We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit of heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I recently traveled to Ireland with my three sisters and elderly mother staying for three nights at Ballinalacken. Dennis, Declan and Cecilia who run the hotel couldn't have been better sports dealing with five women. The setting is magnificent overlooking the Atlantic, Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands. Our breakfasts and dinners here were the best we had for our entire nine days of travel. The oatmeal and fresh brown bread we all agreed were the best we have ever had. The goat cheese in the salad at dinner was also incredible. We had two rooms, one being a suite with a fireplace and sitting room, but there was so much to do that we had little time to spend there. The house itself has a beautiful sitting room with comfortable chairs for relaxing as well. There was also internet access for checking e-mail, etc. The nearby town of Doolin was very small with a few authentic Irish pubs and good Irish music at night. The Doolin shops being so close to the Aran Islands had a wonderful selection of Irish knits. We all wished we had more time at Ballinalacken to explore the local area more.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    70
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
129
277
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I surprised my boyfriend with a trip to Ireland for a weekend - we had both never been to Ireland before, and I wanted to stay in a small town on the coast. Doolin was the perfect place. It is close to the Shannon airport, and the drive is lovely. The town is small and quaint, and the people are very friendly. The scenery could not be more beautiful. Perfect access to the Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands. Ballinalacken Castle was incredible. Such a beautiful gem tucked away from the center of town. The food is incredible - I highly recommend the lamb for dinner and the brown bread in the morning is the best I've ever had! The rooms are comfortable and clean, and with a bar in the hotel, we didn't feel the need to leave at night after dinner. The staff was knowledgable and friendly, and the tour of the castle at sundown was amazing!! It was a very quiet, romantic weekend - exactly what we wanted! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We stayed with our 20 year old nephew at Ballinalacken Castle Country House for three nights and enjoyed every minute of our time. The setting is picture perfect, with a view of the Cliffs of Moher. The rooms are spacious, elegant and very comfortable with lots of room for storing clothes. The two rooms we stayed in each had big windows which allowed views of the beautiful Irish countryside.

The breakfasts at Ballinalacken were wonderful. The cold breakfast included lots of cereal, breads and fresh fruit and would have been a good meal itself. Each morning we also selected a hot breakfast from the menu. They were delicious! The dining room is beautiful and comfortable. One evening we ate dinner in the dining room - both the food and the service were excellent.

We were especially impressed with the family who owns and runs this country home. They, and their help, were quite helpful and hospitable. They treated us like treasured friends. One evening the owner walked with us to the castle next to the country home and gave us a tour. It was the highlight of our stay, and an entirely unexpected joy.

Ballinalacken is a great place to stay if you are interested in exploring the Burren, the Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands. We enjoyed our stay so much that we plan to return here next time we visit Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killinchy, co down
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 13 month old daughter and had a lovely time. The food is very good, the staff are friendly and helpful and its a good base to explore the Burren and the Cliffs of Moher. There's a good view over the Atlantic and you can see a little of the Cliffs of Moher. The hotel itself is a little jaded and a bit overpriced for what it is. We stayed in room 11 which was smallish and had no view some of the other rooms looked much bigger with four poster beds and sea views.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thearumlilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous trip to Ireland. The highlight was by far Ballinalacken Castle Hotel. The surroundings of the country house, perched on a hill on the old castle grounds overlooking the Cliffs of Moher and Aran Islands, could not have been more idyllic. The fact that the hotel was not an authentic castle was a nonissue. The ruins of the old castle are still standing and the owners are happy to give you a tour, so it feels extremely authentic. The rooms were lovely although the beds could have been more comfortable. Ballinalacken was a great base to explore the Cliffs, Aran Islands, the Burren, the Doolin pubs, and much more if you have time. The owners were so gracious and helped plan excursions in the area. They even upgraded our room when there was extra space in the hotel. Ballinalacken is a great deal for the money and the highlight of any trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We just returned from a fabulous family trip to Doolin, County Clare, Ireland. The visit was better than we could have hoped for. Our stay at the Ballinalacken Hotel was wonderful. The food was delicious, the ocean view rooms very lovely, and the family and staff running the hotel warm and accomodating. We traveled to the Arun Islands for a day of biking and site seeing, traveled up and down the coast to the Burren, the Burren Perfumery and went into the caves in Ballyvaughn. Our evenings were spent listening to traditional Irish music in the three village pubs in Doolin. It was very memorable! We also tried links golfing and spent an afternoon on horseback in the countryside. Our vacation was one to remember and we hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Ballinalacken Castle was the second stop on our honeymoon tour of Ireland. It really was wonderful.

The amenities were very clean and obviously recently renovated, while maintaining a classic feel.

Breakfast was delicious, and every part of the dinner -- from the salad to the tomato soup to the halibut to the filet to the cheesecake to the chocolate mousse -- was excellent.

There is a small bar in the hotel, where Dennis -- the type of older Irish bartender that we'd hoped we meet in our travels -- not only poured the best pint of Guiness we'd ever had (finished with a Shamrock in the foam), but explained why Irish Guiness is better than Guiness in the US ("it's the lines!"), gave us a map of the Burren, and showed us the must-see sites for our travels the next day. His son, Declan, gave us great recommendations regarding things to do in the area (including a one-hour cruise out of Doolin, which was a fabulous way to see the Cliffs!), and was even nice enough to give us a very knowledgeable evening tour of Ballinalacken Castle that worked around our schedule.

Overall, we would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReeseinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
1.7 mi away
Aran View Country House
2.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
6.7 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinalacken Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Property: Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Address: Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinalacken Castle Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinalacken Castle Hotel Doolin is one of the leading Castle Hotels Ireland with views of Cliffs of Moher. This Clare Hotel has an award winning restaurant and is the best place to eat in Doolin. It would be difficult to find a more beautiful place on the West Coast of Ireland in which to wake up. The Ballinalacken has been described in the press as one of the finest located houses in Europe. Our guest rooms offer spectacular panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay. A 15th Century Castle ruin of the O'Brien Clan stands imposingly beside the Ballinalacken Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ballinalacken Castle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel Doolin
Ballinalacken Castle Country Hotel
Ballinalacken Castle Country Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing