We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views, beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing views, beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous trip to Ireland. The highlight was by far Ballinalacken Castle Hotel. The surroundings of the country house, perched on a hill on the old castle grounds overlooking the Cliffs of Moher and Aran Islands, could not have been more idyllic. The fact that the hotel was not an authentic castle was a nonissue. The ruins of the old castle are still standing and the owners are happy to give you a tour, so it feels extremely authentic. The rooms were lovely although the beds could have been more comfortable. Ballinalacken was a great base to explore the Cliffs, Aran Islands, the Burren, the Doolin pubs, and much more if you have time. The owners were so gracious and helped plan excursions in the area. They even upgraded our room when there was extra space in the hotel. Ballinalacken is a great deal for the money and the highlight of any trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    70
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
125
274
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

We just returned from a fabulous family trip to Doolin, County Clare, Ireland. The visit was better than we could have hoped for. Our stay at the Ballinalacken Hotel was wonderful. The food was delicious, the ocean view rooms very lovely, and the family and staff running the hotel warm and accomodating. We traveled to the Arun Islands for a day of biking and site seeing, traveled up and down the coast to the Burren, the Burren Perfumery and went into the caves in Ballyvaughn. Our evenings were spent listening to traditional Irish music in the three village pubs in Doolin. It was very memorable! We also tried links golfing and spent an afternoon on horseback in the countryside. Our vacation was one to remember and we hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Ballinalacken Castle was the second stop on our honeymoon tour of Ireland. It really was wonderful.

The amenities were very clean and obviously recently renovated, while maintaining a classic feel.

Breakfast was delicious, and every part of the dinner -- from the salad to the tomato soup to the halibut to the filet to the cheesecake to the chocolate mousse -- was excellent.

There is a small bar in the hotel, where Dennis -- the type of older Irish bartender that we'd hoped we meet in our travels -- not only poured the best pint of Guiness we'd ever had (finished with a Shamrock in the foam), but explained why Irish Guiness is better than Guiness in the US ("it's the lines!"), gave us a map of the Burren, and showed us the must-see sites for our travels the next day. His son, Declan, gave us great recommendations regarding things to do in the area (including a one-hour cruise out of Doolin, which was a fabulous way to see the Cliffs!), and was even nice enough to give us a very knowledgeable evening tour of Ballinalacken Castle that worked around our schedule.

Overall, we would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReeseinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
212 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Picked this place from the internet, then checked with a friend who lives locally -- he recommended that we make sure not to pass it by for dinner as well. He was spot on; the food was superb and not as expensive as I thought it might be.
The house itself is in a great setting with views of the Atlantic and the Aran Islands, as well as south to the Cliffs of Moher. Small place with a handful of rooms, nice drawingroom and a relaxed atmosphere. We had bedroom # 4 with a 4-poster bed and a view out over the islands and the sunset. Dinner was served in the cosy restaurant and cost about 80 euros plus wine, included a delicious seafood platter and a perfectly cooked fillet steak.
There was a cosy bar with a stove that looked as if it might be a nice place to settle in on a winter's evening, but we decided to make the most of the outdoor weather.
Breakfast was amazing, everything from delicious pancakes to fresh (and I mean fresh) scones. Next time, I would go out for a good early-morning walk to give myself an appetite for the delicious breakfast; we didn't do it justice.
Every now and then you stumble on a place that is run by someone who loves what they do and is very good at doing it. This is one such place; don't miss it. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockyroad2dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

We stayed recently in the beautiful Ballinalacken castle, and my god was l glad we did. lt is a little haven of paradise. We arrived very tired after a long drive and were very warmly greeted by Cecelia who was extremely kind and welcoming. The hotel is beautiful,with charming rooms that were so cosy and homely. The castle overlooks Galway Bay and the view is superb. The food is fabulous, the hotel is pristine and the staff are excellent. Cecelia was a fountain of knowledge about the locality and gave us very informative information, nothing was too much trouble. Ballinalacken castle is a lovey, homely place to stay, excellent staff, beautful rooms, and delicious food. l could not fault it, would highly recoomend it and we will be back again, sooner rather then later l hope 1!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

We had a wonderful experience and the best meal of our vacation in their dining room! The staff are so helpful and the rooms (bedroom. sitting rm. w/ fireplace, bathroom) were charming. What a great find! Hope to return someday!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjweschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

We stayed in Ballinalacken Castle Hotel in August and had a wonderful time. We are a family of three and we were made very welcome; our triple room was very comfortable and warm (the weather was slightly inclement in the evening!). This hotel is cosy and clean and has lovely staff. Breakfast is excellent with a wide range of food and includes the most wonderful scones...!!The restaurant is very good too so one can enjoy a night in without being hungry. Doolin is a great spot, on the atlantic coast and one can access the edge of the ocean via the rocks. Great for traditional music and craic. A must on one's trip to the west of Ireland. Go to Ballinalacken and relax.......

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank provatejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
1.7 mi away
Aran View Country House
2.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
6.7 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinalacken Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Property: Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Address: Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinalacken Castle Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinalacken Castle Hotel Doolin is one of the leading Castle Hotels Ireland with views of Cliffs of Moher. This Clare Hotel has an award winning restaurant and is the best place to eat in Doolin. It would be difficult to find a more beautiful place on the West Coast of Ireland in which to wake up. The Ballinalacken has been described in the press as one of the finest located houses in Europe. Our guest rooms offer spectacular panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay. A 15th Century Castle ruin of the O'Brien Clan stands imposingly beside the Ballinalacken Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ballinalacken Castle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel Doolin
Ballinalacken Castle Country Hotel
Ballinalacken Castle Country Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing