We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Dessert!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonecutters Kitchen

Stonecutters Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Soups, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and Dessert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stopped here for lunch after visiting the Cliffs of Moher and before catching a boat ride. The food was very good. My mother raved about her fish and chips. My cheeseburger was delicious. They had a kids menu which pleased my daughter. We stopped back after our boat ride for dessert right before they were ready to close. The proprietor/chef who shared out last name, came out to talk to us which pleased my father almost as much as the yummy dessert!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluegrass_Traveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    135
    26
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Play Zone For kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Took my nephew here always wanted to try it. we sat in a corner table it was not the best place to sit as every corner there seemed to be a kids play zone. The cottage itself was lovely and service was top-notch.The food was very average we both had the burger it was not a burger at all very tasteless and it was split in two the side salad was forgot as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank benjamin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not a lot of space, but great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stopped here on our way back from the Cliffs of Moher. I had a pesto, mozzarella, tomato and bacon Panini- it was wonderful! The coffee is great, I would not get the "chips" though- wasn't really impressed with them. The burger I had was yummy- it had brie cheese on it, and was cooked right- no bun, which was a surprise but still very good. For dessert we had a pie that they made that day and some coffee which was perfect for our drive back to Dublin. I would definitely recommend it, there aren't a lot of other restaurants in the area, this one is off of the beaten path but it hits all the right spots!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a family meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

While vacationing in County Clare we fell in love with this cute little restaurant. We ate there twice and would have loved to go again. The restaurant is a charming 100 year old stone cottage and is very warm and cozy inside. The kids preferred eating outside on the patio near the fabulous playground leaving the adults to enjoy our drinks and take in the distant ocean view. They have a great kids' menu and delicious desserts. All the food is locally sourced and was consistently good on both of our visits. The Guinness Stew stole the show, though, with a layered broth, tender beef and delicious vegetables.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Locally sourced food & cooked excellently by dedicated people. It's a little cramped but you get the opportunity to talk to other people (if you want, of course). Good wine selection. Pricing is good value. We had early dinner here but it's open all day. Great staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter_4825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stonecutters Kitchen also viewed

 
Doolin, The Burren
 

Been to Stonecutters Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing