We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper Irish welcome”
Review of Doolin House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doolin House
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Couldn't get in the hotel so we went next door to Doolin House. It turned out a blessing with Michael's welcome, his clean renovated rooms and breakfast served with a song. What more do you need.

Jud and Moi from Bolton, (Carrs Pasties)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

after a long daytrip to the cliffs we arrived late at doolin house, we were welcomed with open arms. kitchen is big and clean, livingroom is cute arranged, rooms are okay. breakfast(costs 5€) is really good! perfect coffee(they have soymilk as well!!!) fresh fruits, bread, cereals, homemade jam... really nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed here 2 nights. The rooms provided the bare minimum for survival. We booked a double bed ensuite but eneded up sleeping separate on bunk beds in the same room due to the fact that the mattress of the double bed was apparently excavated from a 17th Century castle and therefore impossible to sleep in it ! You could visibly see the 6 inch whole in the middle of the mattress and feel every single spring with precision. The bathroom was clean and the water was hot but the shower had no pressure at all, literally a trickle, so you could not use much soap and forget about washing your hair, it would have taken 2 hours at least to rinse all off. Hairdryer broken and the wall radiator barely got warm. So, if you are trying to decide whether you should pay an extra 20 -40 euros for a B&B, considering that also a full Irish breakfast is included in B&B's and it will cost you 10-12 euros/person in Doolin, then in our opinion B&B is the way to go at least in Doolin.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scdonovan_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We got in late, and this place had a room for 3. The owner (man) seemed cheerful. The linens and room itself were clean, just old. The bath needs updating, but there was hot water and everything worked. The windows were open, but with no screens, bugs easily came in (and did). Had to get a few spiders out of the tub, but it wasn't overrun or anything. No tv, but we weren't there to watch tv. Our towels were old beach towels (mine was Manchester United).
Despite the lack of luxury, this was actually the BEST sleep we had the whole trip. Nice crisp air, the beds were very comfortable, crisp clean sheets. Very quiet. The coffee and english breakfast were simple but very good and ready for us when we got downstairs.
If you are stopping by Doolin for one night and don't plan to spend a lot of time in the room, this is a really great value (only 25 euros pp for us when we had been spending about 40 - 45 euros elsewhere). This is a great location to get to McGann's pub, and gives you a great sleep. This was not a b&b to rave about the accomodations, but one to rave about the value! I'd recommend for those looking for a convenient place to rest their head and save money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBWJBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

from the exterior the house is lovely, and near the centre of doolin. but the room was very poor: no tv set, just one lamp (that didn't work), narrow bathroom...the wiew was ok, but we can't stay at the indow all day long...also the linen were old and seemed dirt, even if they weren't!
we think that the owner has to refurbish the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank filt18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Incredible location close to everything that happens in Doolin. Got the impression from Ann that nothing we asked for would be too much trouble. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

Doolin House is in an excellent location, within easy walking distance to the "lower" part of Doolin. The owner was friendly and the building is very attractive from the outside. The problem is on the inside...this place has apparently not been updated since the 1970's. It is very dated and somewhat tattered and not the cleanest place we stayed at in Ireland. Limited breakfast menu, but the food was okay.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank curley6710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
0.4 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
629 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aran View Country House
2.5 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
476 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glasha Meadows
Glasha Meadows
#9 of 56 in Doolin
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolin House

Address: Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range: £32 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing