We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal!”

Roadford House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We ate at the Roadford House Restaurant our last night in Doolin. Our B&B recommended we have dinner there and we were delighted we did. The food was delicious and I can easily say it was the best meal we had during our stay in Ireland. The menu had very unique choices and originally seemed a bit pricey, however we were all very happy with our food and the price ended up not an issue.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooksey280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    29
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great seafood”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

this place is fantastic, seafood is so fresh, i've never tasted anything like it. if you're ever in the remote and beautiful county of clare, stop in, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank happyhappylonndoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit great food great service”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My family and I dined here on our first night visiting Doolin. We were immediately presented with delicious fresh brown bread and a bread topped with tomato and cheese.I ordered the special starter which was crab and prawn cocktail,fresh and delicious. I followed with the hake with orzo served with a selection of seasonal vegetables cooked to perfection not over done. My daughter had a Thai broth which was superb full of fish and flavour. My other daughter had the parsnip and basil soup,she doesn't normally like parsnips but loved this! Everyone's plates were wiped clean. The service was efficient and unobtrusive. The owner then took the time to give us a map of the local area and highlight the areas of interest. To conclude in my opinion the best restaurant in the locality.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenagh, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Worth going out of your way for”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Four of us had dinner on 30/4/14. The standard of the food and service was first class. We had 4 x four course dinners and two excellent bottles of wine for €50 per head. I don't know of another restaurant where food of this standard can be got at that price. The food is as good as the menu reads.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DomhnailD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern NV
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Orchestrated magic!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We were a party of 20 going to Ireland for a destination wedding. I contacted Marian to reserve a dinner for our large group. Marian readily responded to all emails promptly. That was just the start of a brief experience of heaven on earth. The food was exceptional and easily the equivalent of any one star rated Michelin restaurant. I had foie gras as a starter and duck confit for a main. The menu was extensive with numerous selections and everyone in our party was very favorably impressed. But what rated as magic for me is that Marian orchestrated the entire meal in a seamless fashion, especially when you consider that several of our group arrived at various times and not the reserved time. The service was outstanding and the value beyond compare. This is a very special place that works like a finely oiled machine. Drop by if you want to experience a little bit of heaven on earth.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenNorthernNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roadford House Restaurant also viewed

 
Lisdoonvarna, The Burren
 

Been to Roadford House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing