We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

The Pelican Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pelican Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Tacolneston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 October 2011

The Peilcan Inn is confortable, the welcome from both staff and locals is fantastic, the food is good and the value for money is brilliant.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear are quieter as they are away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 90 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

We haven't actually stayed here, but have visited a few times with a view to booking a wedding reception, and we wanted to see the service we would get without them knowing. We really liked the idea to be able to book a whole place to ourselves, friends and family for a long weekend, especially with having a garden. We drive past quite a lot and there is always something advertised outside so we presumed it must be a popular destination, and as it is located on the main road it would be easy for guests to find.

Before you even get in to the main pub you are hit by the overpowering waft of disinfectant from the toilets which are by the front door. The welcome - unfriendly, no warm smiles (from who we subsequently found out to be the owners). The food, mediocre at best, the decor, pretty old fashioned. The bar maid and waitress who served us however, were friendly and efficient (they were also the only ones who smiled).

In fairness we did make a couple more return visits for drinks, in case it was a one off, but having surveyed how the Pelican works we decided it just wasn't for us.

Such a shame as it looks so pretty from the outside.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Bradley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

A very nice place to stay at. Food is excellent, drinks are various, whiskies abundant.
Check it out. Sadly, the free internet does not work.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caver13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

I recently stayed at the Pelican just for a weekend away with my partner. We arrived early evening on the Saturday and were taken straight to our quaint room. We have stayed in a number of B&B's and can say this was by far the best. We had an enjoyable three course meal (portions were perfect size to fit in all three!). I'm not great lover of red meat so was very impressed to see a range of fish and other dishes on the menu. For starter I had medley of fish and for main sea bass on chick peas which was beautiful. My partner had crayfish salad and for main an impressive burger with home made chips! We couldn't get over how good the main and starters were so when the desserts came out - wow! I had a chocolate pot, to look at it doesn't look very big but it's more than enough for a chocoholic! My partner had the sticky toffee pudding so as you can imagine we were suitably full! We had a few drinks after our meal in the bar which again is a beautiful area and very homely. The staff were all fantastic and very cheery and made you feel incredibly welcome.

We enjoyed our stay here so much that we returned for their New Year celebrations and once again were more than satisfied! Will certainly return again this year!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linzey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Bed and Breakfast Rooms adequately appointed but nothing special. Biggest issue was that the owners failed to pre-warn us of a problem with the heating. Quite literally cold with no hot water! Hand soap in bathroom had been overlooked, no mineral water provided as suggested in the welcome information. Good breakfast available.Over priced. Little or no professional integrity exhibited by the owner and on the basis of this would definitely not return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete3090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Pelican Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican Guest House

Address: 136 Norwich Road, Tacolneston NR16 1AL, England (Formerly The Pelican Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Tacolneston
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tacolneston
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pelican Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 16th-century Former free-house, full of charm, cosiness and character .Clean, friendly and welcoming, modern rooms with tea and coffee making facilities. Large licenced Residents Lounge area, with Now TV (box sets and films) self service honesty bar and real ale bottle shop stocking over 30 Bottled local real ales. All rooms are booked on a bed and breakfast basis, offering all rooms with en-suite shower and wc facilities. Wifi free. Key safe for late checking, large extensive FREE car park. Morning coffee garden area. Breakfasts all cooked with local produce. Overnight bike storage. 8 Miles from Norwich City centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Pelican Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelican Guest House Tacolneston, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing