We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We waited over an hour and the food was dissapointing”

The Pelican Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pelican Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Tacolneston B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We waited over an hour and the food was dissapointing”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked a table for 8pm and were told we would have to wait an extra 10 mins as they were busy. We weren't seated until 9.10pm and when the food arrived we were slightly disappointed in the quantity of food and the chef's seemed to have added too many extra items unnecessarily. My spicy burger with jalapenos had a portion of what I can only describe as a chutney which would normally be served with cheese. The burger had a smearing of Thai sweet chilli sauce along the edge of the burger and plate. Our friend had 8 chips with his lamb pie, which was tiny and contained hardly any filling. It was the first time we had been, sadly it will be our last.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobThompson_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    25
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
29
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Me and my partner went to the Pelican last Friday 15th November 13, bit quiet but still had a nice atmosphere, the service was good and we were asked a couple of times during our meal if every thing was alright.....the food was good although the start I thought was more of a main meal but im not complaining about that....plenty of choice and of good quality. The bar area is a nice traditional pub bar with a nice log fire...would we go back?? yes we would..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norfolkhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We visited The Pelican for Sunday Lunch. We were a big group of 14 including 5 children, but they seemed confident they could cope with us when I booked.

The food was excellent - good choice, decent value and very good quality. And the pub itself very nice with a big wood fire and smart restaurant area.

The service was the let down. I found our waitress abrupt and rude at times. We had 5 young children with us and I felt that they weren't particularly welcomed and were perceived to be a bit of an inconvenience. At one point when stretching our legs between courses we were hastily ushered back to our table to ensure the ambiance wasn't ruined by our children.

Despite ordering dessert, after the main course my son's high-chair was taken away for the use of another customer. This made the last part of our meal inconvenient and awkward.

There was a trainee waitress on duty. She was very pleasant but made a couple of mistakes which incidentally we were fine with. However, when the main waitress came over to acknowledge & apologise for the errors, she was very quick to blame the new starter rather than taking accountability.

Finally, we specifically requested that a separate tab was kept for our drinks. When the bill arrived it was all mixed together - making the bill calculations a little more complex than we had aimed to achieve.

All small points but added together the service really impacting the groups experience.

If you're a small group or couple without children you'll probably be ok. Otherwise I suggests trying elsewhere, maybe The Pigs @ Edgefield.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyTennis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Decided to go to The Pelican for husband's birthday, wanted somewhere with good food but family friendly (children 7 and 5) and we had a lovely time. Staff friendly and no rush,even though it was a busy Sunday lunchtime. Great food and kids menu was child friendly but good quality. Sweets were gorgeous. Supply of nappies in toilets a really nice touch too even though we didn't need them. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times as we live nearby. Always high standard, really impressed today by the effort made to be family friendly. We took our 3 month old baby and lively 3 year old toddler for Saturday lunch. Isn't cheap but very high standards of food. Great pub atmosphere, open fire. Great children's menu, free nappies available etc. Food was a bit slow but I think reflects high standards of cooking. The owners have young children so are thoughtful, but definitely not over run with kids so would recommend for everyone!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Popped in here last minute just on off chance and Glad we did...great food,very polite and friendly staff in great surroundings.
Left there stuffed...the apple crumble and custard was the best ive never eaten...
Will all be going back very soon...

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cuppa_T_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Booked a night here whilst visiting family in Norwich and didn't want a boring hotel room so found this a few miles out of the city - perfect B&B, and worth the few miles, friendly pub, excellent local beers, welcoming staff, comfortable rooms and fantastic breakfast. Would recommend and will re-book when next visiting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tacolneston
5.3 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunnyside South B&B
Sunnyside South B&B
#1 of 1 in Forncett
25 reviews
3.9 mi away
South Norfolk Guest House
South Norfolk Guest House
#1 of 1 in Great Moulton
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelican Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican Guest House

Property: The Pelican Guest House
Address: 136 Norwich Road, Tacolneston NR16 1AL, England (Formerly The Pelican Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Tacolneston
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tacolneston
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pelican Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 16th-century former free-house, full of charm, cosiness and character. Clean, friendly and welcoming, modern rooms with tea and coffee making facilities. Large licensed residents lounge area, with Now TV (box sets and films), self service honesty bar and real ale bottle shop stocking over 30 bottled local real ales. All rooms are booked on a bed and breakfast basis, offering all rooms with en-suite shower and wc facilities. Wifi free. Key safe for late checking, large extensive FREE car park. Morning coffee garden area. Breakfasts all cooked with local produce. Overnight bike storage. 8 Miles from Norwich city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Pelican Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelican Guest House Tacolneston, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing