We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Foodie Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Foodie Heaven”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for one night and the location is a great base for touring the Cliffs of Moher, The Burren and Lahinch. The country house is old-style and has a certain charm. Our room was nice but had a slight musty smell. Our bed was large and comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. We had a drink in the bar which lacked atmosphere on the night we were there and could certainly do with piped music. We can't comment on the castle ruins as unfortunately, we did not have tour. However, we dined in the restaurant and had a meal to die for ... probably the best food we ever experienced during a hotel stay and the breakfast was very good also. Stay here if you enjoy old style but even if you choose somewhere else to stay in the area of Doolin, book a table at Ballinlacken Castle Country House, you certainly are in for a treat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifi010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    70
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
129
277
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Ballinalacken is about 5 miles out of Doolin which I didn't realize, so we spent extra $ on taxis. Upon arrival we were politely greeted. However, no one helped us with our luggage upon arrival or departure even though it was obvious that we could have used help. We were not offered a tour of the castle like other reviewers have mentioned. Nor were we offered any sightseeing tips. Our room had splendid views however the layout of the common rooms seemed to be backwards. it seemed a waste to have the dining room on the back of the hotel with the sweeping views in the front. Breakfast was unremarkable. I couldn't say this was truly a luxury hotel as it is touted.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueberrylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeciliaDoolin, Manager at Ballinalacken Castle Country House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello Alaine
We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay.Alot of your disappointment was outside our control.Firstly we are 3 miles outside doolin village and we never advertise that we are in doolin village.As you were using taxis you should have made sure that you stayed in a place in the village rather than taking your revenge out on us for your own mistakes.We do try to bring most people on a tour of the castle,again we do not advertise this as it is not scheduled,On the evening you stayed we did bring lots of people to the castle ,you had left the hotel in the afternoon to go to the village and did not return until late ,So how can we be responsible if you are not in hotel when tour was in progress that evening.We facilitated you in every way in organising taxis for this area and also for your journey to your next destination.We also insured that all your special dietery requirments were met..Finally the dining room is located to the front of the building and is to left of reception which is also to the front of the building.This house is a manor house built in 1840 so we have to use the building as it is and cannot knock down walls as it is a listed building.
declan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our first night in Ireland couldn't have been any better. we had been in Europe for 10 days up to this point and this gem was magnificent. We almost booked another night because it was so nice. We had our entire family(3 rooms) and they all loved it. If it was just my wife and I going back I would definitely stay more nights. Hats off to all who make this a remarkable stay!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sellmhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
189 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The guest house is a fantastic place to observe beautiful views from atop the castle, of the surrounding area. The owners are lovely, helpful, and polite. The dinner, and breakfast were high quality. The rooms were a bit older looking, but honestly thats part of the charm, and feel of the property. It's suppose to feel that way. Overall, a great stay for our final nights on our travels around ireland.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pseudoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heartland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The food at this B&B was amazing! Great views of the Cliffs of Moher, The Burren, the sea, and our own castle! You even get a private tour of the castle ruins by the owner. Rooms are nice & spacious. Sets on a hill just 5 minutes outside Doolin & Lisdoonvama.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank soonerlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our room at Ballinalacken was very nice and spacious, and breakfast was great - you could order from the kitchen and there was a buffet as well. The castle right next door was cool to see too - we were given a tour.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to stay with views of the Atlantic ocean . Always go for the ocean view room. Nice clean rooms and close to all the attractions. The castle seems to be in ruins but still its a piece of history.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Merly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
1.7 mi away
Aran View Country House
2.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
6.7 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinalacken Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Property: Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Address: Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinalacken Castle Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinalacken Castle Hotel Doolin is one of the leading Castle Hotels Ireland with views of Cliffs of Moher. This Clare Hotel has an award winning restaurant and is the best place to eat in Doolin. It would be difficult to find a more beautiful place on the West Coast of Ireland in which to wake up. The Ballinalacken has been described in the press as one of the finest located houses in Europe. Our guest rooms offer spectacular panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay. A 15th Century Castle ruin of the O'Brien Clan stands imposingly beside the Ballinalacken Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ballinalacken Castle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel Doolin
Ballinalacken Castle Country Hotel
Ballinalacken Castle Country Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing