We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Weary Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed here in August 2012. My wife had done her research for a place to stay while spending time at the Cliffs of Moher and Ines Mor. The reviews were really good, so we gave it a go. Undoubtedly, it was one of the best choices we made on this trip. We were coming back from Ines Mor, and were running really late. One of the main reasons that we booked here was for the dining. We were so late, that we missed our opportunity to have dinner there on our one night stay. We called them to let them know we were coming, and they were extremely hospitable, and kept the kitchen open well past closing! Lucky for us because the food was in the top two during our two-week stay in Ireland. We arrived late and got the tail end of the sunset, but it looked great from the restaurant. After dinner, we made our way to the small bar where the conversation was warm and inviting. Two pints later, it was time to make our way to our rooms.

The rooms were beautiful and inviting, with great views. Overall, the experience was outstanding despite our short stay. I would recommend this place to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thanh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

A lovely romantic setting. Restaurant is amazing and food is as good as the best restaurants. The day after the owner brought us to see the castle and there was a white horse roaming around...like a scene from tir na nog.

I feel the place could be developed and would be a unique wedding venue with a small bit of investment. That said the fact that it is do quiet is part of its charm.

Will be back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donalanseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Ballinalacken Castle during our holiday through Ireland. We are return guests and visit often because of the hospitality of the O'Callaghan Family, it's like our home away from home. Cecilia and Declan, the hosts of the Ballinalacken, are always ready to help with attractions to see in the area and making your stay more comfortable. They are always hospitable and friendly. Rooms are comfortable, great for sleeping, and roomy with gorgeous views of the Atlantic and Aran Islands. Breakfast is delicious, there are many choices, and it's very relaxing to sit, enjoy the views over a cup of tea or coffee. We always look forward to dinner here. Michael Foley, their chef, makes delicious meals. We enjoyed the rack of lamb and beef immensely. Service is excellent, they have the best staff, always efficient and friendly. If you'd like a tour of the castle ruins, just ask Declan. It shouldn't be missed. Doolin is about 3 miles down from the hotel if you'd like to hear some traditonal music in one of the pubs. Or if you'd like to retire to the hotel bar after dinner, you can enjoy some great conversation with Denis O'Callaghan, the proprietor. We very highly recommend staying here and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosebudBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed our first two nights in Ireland at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, outside of Doolin. Our first impressions were awe and excitement as we drove through a whimsical gate along a scenic driveway to the country house. Ballinalacken benefits from one of the best settings we experienced in Ireland: a mysterious castle ruin next door, an ocean view from the windows, and lush greenery everywhere. The house itself is beautifully decorated with vintage pieces, and it's a perfect combination of the intimacy of a B&B and the larger room/privacy of a hotel. The food was good, the hosts were friendly and accommodating, and the location is great. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I traveled to Doolin in September this year and stayed three nights at the Ballinalacken, and could have spent my whole vacation there. Our host could not have been more accommodating, and the rest of the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Declan took a group of on a tour of the castle ruins and his spoken history of the area was a treat. Staff also recommended Pat's Walking Tour out toward the Cliffs of Moher and this was the highlight of our stay in Ireland. Breakfast was wonderful, and the evening meal was as good as you will find anywhere. Very, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank batsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed at the Ballinalacken Castle Country House during the October Bank Holiday weekend - really enjoyed it. Big, clean room, with a huge, comfortable bed. The room also had two armchairs and a table, with an old-school TV. Large bathroom, very clean, and a decent shower too. The staff were all very pleasant and welcoming.

We had dinner in the hotel on one of the evenings - very tasty, and quite reasonable too. The hotel also has a small bar - I had one of the best pints of Guinness I've had in a long time there.

Hotel might be tricky to find in the night time, there's no sign directly at the entrance to the hotel (some old white gates) it's across the road, and it's black, which made it difficult to spot, but if you go past Doolin Cave (on your right hand side), and get to the top of that road, Ballinalacken Castle House is straight in front of you, through the gates.

Lots to see and do nearby:
Doolin Cave
Lahinch
Cliffs of Moher
Fr. Ted's House
The Burren

In summary, the hotel is small and quaint, with lots of character. On a clear day, the views are fantastic; it's definitely worth a stay, if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We spent 2 nights at Ballinalacken. My husband got sick and we had to stay an extra day. Cecelia was so accommodating and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and the views are incredible from the hotel. I think the views were my favorite in Ireland.

Cecelia arranged a driver for us to tour the Cliffs of Moher as our driver (my husband) was ill. The breakfasts were wonderful and the dinner we had was great, too. Be sure to visit their small pub and have a Guiness!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sufeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
2.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
629 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aran View Country House
6.7 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
271 reviews
20.5 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,650 reviews
7.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinalacken Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Address: Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range: £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinalacken Castle Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinalacken Castle Hotel Doolin is one of the leading Castle Hotels Ireland with views of Cliffs of Moher. This Clare Hotel has an award winning restaurant and is the best place to eat in Doolin. It would be difficult to find a more beautiful place on the West Coast of Ireland in which to wake up. The Ballinalacken has been described in the press as one of the finest located houses in Europe. Our guest rooms offer spectacular panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay. A 15th Century Castle ruin of the O'Brien Clan stands imposingly beside the Ballinalacken Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ballinalacken Castle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel Doolin
Ballinalacken Castle Country Hotel
Ballinalacken Castle Country Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing