We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little piece of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Large bright living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large bright living room
Living room at Gentian Cottage with ocean views Sun room with ocean view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Large bright living room
Living room at Gentian Cottage with ocean views
Sun room with ocean view
Kitchen dining room
fully equipped
Real peat fire
Homemade scones
Open plan kitchen living and dining room
living room
Modern kitchen with dishwasher, fridge freezer, sterio, coffee maker, electric oven and Microwave
A cuppa Tea with your name on it.....
Ground floor full bathroom just off kitchen area
Front entrance hall way where a warm welcome awaites....
Ground floor bedroom with Super King size bed ensuite
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor ensuite with shower
Ground floor ensuite shower
First floor bedroom with a Super King size bed ensuite with shower
First floor bedroom with Super King size bed ensuite with shower
First floor ensuite shower
Family bedroom ensuite with full bathroom and a Super king size bed and a queen size bed
First floor family bedroom dressing table and wardrobe
First floor family bedroom with comfortable beds
Moooove on.................
First floor Family ensuite full bathroom with Jett tub
Bright airy stairway
Parking for 3 cars
Gentian Cottage
Ballinalacken Castle ... a complimentary tour awaites
Sunset at Gentian Cottage
Amazing sunset from Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Doolin, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
paudles
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We would highly recommend this property. It was even better than we could imagine.
Great location and so close to Doolin and lisdoonvarna. Ann was so nice, we had a private tour of the castle. She made our holiday very special. She gave us loads of ideas of things to do in the area , and great restaurants to visit.
There are amazing trails on the doorstep. We hiked to Fanore from the house through the burren, fabulous experience and great views.
Our stay was so good, we are already planning our return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of cottage
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B
1 review
“Stunning views and excellent location.”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

There were 5 of us staying at the Gentian Cottage for 10 days. From the day we arrived to the day we left it was absolutely outstanding. Ann was so friendly and helpful throughout our whole stay along with a giving us a private tour of the castle near by. I 100% would recommend a stay here and I will absolutely be back in the future and will only stay here. Watching the sun set over the Aran Islands from the front yard enjoying a local beer with my family was outstanding.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare H
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous house, fabulous location”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Gentian cottage really is a fantastic holiday let - spacious, very well-equipped, with a lovely sun-room, a homely open-fire and picture-postcard views over the Atlantic. I particularly loved sitting in the front garden each evening watching the sun setting over the Aran islands. The owners live nearby and couldn't have been more helpful with our queries. There was also a welcome pack of food and a very useful file of local information and contacts. There's also a good range of fiction and Ireland travelbooks which have maybe been donated by previous holidaymakers.

The location is perfect as a base to explore county Clare, and there's plenty of day-trip activities within a 10-15 mile radius. Would especially recommend a boat trip around the cliffs of Moher (from Doolin quay) and a guided walk of the Burren (info from Burren centre at Kilnefora). Also Doolin cave which has one of the longest stalactites in the world, and is a couple of minutes drive from the cottage. Gentian cottage is also in a perfect location for walkers, as the Burren trail is just up the road.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our time in county Clare and highly recommend Gentian cottage as the ideal place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from house over Atlantic
Liked least: Hot water system took some getting used to.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTISITE
Bershires, Massachusetts
1 review
“Gentian Cottage is a tonic for one's heart and soul.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The charm of Gentian Cottage is only outdone by the kindness & warmth of the
O Callaghans themselves! Ann & Colin are truly a wonderful couple who just can not do enough for you. The cottage is so well kept, tidy & clean, with everything you might need at hand. There is nothing to want for...except for perhaps more time to be there! The views are amazing! The cows and sheep out the kitchen window make you smile. The sunsets beautiful. The location of the cottage is fantastic! County Clare's beautiful countryside is breathtaking. Doolin is only a moment away. The Burren is wild & free! And Shannon Airport is not far. We have no doubts that Gentian Cottage will once again call to us and we shall return to this charming haven to enjoy the beauty & peace of Ireland. Thank you Ann & Colin!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location & the O Callaghans!
Liked least: There was nothing...except that we only had one week to stay.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissElle2...
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“beautiful, cozy cottage, amazing view, a perfect hideaway”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We spent two entire months (February and March) in Gentian Cottage and wouldn't hesitate to repeat this any time. The whole house is furnished with love for detail, the kitchen isn't missing anything you can imagine. Families travelling with little children even find a nice baby cod, highchair, playpen, lots of toys and stair gates. One of the top highlights definitely is the marvellous view out of the bedrooms as well as the winter garden which includes the Cliffs of Moher, the Aran Islands and the Burren landscape.
Ann and Colin, the owners, are wonderful hosts who'll help you with everything and any question that might occur, no matter if it is regarding the house, the fireplace, shopping directions, information about the surroundings or the schedule of all St.Patrick's Day Parades :) Ann offered us to mind our little one-year-old boy so that we were able to enjoy Doolin's Pubs (all 4 of them are great) not only during daytime. Her husband Colin even picked us up late at night. Their explanation for this more than just generous offer: They, parents of three children themselves, know what it means to have a 'free' evening from time to time :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I loved everything about Gentian Cottage! Ann makes you feel incredibly welcome and is very helpful with anything you might need. She's one of the friendliest people I have ever met.

The beds were comfortable, the house was impeccably clean, it's very spacious and the view is to die for. I would stay there again in a minute.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
303maryr
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Christmas at Gentian Cottage”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

As other reviewers have noted Ann, the owner of Gentian Cottage, is a warm bubbly person who can not do enough for you. We spent 2013 Christmas at Gentian Cottage with our adult children who had travelled from Australia (we are living in Dublin for a couple of years) to enjoy an Irish West Coast experience. We arrived in the dark on Christmas Eve to a heated house with a beautifully decorated fresh tree and a welcoming peat fire. Ann had organised extra dining table and chairs (we had 9 for Christmas because my brother had rented a nearby cottage), table cloth and decorations with a pot of mulled wine on the stove top!
This was my third visit to the cottage in the past year. Each time it has been impeccably presented. We have used it just as a couple, as a family and with two couples. A good base for exploring the west coast.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing