We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aran View Country House
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Barraba, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
“Great location. Great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel was built 36 years before Capt. James Cook "discovered" Australia. It is in good shape. The owners and staff were ever helpful and friendly. The food was excellent. Our room was huge and everything we could want. The WiFi is only so so but this mobile phone & Internet coverage is a perennial Irish problem. We ended up staying another 2 days on top of the 2 booked originally & finished our 3 week car hire tour there. Our most enjoyed B&B in Ireland.
Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Bald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    68
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
70
134
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel has probably been a solid 4 or even a 5 in the past, but it needs an extensive upgrade. The furnishings and interiors are worn and need renovation. Our room also could have been cleaner, there was dust and debris in the window sill and in the corners behind lamps and furniture. The bed was also uncomfortable due to being worn out. And what is the deal with no upper bed sheet (this was typical in almost all of the places we stayed in Ireland)?

BTW - Gus O'Conners was fantastic, the food was great and we really felt like we were in a real Irish Pub, lots of unbelievably friendly locals, we felt we were part of the "family".

Room Tip: If you do stay here make sure you get a room with a view of the Islands as it is the main factor for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The location of Aran View House Hotel is really beautiful. Staff was friendly.

The room we stayed in was outdated and very small. For us the bed was too small (1.80 and 1.97m). We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We love to go to Doolin - it's like "going home" - and one of the reasons for this is staying at the Aran View Hotel - they make you feel like you are at home. Sharon, Theresa and the staff are so warm and welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable, relaxing - great view of the Aran Islands. Gives you a special feeling just being there. This is our fourth trip to Doolin - and staying at the Aran View - Aran View is one of the reasons we always return. Can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: Contact Sharon and she will be happy to accommodate your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cinisello
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I've been to the Aran View House Hotel last August. It's a very good hotel, my accomodation was nice. The room was very clean and the staff very kind. Amazing view of the Aran Islands from my windonw. The hotel is located at 20 minutes walking from the Gus O'Connor's pub (teh best one in Doolin), 5 minutes by car.

I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickyrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Great view from breakfast room - and breakfast was yummy - smoked salmon and scrambled eggs - place has history which is very cool - stayed different two nights - on way over to Aran Islands and also on the way back - once in main building and once in the old law school part - liked the main building better just due to not having to go outside - both rooms very clean - staff were very friendly - had the feeling of a castle - close to town - just a short walk down the hill

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuxedo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownhamilton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

a well presented hotel with comfortable bedrooms but the evening meal (A LA CARTE !!! ) is to be avoided at all costs we were served packet soup for starters and what can only be described as FOUL !! chicken for our main course , my children asked for chips as kids do, only to be presented with black finger like specimens that in no way shape colour or form resembled chips it was truly disgusting .All this was humbly served by a very pleasant if somewhat embarrassed Latvian waitress . However there was an improvement when it came to breakfast when a full irish hit the spot !! I wish to stress that the village of Doolin is pure heaven and I hope to return one day but most certainly I will be staying elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
1.7 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
1.2 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
6.6 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aran View Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aran View Country House

Property: Aran View Country House
Address: Coast Road | Doolin, Co. Clare, Doolin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aran View Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aran View Country House, built in the georgian period, in 1736, stands on a hill on the coast road commanding one of the finest views of the wild Clare coastline. Facing the Aran View Country House, lie the beautiful Aran Islands just seven miles from Doolin. To the North is the famous Burren landscape and exotic wild flowers. Looking South is the Doolin pier and the begining of the imposing Cliffs of Moher jutting out into the wild Atlantic Ocean. One will never tire of these views of an ever-changing landscape of greens and blues. Each room is indivudally decorated keeping the Georgian feel as much as possible. You can enjoy a glass of wine, while watching some of the more amazing sunset. You can also enjoy Fresh Scones, tea/coffee in the lounge each afternoon. We assure both new and old guest and warmest of hospitality and relaxation, during you stay at the Aran View Country House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Aran View Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aran View Hotel
Aran View Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing