We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shower in Ireland!”
Review of Half Door B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Half Door B&B
Ranked #13 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best shower in Ireland!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

If you are in Doolin, you should stay at the Half Door B & B! They hands down had the best shower in Ireland! Perfect temperature and water pressure, spacious too! How refreshing! The location was great too, walking distance to the wonderful Doolin Café and a couple fun pubs.

We also had a flat tire the morning we left so the owner's husband was kind enough to put our donut on for us and direct us to a wonderful man that patched our flat and we were on our way! We were so thankful!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDomaracki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    56
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
74
111
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Doolin was one of our "unplanned" stops and according to Rick Steves, shouldn't be missed! We stayed at the Red Door just before St. Patrick's Day on our honeymoon. They had just reopened from the winter. The accommodations were just right for us, although we were cold, and didn't realize there were extra blankets at the foot of our bed!
Yes, the shower was small yet the Half Door was clean and tidy, great breakfast and Doolin is the home to some of Ireland's best music! We had a great supper just a walk to McGann's pub!
Would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had a lovely stay. The house was spotless and we had a great home made breakfast every morning. There was good pub food within walking distance for dinner, and we were within an easy drive of the Cliffs of Moher, boats to Dun Aengus and Bunratty Castle. Very enjoyable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank roadracefanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This B&B offers minimalist accommodations for those on a budget. Located near several pubs and restaurants and a couple of miles form the Doolin Pier if you plan to cruise to teh Aran islands.Cliffs of Moher are nearby, as is the Burren, About 1.5 hours from Galway.

Room 2 is on the first floor and overlooks the garbage cans. It can get smelly if you leave the window open.

No TV in the rooms, TV in sitting room was smaller tube type. Breakfast was fast and well cooked.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimJ379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our family of three stayed there last month. The room was small and I felt overpriced for the size and the size of the bathroom. We were most disappointed in the shower. Besides being small, the water temperature could not be controlled. There was a placard saying that it was set at a constant 40 degrees C(104F). I'm pretty sure it never made it past 80F. Not freezing but not acceptable for the price. There were 6 other people staying there, so it may have just been a matter of timing and using all the water in the heater. The property location is very good, as its within walking distance of several pubs and a close drive to the Cliffs and the pier. Ann was nice enough to call to the Roadford and get us a table without a reservation. We definitely appreciated that. The food there is great and we'd highly recommend eating there. Ann also is a very good cook. The breakfast choices are more diverse than you'll get at other places and we felt the quality of the food to be very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Brook, Alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Ann and Conner were very pleasant hosts. The location, within easy walking distance of both Doolin pubs, is great. Rooms had good beds and linens. Breakfast was tasty. No complaints, though it would be useful to have a mirror in the bedrooms, in addition to the one over the bathroom sink. There was no outlet in the bath, so I couldn't see to dry my hair at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a great place to base yourself for visiting Doolin and all the wonderful sights in the area: the Burren, the Cliffs of Moher, the Aran Islands, etc. The B&B is very nicely kept and super-clean, with a great selection of Irish breakfast specialties and amazing homemade brown bread. Highly recommend Anne's special scrambled eggs!

Our room was on the ground floor, but very quiet (except for the pub revelers across the street) and comfortable. This area is incredibly beautiful. Highly recommend a day in Inisheer, the closest Aran Island, in good weather. Anne & Connor are very helpful with advice about the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
563 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#5 of 53 in Doolin
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#4 of 53 in Doolin
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 17 in Doolin
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Door B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Door B&B

Property: Half Door B&B
Address: Roadford, Doolin Co. Clare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Half Door B&B is centrally located within seconds walk of restaurants and pubs famous for traditional Irish music. Converted from The Lazy Lobster restaurant to a contemporary and tastefully decorated B&B in 2008, we still offer the same professional high standard of service and our love of good food carries on in our extensive breakfast menu. We offer en-suite double, twin, and triple rooms plus we have a family suite which consists of two separate rooms with an interconnecting door. Our sun filled lounge is the perfect place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing