We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Riverside Bistro

The Riverside Bistro
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$21
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location & excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

After our lovely day of touring Inisheer and experiencing the awe inspiring Cliffs of Moher from sea level, we were hungry and tired. We passed crowds at other restaurants and made a serindipidous turn into the Riverside Bistro. The lovely location along the side of a pretty creek was inviting. I ordered their crab claw appetizer and fish & chips and both were cooked to perfection and extremely fresh. The wine list was brief but thorough and we enjoyed an excellent French red recommended by our server. Service was prompt and unobtrusive. Please frequent this restaurant and support this lovely alternative to the other high quality establishments in Doolin.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    30
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fine Dining At Budget Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Riverside Bistro is one of the best restaurants l have ever eaten in. From the moment my husband and l entered we were given such a warm friendly welcome by the owner Olive, The food was divine, absolutely delicious and very generous portions. The waitress on duty was lovely and very friendly. l would highly recommend the Riverside Bistro, you will get five star food without the high cost !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistently Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were here in 2011 and ate here twice... so we decided to try again and it was a fantastic meal by all in our party -- including our 4-year-old daughter. While our daughter is pretty open to anything they offered chicken nuggets and fries (chips) to which she said YES... and they were fresh chicken nuggets and not frozen which we were happily surprised.

As for the rest, we had a great bottle of wine and everything from the fish-wrapped fish to the local Irish beef was all perfect.

On a side note, the manager recognized us from our previous visit which was nice. A little conversation to catch up and good to know this restaurant has survived the winter.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EnchantingIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A nice charge from pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent 3 nights in Doolin. It is well known for its music and it is a well earned reputation. If you are looking to get away from traditional pub food then you will not be disappointed with this bistro. There is a set menu and some evenings have specials. We enjoyed it so much we went back another night. I enjoyed the special, fish stir fry, the first night so she offered to make for my husband the second time we were there even though there were no specials that night. That's service. We indulged in the chicken curry and a delicious duck in an orange sauce. I was pleasantly surprised. It was a nice change from all the fish I was eating since our arrival to Ireland. All the dishes were freshly prepared and full of flavour.
We were very delighted to be entertained by Rita and her mandolin after supper our second night. Audience participation was welcomed. In no time we were all singing along.
This is a very small intimate setting. You get to talk to the owner, the entertainer and the few other patrons. We were so happy to end our experience in Doolin on such a positive note.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Nice alternative to pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This wonderful place redeemed our evening. We got into Doolin around 9:00 and had a terrible time finding at table at any pub. We walked into three different pubs where no one greeted us and there were no empty tables. Finally, we found this lovely place and walked in. We were immediately greeted with a friendly hello. We had our choice of tables and seated ourselves facing the fireplace. We shared an entree of baked salmon in a mushroom leek white wine sauce. The salmon was delicious as was the sauce. The presentation was beautiful and the steamed vegetables that accompanied it were fresh and wonderful. For dessert we enjoyed baileys cheese cake that was light and delicious and not too sweet. The service was great. I definitely recommend this bistro.

Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Riverside Bistro also viewed

 
Doolin, The Burren
 

Been to The Riverside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing