy systems and constructed from natural materials. You can also enjoy beautiful adventure walks and kite surfing throughout the year, classes can be arranged. We also organize activities such as, adventure trips by buggy, 4X4, quad or horseback riding. Airport transfers to and from Fortaleza are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Vila Vagalume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing