We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family break in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We are just back from a two day visit to Clare, staying at Cullinan's on both nights. The Guest House is superbly located to all the sights Clare has to offer (Burren, Wild Atlantic Way, Cliffs of Moher etc.) and ideally located in the centre of Doolin village, with it's wonderful bars and live music. Our hosts, Carol and James couldn't have done enough for us. The family room was clean, spacious, with en-suite and a wonderful view from the window. The breakfast (included in the price), was sumptious, cooked fresh and presented in the small but cosy restaurant with wonderful views of the river, old bridge and rolling countryside. For me the highlight was the dinner we ate on the Saturday evening. The choice and quality were superb and not out of place in top establishment in Dublin or London. We are already looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Decide if you wish a view of the village (to the front) or of the countryside (The back)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Baldwins2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at Cullinan's just the other night & from the time we walked in the front door until we left in the morning, we were made to feel right at home by Carol. She is a wonderful host & answered every question and took care of our every need. The rooms of the guesthouse were spacious and ours even had a king bed that my feet did not hang off the end! Another little perk that you often don't even find in the most upscale hotels in Dublin, much less in the West of Ireland, there were washcloths in the bath. The location is perfectly situated between the different traditional music pubs in town. As Doolin is a music town with parties and weddings a regular, you may want to ask for a room on the back side of the guesthouse. The small downstairs restaurant run by Carol's husband James, is excellent and I would rank it towards the very top of my list of Ireland's Best Restaurants. The Restaurant has a very nice view of the stream flow by so try to get one of the window tables. Be sure to make reservations as it only seats about 2 dozen guests. And the morning breakfast is excellent. We have stayed at 5 different places in Doolin over the years, but we will return to Cullinan's from now on.

Room Tip: King beds are available in some rooms, just ask when booking. Rooms facing the stream in the back ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at Culinnan's the first week of July 2014, and found this guesthouse to be the perfect choice for us. The place was simple, neat, and quiet. We had a room overlooking the river (stream) and lovely country side, with everything a family of three could need. Carol was a very welcoming host always doing her best to accommodate all her guests' wishes in her calm and unassuming way. The guesthouse is located very conveniently at the heart of the tiny village called Doolin, across the street from the tourist information office, a bakery, and a wonderful pub where we enjoyed great music. Would definitely want to return there and warmly recommend it all family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MeggieKap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Cullinan's is located close to the TI and pub with beautiful views of the countryside. Our hosts were wonderful and the breakfasts were lovely! We chose a family room for five of us which was a little tight and a bit loud late into one night when a wedding occurred across the street (but I think this was an out of the ordinary occasion). I would definitely return but split into two rooms and request to not be near the front of the house.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyBrownTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

His was one if the nicer B&B's we stayed in, almost like a small hotel really. Our room was decorated in the modern style and in the back corner of the second building with two large windows overlooking a bubbling stream. Excellent bird watching spot! In town yet quiet, powerful shower, good breakfast. The owners were professional yet warm. We bought one of their musical CD's and enjoyed listening to it on our drive around the country. Would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank zookeeperOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here in June 2014. This place was the perfect spot to stay...walking distance to the pubs, easy access to Cliffs, Doolin, and the pier. The owners could not have been nicer, the food was fantastic, and the rooms very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegasjohnnydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Fantastic place to stay. Clean,and fresh.The staff are caring kind and professional. The owners are very helpful, nothing was a problem.
The food was out of this world. So fresh and prepared like a Michelin star restaurant. We would highly recommend this charming guest house.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Joanbkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
618 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.9 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
467 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
0.4 mi away
Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullinan's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullinan's Guesthouse

Address: Crossroads of R 479, Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: £78 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Doolin, Co. Clare, we offer first class accommodation and exceptional cuisine in an idyllic setting overlooking the Aille river.Accredited Best Restaurant Award 2007, Michele Erdvig restaurant of the year award and RAC dining award. Highly recommended by Michelin, Frommers, Fodors, Bridgestone and Georgina Campbell. Some attractions in the area include the Burren, the Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands, not forgetting the traditional Irish music in the local pubs nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cullinan's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cullinan`s Guesthouse Hotel Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing