We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food”

Roadford House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

While staying at the Roadford House I took the opportunity to have dinner there one night & I'm glad I did!! The food was wonderful as was the presentation. I had the "special" that consisted of a sampling of 4 different fish dishes served with a fresh vegetable medley and Irish potatoes. Every fish dish was perfectly prepared, moist, tender and not overcooked. This has to be the best place to eat in Doolin. I was not alone in my opinion as I heard other patrons commenting about how good their food was. If in Doolin or surrounding area, make sure you eat here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MLHTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    30
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“This food is seriously good,and is a must when staying in doolin.”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I recently dined at roadford restaurant whilst holidaying with friends. I really wasn't prepared for how very good this restaurant was. The host is fantastic,and really cares about her customers.
The food was excellent, everything beautifully cooked, and locally sourced. It's that good.
The owners offer accommodation, if that is anything like the food at the restaurant, it will be fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gillian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Roadford House”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The best meal I have had in a long time. Really fantastic starters, Main course and Desserts. A short but very good Wine list too! A great Hostess who really looks after her customers and was genuinely interested in making sure that food and service were up to scratch without being in your face! Great Food, service and excellent value for money!
Highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fine quality food, excellent service”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

touted as one of the 100 finest restaurants in Ireland, we were skeptical, but found ourselves without reservations early on a Friday night, so luckily we found an opening here... what a perfect place! The food was amazing, the service was cordial and prompt, calm and efficient, making us feel like the only customers, though the house was full within the hour. Definitely worth the cost, which was moderately expensive, but not extravagant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandycbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!!!!!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We found the Roadford Restaurant quite by accident. We hadn't made a reservation for dinner at any of the fine Doolin Restaurants and decided to turn down the little road to Roadford, as a last try.
We were greeted warmly by Marion, who managed to fit us in to an already full dining room. The first thing I noticed was the wonderful music playing. I was surprised to not find a live piano player!
The wait staff----was very helpful, polite and professional. Marion, the owner, saw to all the details, with a quiet grace and confidence that set a wonderfully relaxed tone to our whole experience. I ordered the vegetarian entree which was one of THE BEST I have ever had! My husband exclaimed over his meat entree as well. This was the only restaurant that we returned to for a second time during our stay-----so that says something about the service and the food! We definitely recommend Roadford Restaurant-----HIGHLY!!!! And I am not exaggerating!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FortunateMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roadford House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Roadford House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing