We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night during our Ireland vacation. The highlight of our stay was a tour of the castle on the property by the property manager. We were able to go into the castle and tour all 5 floors! He was very knowledgable and encouraged our questions and photography. The hotel restaurant was closed the night we were there, so we had to drive into Doolin for dinner (about a 15 minute drive). When we returned to the hotel, we obtained drinks from the hotel bar and sat outside to enjoy the sunset. Breakfast the next morning was very, very good. I found this place on TripAdvisor, and encourage other travelers to do the same.

Room Tip: Only 16 rooms in the property, they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMom201075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    70
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
125
274
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Having discovered the Southwest counties of Ireland in-depth for the first time we saw some wonderful natural beauty in the landscape, flora and fauna; however our most unlikely discovery was a relatively small hotel just outside Doolin in Co Clare...The Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel.
Without doubt the hotel has the friendliest and most helpful staff we encountered, a total credit to the hotels reputation; although rated at 4 Stars we received 5 Star treatment and easily the best meals we had on our week long journey (we stayed in other 4 Star hotels in Cork and Kerry) the range of food to choose from at dinner would not have been out-of-place at a much larger establishment, the portion sizes ample, presentation was non-pretentious and the taste hard to match...lovely...missing it already.
We have no problems in recommending the Ballinalacken, if other visitors get the same service we received then they will have fond memories as well...oh and yes they really do have an actual castle in their grounds.
Regards Norah and Robert Keenan, Co Antrim

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 767Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Reading the other reviews, I wonder if we stayed in the same place!
This is not a castle but a one-story house near an ancient tower. However it did have the feel of an ancient castle as the place was almost empty and the ambiance was quite frigid!
Unfortunately, we couldn’t enjoy the view of the cliffs as there was a lot of fog. We did not feel like trying the restaurant as the ambiance of the whole place was quite cold and we just felt like getting to sleep and moving on. May be lighting a fireplace in the hall and playing some soft music at night would have made the place much more welcoming!
The beds were good and firm, and the breakfast was hearty . Were the hostess less cold and robot-like ( try a little heartfelt Irish hospitality) this place might attract more people!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yjg805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

When you arrive you're stunned by the view of the castle next to an old Victorian style home. If you like modern, this place isn't for you. However, that's the beauty of the home and it's very clean and well kept. The entire staff is over the top nice and genuine. The owner's son Declan is very accommodating. We let him know that we had to leave early in the morning and he took the time to give us a private tour of the castle just before dinner so we didn't have to rush in the morning. The castle may be one of the better maintained original castles I've seen for something built in the 1300s and you can walk all the way to the top. Dinner was fantastic and may be the best lamb I've ever had and for good reason... some of the livestock comes from the pasture directly across the street!!!

I highly recommend this hotel and it's a great few night's stay if you plan visiting The Buren or Cliffs of Moher.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with my two adult children just last week. The house is set up on a hill with a beautiful view of the ocean and the Cliffs of Moher. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The town of Doolin is a short drive as well as the Cliffs. The owners were lovely and we even got a tour of the castle on the property! Best castle tour of our whole trip! Highly recommend!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metz, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights there while on a family trip, and really loved the place. It is located in a beautiful place and the view extending to the cliffs of Moher. If you want to walk it is closed to the Burren way. The inside is very confortable, with cozy lounges and large windows overlooking the country sides. Breakfast is delicious, and the atmosphere is very nice and friendly. We also enjoyed visiting the castle.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Chose this hotel because of the history and castle belonging to the property... Lived up to our expectations and more! We have a great room (#13) with a view, were invited to join a small group for a tour of the castle - which was awesome, and the views spectacular - then ate dinner at the restaurant - rack of lamb, salmon, and pork medallions topped with crab meat were outstanding! - what a perfect night's stay!

Highly recommend staying here... Super hosts and a great location with no additional charge for the wonderful views!

Love the donkey and horse who love to join along on the castle tours!!! Great stay!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Polly313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
1.7 mi away
Aran View Country House
2.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
6.7 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinalacken Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Property: Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Address: Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinalacken Castle Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinalacken Castle Hotel Doolin is one of the leading Castle Hotels Ireland with views of Cliffs of Moher. This Clare Hotel has an award winning restaurant and is the best place to eat in Doolin. It would be difficult to find a more beautiful place on the West Coast of Ireland in which to wake up. The Ballinalacken has been described in the press as one of the finest located houses in Europe. Our guest rooms offer spectacular panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay. A 15th Century Castle ruin of the O'Brien Clan stands imposingly beside the Ballinalacken Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ballinalacken Castle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel Doolin
Ballinalacken Castle Country Hotel
Ballinalacken Castle Country Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing