We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel-like experience in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My sister and I shared a clean and nicely appointed twin room for a one-night stay here. We arrived at dinner hour and were immediately seated in the dining room. The food was excellent both at dinner and at breakfast the next morning (I ordered the fruit pancakes which turned out to be light crepes with a fruit filling - excellent). I could not access WiFi from the room and needed to use a common area, so I sat in the bar for awhile... it was quiet the night we were there and a comfy spot to sit. There is also a pleasant parlor with a fire going in the fireplace.
The castle ruins on the site are marked as "no trespassing," so we got close enough just to take a photo. I see in an earlier post that someone else got a tour of the ruins from the property owner - I wish we had thought to ask for that.

Room Tip: The owner told us Booking.com visitors usually get assigned a rear room, but because the place was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerseyrn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here. The rooms were big and although our view of the castle wasn't great we had a few cats walk by which made our son's day each time. The breakfast was wonderful and enjoyed the view while eating. The front desk gave very good directions for the next leg of our trip and appreciated their opinion. An excellent stay altogether. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodgerfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeciliaDoolin, Public Relations Manager at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Hello Dodgefan
Many thanks for review and kind words.We are very glad your family enjoyed the stay and the wonderfull views and food.We hope the next leg of your journey was just as good.
We hope to welcome you back in the future
Regards declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My wife and have just returned from spending a couple of days here. It's the perfect base for touring the attractions of County Clare. We were lucky to have good weather for two of our three days....the third one wasn't bad either! Cecilia and Anita made sure that our stay was comfortable. The room was very comfortable and breakfasts were excellent, as was the view of the cliffs from our room. Declan gave us a detailed, informative tour of the castle ruins....including a description of plans for some restoration work to protect it from further. Only (minor) negative was the very limited range and low speed of the WiFi.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CanadianTraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeciliaDoolin, Manager at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Hi Canadian Traveler
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel
We are glad you enjoyed the rooms and the food.
Glad also that you liked the trip up the castle.Since your departure we have now wifi available in all bedrooms .
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in ireland and we look foward to your return
Regards Declan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here last year and it was absolute bliss. The hotel is in a beautiful location only a short trip from Doolin, the Cliffs of Moher and numerous other tourist attractions.We were greeted by Celia who was so welcoming and friendly. Her husband Declan took us on a private tour of the old castle ruins and filled us in on the history of it. The food here is excellent and the menu caters for all tastes huge compliments to the wonderful chef. lts the most romantic place you could dine, looking out at the beautiful rolling hills and the breath-taking North Clare scenery. The bedrooms are lovely and so comfortable and peaceful. You will be guarnateed a good nights sleep here. Doolin is only about a five minute drive if you fancy some bustling lrish traditional music then this is the spot. Celia and Declan are wonderful hosts and they will go the extra mile to help you. All the staff are lovely and friendly lf you want a quiet drink after dinner you can retire to the lovely old style traditional bar something which is rare l find in these times. The bar is lovely very relaxing with its wooden decor and Denis the owner will be only too happy to chat. l would highly recommend Ballinalacken Castle, my experience there was wonderful and l certainly plan to return there this year. A pure gem you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CiaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed here in August 2012. My wife had done her research for a place to stay while spending time at the Cliffs of Moher and Ines Mor. The reviews were really good, so we gave it a go. Undoubtedly, it was one of the best choices we made on this trip. We were coming back from Ines Mor, and were running really late. One of the main reasons that we booked here was for the dining. We were so late, that we missed our opportunity to have dinner there on our one night stay. We called them to let them know we were coming, and they were extremely hospitable, and kept the kitchen open well past closing! Lucky for us because the food was in the top two during our two-week stay in Ireland. We arrived late and got the tail end of the sunset, but it looked great from the restaurant. After dinner, we made our way to the small bar where the conversation was warm and inviting. Two pints later, it was time to make our way to our rooms.

The rooms were beautiful and inviting, with great views. Overall, the experience was outstanding despite our short stay. I would recommend this place to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thanh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

A lovely romantic setting. Restaurant is amazing and food is as good as the best restaurants. The day after the owner brought us to see the castle and there was a white horse roaming around...like a scene from tir na nog.

I feel the place could be developed and would be a unique wedding venue with a small bit of investment. That said the fact that it is do quiet is part of its charm.

Will be back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donalanseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Ballinalacken Castle during our holiday through Ireland. We are return guests and visit often because of the hospitality of the O'Callaghan Family, it's like our home away from home. Cecilia and Declan, the hosts of the Ballinalacken, are always ready to help with attractions to see in the area and making your stay more comfortable. They are always hospitable and friendly. Rooms are comfortable, great for sleeping, and roomy with gorgeous views of the Atlantic and Aran Islands. Breakfast is delicious, there are many choices, and it's very relaxing to sit, enjoy the views over a cup of tea or coffee. We always look forward to dinner here. Michael Foley, their chef, makes delicious meals. We enjoyed the rack of lamb and beef immensely. Service is excellent, they have the best staff, always efficient and friendly. If you'd like a tour of the castle ruins, just ask Declan. It shouldn't be missed. Doolin is about 3 miles down from the hotel if you'd like to hear some traditonal music in one of the pubs. Or if you'd like to retire to the hotel bar after dinner, you can enjoy some great conversation with Denis O'Callaghan, the proprietor. We very highly recommend staying here and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosebudBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
2.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
627 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aran View Country House
6.7 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
271 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,646 reviews
7.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinalacken Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Address: Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range: £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinalacken Castle Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinalacken Castle Hotel Doolin is one of the leading Castle Hotels Ireland with views of Cliffs of Moher. This Clare Hotel has an award winning restaurant and is the best place to eat in Doolin. It would be difficult to find a more beautiful place on the West Coast of Ireland in which to wake up. The Ballinalacken has been described in the press as one of the finest located houses in Europe. Our guest rooms offer spectacular panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay. A 15th Century Castle ruin of the O'Brien Clan stands imposingly beside the Ballinalacken Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ballinalacken Castle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel Doolin
Ballinalacken Castle Country Hotel
Ballinalacken Castle Country Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing