We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The house was amazing, I would definitely stay...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gorse Cottage

The back of the house from the south side - with the sea of Galway Bay in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The back of the house from the south side - with the sea of Galway Bay in the distance
The front of the house, looking towards the Cliffs of Moher The living room, with stove and wood floors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
The back of the house from the south side - with the sea of Galway Bay in the distance
The front of the house, looking towards the Cliffs of Moher
The living room, with stove and wood floors
The kitchen, looking south west towards the Cliffs of Moher
Walking on the boreen, near the house
The garden and picnic table with the Cliffs of Moher in the distance
View from the boreen across the road, 10 minutes walk from the house
The cottage has five bedrooms with great views - here's bedroom 1
Bedroom 4
View from the front door of Galway Bay on a summer evening
Bedroom 5
Ballinalacken Castle - looking north from the front of the cottage
Bedroom 3
Cows at the edge of the Burren, down the boreen (the start of which is 2 minutes walk from the house
Another amazing sunset, seen from Gorse Cottage
In the sea with a couple of dolphins just a few metres away, Fanore beach
View from the front meadow looking out towards the Aran Isles
The house, taken from the garden on a summer evening
View of the coast northwards from the cottage, late evening
The western side of the house from the herb garden
A walk down the boreen, 400m from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Doolin, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Elwhitma
Weymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
“The house was amazing, I would definitely stay here again, it was exactly as advertised!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at Gorse cottage in June with three adults and 5 teenagers! The house was beautiful it had everything we needed and more. There was more than enough room for all of us, we were not sure because booking over the Internet can be tricky but it was even better than we expected. The views were amazing. The owners dad is near by and he was an added bonus he was charming and helpful with his stories and tips about the area. We have already recommended the cottage to friends and we will hopefully be able to get back there ourselves!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable had everything we needed, just like home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location, great views, large kitchen well-supplied with utensils
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brussels
Reviewed 13 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Templepatrick
Reviewed 3 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Traditional yet modern design
Liked least: Leaving for home.
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kevskimee
Southington, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best family vacation rental--cost, location, comfort--it had it all!”
Reviewed 8 October 2010 for a stay in May 2010

From the time we arrived at Gorse Cottage our Doolin vacation was beyond compare. Check in was prompt and informative with the owner's father living up the driveway. He was able to give us information on area sites including walks, caves and entertainment. The town was easily accessed by car--the perfect Irish seaside village. Ferries to the Aran Islands, pubs, music, food and shopping, all within reach. There was much to see in the area and our only disappointment was not having the time to take it all in. We spent 5 wonderful nights at Gorse Cottage--plenty of room for 5 adults and 2 teenagers. The kitchen was modern and large enough for everyone to sit and eat together; washer and dryer, 2 baths and comfortable beds and furniture. We had plenty of privacy but our host was available to assist us with questions...we greatly enjoyed spending a few evenings in the local pub listening to him sing. We could not have picked a better spot for our family vacation. All agreed that Gorse Cottage was truly a high point and was a huge part of what made a great and memorable trip!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Reviewed 3 October 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo traveler
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing