We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas holidays in Doolin”
other travellers have booked this property
Large bright living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large bright living room
Living room at Gentian Cottage with ocean views Sun room with ocean view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Large bright living room
Living room at Gentian Cottage with ocean views
Sun room with ocean view
Kitchen dining room
fully equipped
Real peat fire
Homemade scones
Open plan kitchen living and dining room
living room
Modern kitchen with dishwasher, fridge freezer, sterio, coffee maker, electric oven and Microwave
A cuppa Tea with your name on it.....
Ground floor full bathroom just off kitchen area
Front entrance hall way where a warm welcome awaites....
Ground floor bedroom with Super King size bed ensuite
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor ensuite with shower
Ground floor ensuite shower
First floor bedroom with a Super King size bed ensuite with shower
First floor bedroom with Super King size bed ensuite with shower
First floor ensuite shower
Family bedroom ensuite with full bathroom and a Super king size bed and a queen size bed
First floor family bedroom dressing table and wardrobe
First floor family bedroom with comfortable beds
Moooove on.................
First floor Family ensuite full bathroom with Jett tub
Bright airy stairway
Parking for 3 cars
Gentian Cottage
Ballinalacken Castle ... a complimentary tour awaites
Sunset at Gentian Cottage
Amazing sunset from Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Doolin, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
TerryJH59
Mission Viejo, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Christmas holidays in Doolin”
Reviewed 9 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from a three week, multi city trip to London and Ireland to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, Christmas and New Year's. We spend a week at Gentian Cottage (12/21-27/2011) in Doolin and had a wonderful time. Our two adult children (ages 20 and 23) joined us in Doolin. We renewed our wedding vows on the Cliffs of Moher, dined and celebrated in the town's pubs, made a home cooked meal on Christmas (herbed leg of lamb, poached salmon with capers, rocket salad and potatoes au gratin). The cottage has a wonderful fire place and the owners set up a Christmas tree and decorated the place in advance of our arrival. We had a truly wonderful experience in Doolin and loved the cottage. The owners, Ann and Colin O'Callighan, were absolutely terrific. We hope to visit Doolin again someday and stay at this wonderful cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnesbik...
Barnes, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous home and hosts”
Reviewed 27 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We were in Doolin with family (three couples) and were very comfortable at the Gentian Cottage. Ann was very gracious and hospitable and made sure we had everything we needed to be comfortable during our stay. The welcome basket of goodies was very much appreciated and allowed us to get acclimated before we had to do any grocery shopping.

The rural setting was a wonderful place for us to begin our visit to Ireland and my only regret was we didn't have longer to explore all there is to do in the region. The location is great for any exploration of that region of Ireland, from Galway to Shannon and all areas between.

The house was fabulous, with three bedrooms (all very comfortable), each with it's own bathroom, a washer and dryer, sunroom, and an open kitchen, dining, living room that made it easy to gather and visit during breakfast and in the evening. The kitchen was well appointed and had everything we needed for the meals we cooked at home.

I would highly recommend Gentian Cottage to anyone looking for a peaceful, comfortable, country home with hosts that pay attention to every little detail to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and location were wonderful!
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like about Gentian Cottage
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York USA
Reviewed 1 June 2010 for a stay in April 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VA, USA
Reviewed 7 May 2010 for a stay in October 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canada
Reviewed 7 May 2010 for a stay in August 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ca
Reviewed 29 April 2010 for a stay in March 2009
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dbgolf
Ft Myers, Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Doolin, Ireland”
Reviewed 12 October 2009
4
people found this review helpful

Spent a week in April 2009 in Doolin - West cost of Ireland County Clare. Doolin is a small costal town with wonderful pubs. We had dinner every night at a pub. We flew into Dublin and drove to Doolin where we rented a place a short distance from doolin called Gentian Cottage. It was a 3 BR, 4 bath, with full kitchen, greatroom, sunroom and fireplace. The price was about what you would pay for a hotel or bed and breakfast. It overlooked the Atlantic ocean and the Aron Islands. The people we rented it from lived down the hill on a farm. They also owned an old castle on the grounds behind the cottage. They were wonderful. We took day trips all over county Clare. We took the ferry from Doolin to the smallest Aron Island and toured it by horse carriage and on foot and then took the ferry to the Cliffs of Mohr which were best seen from the water. We took a day trip to Galway which was great - we parked the car and toured on foot. We then drove back to Dublin and spent the day there on foot and then spent the night on the Coast near the airport. When we go again we will fly into Shannon and stay again at the Gentian Cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing