We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, brilliant views and a castle in the garden!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, brilliant views and a castle in the garden!”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Steyed here around 3 weeks ago(where does the time go?!). The hotel sits in it's own grounds with the most fantastic views towards Doolin, the ocean & the cliffs.

We found the owner & the staff to be very friendly & we were given a little tour of the castle one morning (fab views from the top, not for the feint of heart!).

We had dinner there one night, which was very nice, with views from the double window.

Overall, highly recommended. Only negative, decor could probably do with a refresh in the bedrooms, but as we had such a lovely stay, I'm being picky.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t0ne00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    74
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
136
287
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olly64
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Having been in Co Waterford and Co Kerry we moved up the coast to Co Clare. Ballinalacken Castle Hotel is just north of Doolin which boasts three great pubs each with a reputation for fantastic Irish music. The castle lies on the edge of The Burren a unique limestone landscape with plenty of archaeological interest so there was plenty to do by day and night. There are also some lovely beaches nearby.
The hotel was very comfortable with the best bed of the six I slept in during our twelve days in Ireland. Breakfast was good as was the evening meal but we preferred to eat in Doolin and enjoy the music.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olly64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2010

The staff were friendly and the rooms clean but small. I would call them cozy. The restaurant served very good food but is quite pricey. The location is good although you really need a car to get there. The scenery around is gorgeous and there is castle in the back yard!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

I stayed only two nights. I arrived 9am after being awake for 24 hours. Cecelia was preparing breakfast but took the time to have my room readied early so I could have a rest. The whole experience was fabulous, food was excellent! Dennis tended bar and was a delight to talk with. I had a view of the Cliffs of Mohr from my room. After I checked out Declan took me on a tour of the Castle that was wonderful. If you are in County Clare you must pay this place a visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rogerkirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

When we planned our trip to Ireland for our 40th wedding anniversary we were looking for that special place with historic atmosphere, comfortable elegance, and a romantic feel, but with a more personal touch than the typical Castle Hotels. We found it all at Ballinalacken, plus a few extras! The minute we arrived on the grounds we were enchanted. The staff made us feel very special and did everything to be sure that we were totally happy. I especially loved the lovely 4-poster bedroom in the old part of the house, the gorgeous public areas, and the surrounding countryside with the most fantastic sunset. Dining was especially delicious and they were so acommodating with evey aspect of their service. After dinner we were given a private tour of the old castle and climbed to the very top to watch the sun set on truly the best view in Ireland! If you are looking for a very special experience, you'll enjoy your stay at this fantastic find.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravelers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia area
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We were 100% happy with our decision to make Ballinalacken Castle Country House our "home" for the Co. Clare portion of our 2 weeks in Ireland. This is a great location if the Cliffs of Moher and/or The Burren are on your list of sights to see. The small village of Doolin is an easy, short drive from this property as well. However, no need to venture into Doolin for dinner - - it doesn't get any better than the restaurant within the Country House right at Ballinalacken! We so thoroughly enjoyed our dinner the first night we opted to eat dinner there again the second night. Prior to booking Ballinalacken we read the reviews (as you are doing now!) and I honestly found it hard to believe that a small country house in rural Co. Clare could offer "the best dinners of the trip" as previous guest reviews have exclaimed. Well, tasting is believing - - the previously posted rave reviews were spot on!!! We stayed at 6 different properties on this trip and Ballinalacken's restaurant was the best. The food, the attentive service (thanks, Max!), the pretty dining room (which offers some lovely views if you have one of the romantic window tables), to the small, cozy pub for an after dinner drink ... this WAS the dining highlight of our trip. Our room was nice (#16) and had a glass sunroom sitting area, perfect if you are a reader. There are 2 nice public sitting areas in the main/original house for relaxing or mingling. A country house with it's own pub/bar was an unusual find and a nice bonus to staying at Ballinalacken; we spent our 2 evenings on property. There is free WiFi in the pub room and a courtesy laptop for guest use as well (another bonus). As other guests have mentioned, Declan gave us a personal tour of the castle ruins which we greatly appreciated and remains a highlight of the trip; a photographers delight.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucketListR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
planet earth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We have two very-hard-to-please teens, one with high-functioning autism. First of all, the setting--with its 300-degree panoramic view of the coast juxtaposed against the imposing stone ruin of a castle--took their breath away (a good thing for chronic complainers!), and then the exploring the castle, the grounds, the Harry Potteresque magnitude of the rooms with their high ceilings and grand furnishings, all contributed to our boys being on their best behavior. The food service, the staff, the diningroom setting were all top drawer and no one even blinked when my son accidentally sent a water glass crashing across the table. Very, very understated--the entire staff made us feel like visiting royalty. We could do no wrong and the price of all this magic is completely accessible to middle class travelers.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dearpru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
1.7 mi away
Aran View Country House
2.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
576 reviews
6.7 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
79 reviews
7.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
356 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinalacken Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinalacken Castle Country House

Property: Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Address: Coast Road R-477, Doolin R477, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinalacken Castle Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinalacken Castle Hotel Doolin is one of the leading Castle Hotels Ireland with views of Cliffs of Moher. This Clare Hotel has an award winning restaurant and is the best place to eat in Doolin. It would be difficult to find a more beautiful place on the West Coast of Ireland in which to wake up. The Ballinalacken has been described in the press as one of the finest located houses in Europe. Our guest rooms offer spectacular panoramic views of the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay. A 15th Century Castle ruin of the O'Brien Clan stands imposingly beside the Ballinalacken Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ballinalacken Castle Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinalacken Castle Country House Hotel Doolin
Ballinalacken Castle Country Hotel
Ballinalacken Castle Country Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing