We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic week in Doolin!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gorse Cottage

The back of the house from the south side - with the sea of Galway Bay in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The back of the house from the south side - with the sea of Galway Bay in the distance
The front of the house, looking towards the Cliffs of Moher The living room, with stove and wood floors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The back of the house from the south side - with the sea of Galway Bay in the distance
The front of the house, looking towards the Cliffs of Moher
The living room, with stove and wood floors
The kitchen, looking south west towards the Cliffs of Moher
Walking on the boreen, near the house
The garden and picnic table with the Cliffs of Moher in the distance
View from the boreen across the road, 10 minutes walk from the house
The cottage has five bedrooms with great views - here's bedroom 1
Bedroom 4
View from the front door of Galway Bay on a summer evening
Bedroom 5
Ballinalacken Castle - looking north from the front of the cottage
Bedroom 3
Cows at the edge of the Burren, down the boreen (the start of which is 2 minutes walk from the house
Another amazing sunset, seen from Gorse Cottage
In the sea with a couple of dolphins just a few metres away, Fanore beach
View from the front meadow looking out towards the Aran Isles
The house, taken from the garden on a summer evening
View of the coast northwards from the cottage, late evening
The western side of the house from the herb garden
A walk down the boreen, 400m from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Doolin, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
GrainneOJ
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic week in Doolin!!”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are just home from the best week's holiday in Ireland we have ever had! We have previously visited Dingle, Wexford, Dunmore East, Westport, Donegal, Kinsale, and lots of seaside destinations! Doolin is by far and above the best!! Gorse Cottage is wonderful, homely, warm, clean, safe and so welcoming, we simply did not want to leave. The house is great for families and a great base for visiting Lahinch, Liscannor, Miltown Malbay, the Burren, Fanore, Arab Islands and more. The local restaurants and pubs are great fun, we enjoyed Fitz's twice for family meals and services, great sessions at Gus O'Connors & O'Donaghues with local celebrity Ted McCormac who lives beside Gorse Cottage and is a font of local knowledge and great personality! We ate in the house a number of nights also availing of the great kitchen facilities, views and evening sunsets! The house provided everything we expected and more, it truly was a pleasure to stay in and we will most definitely be back very soon!! Thank you Cindy, Tim & Ted for allowing us stay and create such great family memories xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
Thanks so much to your lovely party for leaving this wonderful review of Doolin and Gorse Cottage. Very proud to be up there with the best. It woukd br our pleasure to have yoy stay again if you can make it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave h
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage on the wild Atlantic way ”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Clean comfortable cottage with incredible views! Fun seaside town of Doolin with Lisdoonvarna very close. Made breakfast in large kitchen in cottage every morning, cosy pubs for dinner. I think our favorite was McGanns, but O Conners was also very good. Trad music great. Boat tour to Cliffs of Moher great -a rare sunny calm afternoon trip. Doolin pitch & putt was a super fun afternoon as well. Cottage has nice peet fire place, we had wine and Irish coffees and laughed about our day and challenge of driving the narrow roads. Beds comfy and bathrooms
Modern and warm. Yes I'd love to stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2016
Ha ha....yes.....good recommendation to leave the boat trip for a nice calm day. We're so glad to hear that you had a nice stay in the cottage.......and some good holiday memories which will hopefully stay with you in the future. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean quiet and homey”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Clean and homey with great views out to the sea, the Cottage was loved by these 3 siblings and their spouses that stayed there. It is a great base from which to see the surrounding area- Aran Isles, Cliffs of Moher, traditional music at the pubs. The kitchen has all the equipment you will need to prepare meals and we spent lots of time around the big kitchen table. The beds were comfy and the bathrooms clean and modern. The owners father lives just up the lane and made the check in/ check out simple and was always good for a chat. One small thing kept this cottage from reaching perfection for us and that was the distance to the town of Doolin. It's only about 3 km into town but the narrow lanes and absence of shoulder or street lights made the walk a bit iffy after a night listening to music at the excellent pubs.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2016
Hi Margaret, thank you so much for the kind review. Iwere so glad you had a good stay and you found the house comfortable. Yes it really is a great base for enjoying the west of Ireland. I agree that walking up from the pub after dark would not be for most, but it is I think a very short and easy 5 minute drive up from Mac Ganns. Thanks again for the lovely comments about the "homey" house. We're ver glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne H
Madisonville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific experience!”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a group of four adults and the house was perfect for us. It had everything we needed for a wonderful week! The location was beautiful and very convenient for day trips to the places we wanted to see...Cliffs of Moher, the Aran Islands, Galway and of course the quaint town of Doolin. Our week long stay was made even better with Ted as our neighbor. He was a wealth of information about the do's and don'ts of the area and kept us in stitches with his fabulous sense of humor. We enjoyed several evenings at the pub listening to him sing. All of us fell in love with Doolin, the house and Ted and can't wait to return again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Wonderful to hear that you had a good stay. I do agree that Doolin is a great base for exploring the west of Ireland. Thanks so much for taking the timer to share your experiences with others by leaving a review. Really....very much appreciated. Cindy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick N
Sheffield,UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than home from home”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

6* house. Very well appointed & fitted. Lovely artwork, books, etc Brilliant design indoors and out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: all positive
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thanks so much for your kind feedback........It means a lot to us to know that others enjoy the house as much as we do. Tim will be chuffed to hear that you liked his paintings!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Really happy to hear that you had a nice stay. That's very important to us and makes it all worth while. It's a grand spot alright. Thanks so much for the kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Petra C
1 review
“Gorse Cottage is a gem! Amazing location, really spacious - perfect for a great holiday!”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were a group of 5 individuals on a walking holiday. The cottage provided ample space for everyone and as we were there in the best weather Ireland had to offer, we spent most evenings watching the sun set over the bay. The views from the house are spectacular and even when we had a few questions, both Ted and Cindy were more than helpful and speedy in resolving an issue with the wifi (which then worked perfectly!!)
All in all I was extremely pleased with the cottage and felt it provided us with exactly what we were looking for - a clean, homely cottage to come back to in the evenings after our walks. The linen was beautiful and fresh, the bathrooms spotless and roomy and with a big kitchen and two separate living rooms, the house has ample space to accommodate 10 people comfortably. Thanks again Cindy ... definitely a place to recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for tour review. We really appreciate the feedback, and also hearing about our guests' stay in this area of the west of Ireland that is so special to us. Thanks very much to you and your party for choosing to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing