We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bed and breakfast and wonderful hosts.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doll's Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 54 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best bed and breakfast and wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed with Sean and Niamh for two nights may 14 and 15th, we loved the room we had, very clean and quaint, looking out to the sea. Sean called the next morning to make sure we got on the ferry to the Aran islands. We also took the ride to the cliff of moher. Sean is so knowledgeable and very helpful and can give you great information about the areas. He also does some tours if you request them in advance. We enjoyed the o'connors pub which was onced owned by his family. You will not regret your stay with them. Thanks Sean and Niamh for making our stay so great.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank arilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
106
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freising, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We are very often travelling in our new hoem country Ireland and got very experienced in the B&B scene, with about 20 houses visited in the last two years. While we most of the times have really enjoyable stays and are rarely disappointed, Sean's and Niamh's welcome and housekeeping made our stay at Doll's Cottage something far above all our expectations.
From the oustide, the house boasts some eye catchers for everyone who knows what a "B&Ber" should be looking for. The sunglasshouse in the front is filled with amenities, comfortable sofas, a lovely dressed table, all sorts of coffee and tea making facilities, a TV, etc. So far so good. The side antrance for guests is the first sign of a very old established cottage.
Our first highlight was the room that welcomed us with an overwhelming feeling of cosyness and comfort. Looking more like a perfect interior design picture of an old english comfy room, we within a second lost our tiredness of our long drive and the terribel weather of the two days before. While there might be more storage in case you stay longer and need more clothing, I still loved the stylish drwawer, and there is even (very rare!) space below the beds to store your big suitcases that won't disturb your liberty of move in the room.
I have back problem AND are over sensitive to noise, that's why I rarely sleep very well on travel. Both my wife and I slept like babies, and I mean healthy babies. The other reviewers describing the beds as dangerously comfortable were not exagerating a word. The mattress is soft but hard enaugh for a bad back like mine, the blankets give you an amazing feeling of comfort and the pillows..... I did not use the ear plugs so silent was the house and the street.
The armchair, besides of being decadently elegant, was even more comfortable.
The cleaniness of the room and bathroom was amazing. everythin is still very new (the b&b opened only in 2011 I believe), but the maintenance is extensive to keep it as spotless.
The room and bathroom feature some practical details like several power accesses, towels driers placed over the heating, etc..
The breakfast is probably the best we enjoyed in Ireland so far. While most of establishments offer a great choice and diversity of dishes, they usually vary around the full irish, and classical scrambled eggs. Where else will you be offered huge and fluffy scrambled eggs with.... two huge slices of fresh salmon?? Roasted bagels with fresh cream and bacon or salmon? Even Sean's full irish was featuring elegant mushrooms, and a never seen before perfectly brown and crusty roasted potatoes. What a delight! Each coffee pot is infused individually and on demand and couldnt be fresher. Whereelse do you get fresh homemade scones AND the same brown bread AND banana bread AND cake?....
The surroundings have been described enaugh by other reviewers. Lets jus tsay that on each single day of your stay, you can do something completely different but still 100% typical for the region, from the Moher's walk (20km return from the b&b to the Southern Tower), the Aarn Island (each charming), the spectacular Burren National Park hikes, some cave visiting, chocolate factories... Even the rocky beach on the pier are a highlight, not mentionning at sunset...
A thing we usually miss, and even more when sleeping at particularly nice natural locations, per definition remote, is the nightly pub. You can't even enjoy the traditional music and a few pints when you still have to drive back a few km over Irish roads...
O'Connor's Pub is not only world famous. It features realy really good pub food for the usual low pub prices. The traditional music is daily. We ate their each of our nights and the atmosphere is far from only touristical, with at least half of the patrons being locals. The pub is ALSO about 40 seconds by foot from Doll's Cottage, but around the corner and separated by a few houses, hence you wouldn't hear a sound. Not true. on stormy nights, you will hear the famous Doolin waves breaking on the rocky beach...
While Irish hospitality made the B&B experience in Ireland so unique and world famous, Seam and Niamh were just almost caricatural hosts and are the ones that made the stay sooo exceptional. How enjoyable to have a host asking you if he can call the boat companies if they still ship to the cliffs just because you mentionned you would love to do so? And calls them the next morning to ask if the Aaran ships will be on time? We heard Sean advise other visiors with such details... As he knows absolutely everything about the surroundings, he spontaneously adapts to your interests and will direct you and make your touristical stay perfect.
The almost finished cliff edge path (April 2012) leading from Doolin to the Cliffs or Moher, over the will definitely be a touristical highlight in the region.
Sean and Niamh surprised us by allowing us a "late check out", after our long cliffs hike: we could shower and refersh in our room before driving back to Cork. THis being of course possible only if the room is not booked the same day, it wa still a unique offer we never experienced before (and that was refused on several occasions on request).
Sean would not have let us leave for the sooo long drive without a last coffee and his amazing chicken soup. While eating, a hale storm fell over Doolin. Sean's first reaction was to jump into the car to go and get the German tourists that left for a walk a short time before.
This b&b is a great contribution to well being in Doolin. We will be back to this only 2 hours away heaven.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiete as the whole village is situated at the end of the road and there is almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FredericPlasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micco, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Sean is a perfect host, he fit us in at the last minute. We had a lovely stay. Our room spotless, the bed comfortable, the breakfast fabulous and the location is perfect. When in Doolin stay here.

Thank you Sean and Niamh...If we find ourselves in Doolin again we will be sure to stay with you!

Richard & Susan

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyPonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Doll's Cottage and the breakfast was top notch! The room was wonderfully decorated and very clean. Great place to stayl

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlcandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Spent Christmas in Doolin and had Doll's Cottege as our base, Excelent location, walking everywhere, all on the doorstep, The service was super and nothing was too much effert. Excellent accommodation, excellent hose, excellent food we will be staying again highly recommender.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Doll's Cottage is perfectly located, only 2second walk from O' Connor's where great music is blasted out nightly. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast has great selection and really delicious, homemade brown bread and all! comfortable and welcoming...great spot.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I throughly enjoyed stayin at this beautifully located B&B...not only were the rooms nicely decorated the beds were like sleeping on a cloud....the village is litterally 2 second walk away and the owners were extremley pleasant and gave info about interesting places to see also great for a good chat...:-)really enjoyed the selection of breakfast...will definately return in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
576 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.1 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#5 of 54 in Doolin
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#4 of 54 in Doolin
390 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
0.2 mi away
Doolin Hostel
Doolin Hostel
#1 of 18 in Doolin
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doll's Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doll's Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Doll's Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Fisher St., Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing