We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every penny!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Broadbeach, Australia
2 reviews
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed for just one night and absolutely loved it!
It is the epitome of Irish..... I had a few Australians with me and found the staff helpful, funny and made our stay as unique as the house itself.
Our trip to the aran islands was arranged for us and we were told to go to a pub close buy which we loved, it's a little out of the town so the pub itself hosted mainly locals and the trad music was brilliant!
If you're looking for the real "Irish Experience" there's no other place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    70
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
125
272
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Rocks Beach FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

What a special place, run by a delightful family. Location is just a couple of miles from the center of Doolin, where you will find the best Irish music for miles...The hotel is charming, nestled in beside the ruins of the castle. Rooms are spacious, with all the amenities you could want. Also, it is mainly one level, with a few stairs here and there. Wireless is not available in the rooms but that gives you the best of excuses to head for the intimate bar for a Guinness and a chat with Dennis ( a charmer, kidder and a wealth of info) or his son (who, with his wife runs the place now). Front desk staff warm and welcoming. Out of our 9 nights in the south of Ireland, this was our first and our favorite. We only spent one night, which was a mistake.It is the perfect location from which to explore The Cliffs of Moher, The Burren, the coastline, Doolin and so much more. Next time I would plan 3 nights here. Other patrons we met had the opportunity to have dinner in the well known restaurant in the hotel and said it was fantastic. Judging from the food served at the included breakfast, I can easily believe it.

Room Tip: From what I could tell, all rooms face to the front, which has an incredible view. All would be quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcl1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

The hotel has great character and has commanding views of the Atlantic set against the backdrop of a medieval castle. We were upgraded to a suite and the hospitality extended by the staff made it seem like a homelier place than a hotel. The hotel's also very well located to explore all the local attractions including the Cliffs of Moher, the Arran Islands, the Doolin cave or the Burren walks. Thanks for making out trip such a delight.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sidsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Worth. TX
Level Contributor
248 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

What a lovely place in every regard. The food was terrific and the setting was something out of a movie. The location could not have been better . . .surrounded by the incredible, rugged beauty of the Burren, the Atlantic Ocean with the Aran Islands in the distance, the Cliffs of Moher. . . all overlooked by a 15c castle . . . and the famous music town of Doolin just minutes away. This was by far the most romantic lodging of our 17-day trip to Ireland and I'm glad we decided to stay 3 nights here. Wish it could have been more. Thank you, Cecilia and Declan, for putting the frosting on our cake. You are superb hosts and we enjoyed getting to know you!

Room Tip: I liked Room 16 . . . not the largest room and only a queen bed, but, oh, the view! Magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanam1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sac
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Great food,location,and a highlight to our 10 day stay in Ireland.Declan took us to see the tower castle next to the country house. They were very accomodating when we arrived early on our first day and needed to sleep before seeing the sights. I would also recommend seeing the town of Doolin to hear the music in the pubs which I hear is some of the best around

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SacTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

While not as well known of a place to stay as say Kilarney or Dublin, County Clare is home to the Cliffs of Moher, and the Ballinalacken Castle and the Country House next to it are very close by. This is a romantic spot with incredible natural beauty - and it happens to be home to one of the best restaurants around. We ate there 2 nights in a row, and the lamb might have been the best I ever had!

Room Tip: Decide if you want a larger room or a view so you can advise them when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookingWithMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Staying here was an experience! We loved the location- to the left you have a view of the distant Cliffs of Moher, to the right you can just see Galway bay. Overlooking the hotel is the remains of O'Brien tower, a 15th century castle! One of the highlights of our entire Ireland trip was when the proprietor allowed us to tour the castle. It was such a nice surprise! Although every room in the hotel is gorgeous, the green marble fireplace in the lobby, the beautiful sitting room and the dining room stand out to me. The hallway is lined withphotographs of the Burren. Breakfast is excellent!!! Our room was very clean and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The room would please guests who prefer modern conveniences, yet it retains the charm of an antique-filled country home. Service is friendly and cheerful. A quick drive from town and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
2.8 mi away
Aran View Country House
2.8 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
7.7 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinalacken Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Property: Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Address: Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinalacken Castle Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinalacken Castle Hotel Doolin is one of the leading Castle Hotels Ireland with views of Cliffs of Moher. This Clare Hotel has an award winning restaurant and is the best place to eat in Doolin. It would be difficult to find a more beautiful place on the West Coast of Ireland in which to wake up. The Ballinalacken has been described in the press as one of the finest located houses in Europe. Our guest rooms offer spectacular panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay. A 15th Century Castle ruin of the O'Brien Clan stands imposingly beside the Ballinalacken Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ballinalacken Castle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel Doolin
Ballinalacken Castle Country Hotel
Ballinalacken Castle Country Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing