We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay!”
Review of Riverside Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Cottage
Ranked #17 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

One of the nicest B&Bs that we stayed in on our trip! Breda and her daughter Anne were so welcoming, the breakfasts were amazing (I loved the smoked salmon!) and the close proximity to the main street was very convenient. The house has been renovated and very tastefully decorated. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone planning on visiting Doolin!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We can not say enough good things about this B&B. It is ideally located and within easy walking distance to the trail to the Cliffs of Moher as well as the local restaurants/pubs and the famous Gus O'Connor's Pub. Breeda and her daughter were warm and welcoming and the B&B is extremely clean and tastefully decorated. There is a comfy lounge with a fireplace for the guests to enjoy as well as an outside bench with a small table and chairs. The breakfast was plentiful and the menu offered a lot of choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndreeM389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, NZ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose this B&B because of its clost proximity to the wee village but were thrilled by the standard. The old house has been moderniised inside in a very tasteful and comfortable fashion. It was the best bed we have experienced since leaving home and the bedding was pretty, puffy and cosy. Breeda was warm and welcoming and made us feel welcome in her home, more so than other B&Bs where we felt like paying guests. She has great local knowledge and is obviously thought of well in her community. We chose the locally smoked salmon off the breakfast and it was delicious, as was the home made bread I saw coming out of the oven and the truly fresh fruit salad we had with cereal. The Cliffs of Moher are 10 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gnilloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We revisited Doolin recently and we were pleasantly surprised.The standard of accomodation is extremely high.This cottage preserves its orginal facade but has every comfort inside.It is tastefully decorated .A warm welcome with tea .Excellent breakfast with fresh fruit and a choice of cooked breakfast.Breda and her daughter were very helpful.It is right in the heart of things.The amazing cliff walk nearby good centre for exploring the Burren and plenty of pubs with delicious food.Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Riverside Cottage is a lovely B&B in Doolin. It sits on the main road near O'Connor's Pub and The Sweater Shop. The location is perfect for accessing the pier if you want to take a cruise to the Aran Islands or the Cliffs of Moher, or a walking tour. It is within walking distance of the other pubs in town, including McDermott's and McGann's, Fitz's Bar, a market and other dining options.

Owner, Breda Meehan, takes pride in her domain and with the help of her daughter, cooks up a delicious Irish breakfast, complete with a big bowl of fresh fruit. You need this fruit because you will be eating a lot of protein in Ireland, unless vegetarian, and the only other thing vegetable wise is the grilled tomato that is standard to Irish breakfast. Coffee or tea is an option along with dry cereals.

True to her word, Breda remembered to give us a piece of her rhubarb tart with our breakfast one morning, after I had remarked the evening prior that something smelled good and inquired as to what she was cooking. That made this visit all the sweeter because it was like her autograph on my memory.

Our room was a Twin Room- quite large- with two beds, one double and one single. To translate, the double bed is synonymous with a Queen size bed and the single is a Twin. I was confused by this when initially shopping for a place to stay. We used the twin bed to throw our coats on and slept in the double, which is very comfortable. Fluffy comforters in soft pastels, white modern Shaker style furniture and wood floors gave the room a clean open feel. The bathroom is modern with a good shower and not much counter space for toiletries. We used the back of the toilet and the dresser top so it was no big deal. The space is very clean.

The one problem we had was that our skeleton key did not work well in the lock to our room. The owner was able to jiggle it and work the door open and we did have to sequester her to do so a few times because we just could not get it to budge. The only time it really frustrated me was when I left my sidekick at the pub down the road with some new friends and I made my way back to the B&B after a walk through town, to shower for dinner and music at O'Connor's. I had to pee and was unable to unlock the door to our room and no one was around. I tried a few times and finally after a few curse words and a lot of deep breaths and looking through the keyhole to our room as if I could peer my way through, I got in!

Stay here. Though a bit more expensive than other choices in the area, it is worth it for location, a delicious breakfast with fresh fruit and sleeping in a clean, comfy bed, all due to the pride the owner and her family take in this establishment. If you get Room 3, just ask her if she has fixed the lock- wink ;)

Room Tip: Don't shy away from a "Twin Room". It just means there are two beds and one of them m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LF0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in April (24th & 25th). We absolutely loved this B&B! Breda and her daughter were very friendly and helpful with their recommendations on which of the Aran Islands we should visit. Breda always offered us tea and had a fire in the fireplace. The bed in our room was so comfortable that it made it hard to get out of bed in the morning:) Breakfast was yummy and a great location too. I would definitely stay here again! I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KatieTravelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Wonderful way to start our stay in Ireland. Breda and her daughter were so welcoming. Lovely modernized 200 year old family farmhouse. Do not be fooled by plain outside, inside is very warm and inviting. Upon arrival we were offered tea and biscuits by the fireplace. Irish breakfast was lovely. Breda was so helpful planning a scenic (no tour bus) trip through the Burren ending with us on the ferry headed to Dingle. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
1.4 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.3 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#14 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottage

Property: Riverside Cottage
Address: Riverside Riverside Fisherstreet, Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing