We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed in the Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel for 2 nights in May and thought it was wonderful. The rooms were clean and neat, the beds were extremely comfortable, there was a pub located in the hotel, along with a very good restaurant. Just outside our door was a Castle ruin, which is owned by the hotel, which Declan was kind enough to give us a tour, fascinating!
The staff couldn't have been any nicer, and always bent over backwards to accommodate us. Would love to stay there again. Fantastic view of the cliffs and very short distance to Doolin.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzyd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    74
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
136
291
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed one night at the country house, and it was lovely.
We had a long day of being on the road & seeing many sights, we arrived in the evening a little tired and ready for our room & food. We were not disappointed! The service was top-notch, our room was beyond lovely with antique furniture and views of the ocean and cliffs!

The staff was so nice, warm and friendly. This Castle house was warm and inviting and cozy. The food was amazing, the grounds were beautiful. We were given a tour of the castle ruins the following morning (Just my husband and I) and it was such a nice personal touch to be given such personal attention.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We are just finishing up a week long stay at the Ballinalacken castle country house, we had planned to cover much of the island during our 10day visit but once we arrived at Ballinalacken on day 3 we took up residence for the remainder and used it as home base for day trips all around county Clare. Cecelia and Decklin are the best hosts. They quietly arrange everything, are a wealth of information and provide a most comfortable place to come back to after a full day of exploring all that Clare has to offer. The food was excellent, breakfasts plentiful with a very generous set of options from cold cereals, yogurt and fruit to full Irish breakfasts and everything in between. Dinners were superb if you choose to stay in and Doolin is 5 minutes away with all it has to offer for night life and traditional music. Our room was fantastic with a view of the cliffs of Moher and the Aran islands, a generous floor plan and a huge bath to rest in at days end. We whole heartedly recommend this lovely country home and we will definitely return when back in Clare.

Room Tip: Room #13 was great, with great views, generous floor plan and great bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My partner and l recently returned to Clare and spent the night at BallinalackenCastle. We have stayed here previously and have always had a lovely pleasant experience. We arrived on a wet miserable April evening. But the misery outside soon evaporated once we entered.We were met at the desk by Cecelia, she was very friendly and welcomed us back. We were shown to our lovely cosy room, overlooking the rolling hills of North Clare. The heating was on and the room was extremely warm. We dined in the restaurant that evening and could not fault it. The food ambiance and friendly service is second to none. This coupled with the romantic setting and decor makes this one of the nicest establishments l have ever been too. The couple at the next table were pondering over what wine to drink with the meal and Declan was on hand to go through the wine list and advise them. They were highly impressed.After the dinner we had a night-cap in the hotel bar. The bar was quiet and so relaxing. lt was very cosy and warm. l would highly recommed Ballinalacken Castle. l am looking forward to next year please god and make a return trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Ballinalacken Castle Country House. After being shown two rooms, we decided on a room in the older part of the hotel as it had far more charm then the room in the newer part of the hotel. It was a corner room with one window facing the cliffs and the other a meadow. The four poster queen size bed was comfortable and there was a small table with two comfy chairs by the window. The bathroom was small but adequate. One criticism is that the towels are thin and rough and definitely should be upgraded. I agree with other comments that the heating system is cranky and not up to par. However this concern was immediately addressed by Cecilia and Declan Doolin, the proprietors, who immediately brought up a portable heater which solved the heating problem immediately. What makes the experience at Ballinalacken memorable is the service. Cecilia, Declan and Anita are responsive to every need and request. When unexpectedly a boat was leaving for the islands, they made a call to the quay to hold the boat a few minutes to enable us to get to the dock. When we were having problems with the Internet in our room, Declan came up with his computer to help and when we could not locate our adapter, Declan was there immediately with a whole box of plugs to choose from. Some rooms have better internet service then others so if Internet is important, I would advise Cecilia when booking. Both in the bar and in the sitting area (where a cheery fire was burning) there was no problem accessing the Internet. A highlight is the private tour that Declan gives of the castle which is adjacent to the house. The breakfast is a typical Irish breakfast and served in a lovely dining area. The property is a bit out of town and you do need a car. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BigintrepidTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights recently and dined here on one of those nights. The grounds are lovely but the entry gate and driveway are a bit tricky. The house itself is very pleasant with many interesting period touches. Our room was comfy but not luxurious. The bedding could use feather pillows and duvets rather than foam pillows and wool blankets. Something one expects at these prices. The restaurant food was very good and the breakfasts were well made. One unexpected pleasure was a personal tour of the original castle adjacent to the hotel. A wonderful historical experience.

Room Tip: ask for a tour of the old castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blarney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

After searching for a nice quaint hotel for my wife and I to stay in our first visit to Co.Clare. I have to say I was disappointed. The radiator in our room had a mind of its own after spending a day at the cliffs we returned to a cold room and no way to turn on the heating. In the middle of the night the heating came on and made the room very warm uncomfortably warm at that.Reading about the hotel it said that wifi was free throughout the hotel but unfortunately this was untrue, as it was only available from the bar.
The red haired girl that welcomed us was very pleasant could not fault her a really lovely person. The food was nice but over priced. I have to again compliment the red haired girl did not get her name but she made you feel really welcome and always on hand in the dining room. Overall a one night stay including a meal for 2 adults and our little girl who is 2 years old came to almost €220 which I have to say is a lot for this hotel. I would expect a lot more for the price. Please sort the heating and the Wifi for a start this would go along way.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pallipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
2.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
593 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aran View Country House
6.7 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
82 reviews
7.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
364 reviews
7.5 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinalacken Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Property: Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Address: Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinalacken Castle Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinalacken Castle Hotel Doolin is one of the leading Castle Hotels Ireland with views of Cliffs of Moher. This Clare Hotel has an award winning restaurant and is the best place to eat in Doolin. It would be difficult to find a more beautiful place on the West Coast of Ireland in which to wake up. The Ballinalacken has been described in the press as one of the finest located houses in Europe. Our guest rooms offer spectacular panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay. A 15th Century Castle ruin of the O'Brien Clan stands imposingly beside the Ballinalacken Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ballinalacken Castle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel Doolin
Ballinalacken Castle Country Hotel
Ballinalacken Castle Country Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing