We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Royal Spa Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rathbaun Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hydro Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Doolin House(Doolin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Thomond Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
View Hotel
Hotel Doolin(Doolin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
448
81
26
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
81
26
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedprivate tourthe owneraran islandspersonal tourfavorite hotelcounty clarehoneymoon suiteocean viewfabulous foodbreakfast and dinnersitting areashort drivehighly recommend staying hereirish hospitalitylarge roomwest coast of ireland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

we had a very comfortable stay at the castle country house. the restaurant at the b&b was really great, but what really took our stay to the next level was the CASTLE! The manager took us up to the castle just after dinner around sunset...a lot of the castle's in Ireland are privately owned, which we didn't know...so being able to walk to the top of this one and have a personal tour was AWESOME. a white horse ran up to the gate when we entered the enclosed area near the castle, which was pretty magical. i would definitely recommend this place. they also served us dessert in the parlor after dinner, which was really accommodating of them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We booked for 3 nights in a garden room which was very spacious and comfortable. We had dinner on 2 of the nights and the food was superb. Breakfast was also very good and set you up nicely for the day. The views from the hotel are spectacular.
This hotel is in an excellent location, only a few miles to doolin, cliffs of moher, lisdoonvarna, lahinch and even spanish point which was about 20 miles. A really central base to see this part of county clare.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was a problem for them. We had a wonderful break and will definately return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony_cathm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Where to start? This fabulous hotel and superb dining was totally beyond our expectations. There are a limited number of rooms, and one family traveling with us mentioned how safe they felt, that though their room started out a little stuffy (during Ireland's unexpected heat wave), they felt comfortable leaving their door open while it cooled off! We took up 3 rooms for our family and each one was fabulous. Excellent sleeping in comfort and cleanliness. Beautiful rooms.
Food--absolutely top-notch cuisine. And though we felt our adult tastes were more than satisfied, the 4 young children traveling with us were also catered to. We had an exquisite dinner one night and excellent breakfast the next morning. The staff was extraordinary. Absolutely couldn't be nicer--from the lady who greeted us upon entering to the wait staff in the dining area, to Declan, our tour guide for the old abandoned castle. WOW! WOW! WOW! Would go back in a minute. Difficult to get to for us Americans; however, can't judge the location too poorly as we had an ancient castle within yards of us and a gently sloping grassy area for the kids to run on....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishRover777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The setting for this hotel is wonderful and our room was superb as was the breakfast. Great advice was given for our day out and Bill O'Brien was waiting for us as we drove down to the jetty. Aran Islands on ferry and trip in a pony and trap, Cliffs of Moher - it really was like stepping back in time and of course the fabulous weather absolutely made it - the sunset was spectacular.

Room Tip: The older rooms facing the sea have 4 poster beds and are superb.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninnyjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We arrived at this hotel quite late in the evening but were warmly welcomed by the staff. The hotel is in a quiet area about 4 miles from Doolin. We were initially shown to the bar for a drink but this is quite small and claustrophobic so we took the drinks to our room. There are large lounge areas with comfortable seats where we could have had our drinks. Our room was clean and spacious with views out to the Atlantic and had a four-poster bed. Tea and coffee making facilities were in each room and fresh milk was available. Breakfast was superb. The menu was good and tasty soda bread, scones and pastries were also available. The food was served by a very pleasant and helpful waitress who always ensured your coffee or tea cup was full. We were disappointed that on our second evening the restaurant was closed and we had to eat in Doolin. However, when we returned to the hotel we had a spectacular sunset only marred by numerous midges on the look out for exposed skin! Before we left the hotel the following morning we were treated to a private tour of the old castle which is beside the hotel. This is a hotel that we would recommend - it is a pity that we were unable to have dinner in the hotel and report on the excellent menu that was advertised.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view out to the Atlantic
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppadoc5748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews