We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We didn't want to leave”
other travellers have booked this property
Pollclabber cottage from private lane
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pollclabber cottage from private lane
Pollclabber cottage Stone outhouses
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Pollclabber cottage from private lane
Pollclabber cottage
Stone outhouses
Back patio area
New project. Seating area sheltered by the ancient stone walls.
Modern kitchen
Kitchen and dining area
Sitting area with stove
West facing seating area
Yes, there is a table tennis table
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom with en-suite
Master bedroom
Main bathroom
House from road
Stream running under the road
View of the Aran Islands from top of entrance driveway
Green roads walking trail close to the house
The Burren
Fanore beach nearby
Cliffs of Moher
Fancy a bit of Irish surfing!!!!
Full moon over Mullach More.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Doolin, The Burren, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
defaultga...
Vancouver, BC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“We didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 31 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Pollclabber cottage is a perfect retreat in one of the most beautiful parts of the world. We arrived with snow on the ground and the house was warm and cozy. The house is nestled in a a landscape of rolling hills, it's hard to see much but green fields and the sky from the windows (although we did spy a fox and a hare in the neighbouring field).

There is a fantastic 5km loop of quiet roads around the house which walkers and runners will appreciate. The halfway point is also the high point with an extraordinary view out over Galway bay, the Aran islands and the Cliffs of Moher (see panorama photo). The only place I've seen a better view of the milky way at night was halfway up the Himalayas.

The house itself is a new refurbishment of a traditional Irish cottage. With charm and comfort both. We stayed for a few weeks and it was perfect for our family. Our two year old loved it and keeps asking when we're going back. I worked remotely while there and the internet connection was flawless; working for video conferencing and large downloads. A happy surprise as this is not a given in rural Ireland. It's worth noting though that the mobile phone coverage is very bad inside the house itself.

If you're looking for a tranquil hideaway, just a stone's throw away from the best of the west of Ireland, this is the house for you.

We really didn't want to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2018
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maguIrela...
Ireland
2 reviews
“Pollclabber cottage”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had the pleasure of staying in Pollclabber Cottage last week with our 3yr old and 1 yr old.
It is such a gem. The house is beautifully renovated, with all mod cons and cooking utensils. We didn't meet Helen but all communication was friendly and easy. Helen even had a travel cot made up for our baby.
We had beautiful weather overall but one morning it poured rain.Even with the bad weather it was such a joy to snuggle up infront of the log burning stove and enjoy the serene peace and quiet of the surroundings.The kids were amazed to see hares, rabbits, pheasants all from inside the cottage.It was like the animals didn't realise we were there!! We also had great fun playing ping pong!
There are gorgeous safe gardens for the kids surrounded by nature at its best.
We cannot wait to return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Thank you so much. Delighted you and your family fell under the magic that is Pollclabber cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CamilleT6...
Blairsville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great rental!”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Pollclabber was perfect for six travelers! It lives up to and exceeds the descriptions and photos.
Three bedrooms and bathrooms. Great living room with fireplace. Close to Doolin and the fantastic music pubs.
I would love to go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
So glad the six of you had such a great time at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Val...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This holiday cottage ticked all the boxes for us.”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Beautifully restored and re- developed cottage. Perfectly positioned for access to the unique Burren landscape, the Cliffs of Moher and popular towns of Lisdoonvara and Doolin.

Superbly equipped cottage. Very spacious and furnished with an eye to the needs of all guest profiles. Very appealing for nature lovers, adventure lovers or anyone in need of quiet relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Thanks for staying at Pollclabber cottage. Glad to,see its magic is still working!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sungjwoo
Washington, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Most Relaxing Time.”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had the best time at the Pollclabber. We never met Helen but we didn't need to, as she provided everything we needed. The cottage is exactly as she describes it and as it appears in the photos. We lit the wood stove every night. We took walks around the beautiful grounds (and even met a friend, a chocolate lab named Comet!). This cottage is really close to Lisdoonvarna (not even 2 miles), which is a great town for grocery shopping (MACE was fantastic), restaurants, and even has a post office. The only thing you'll miss is fast Internet, though I was able to get dialup speeds (sometimes faster, depending on the time of day) by turning my Vodafone-data-enabled Samsung Galaxy S6 into a hotspot (I needed to get FoxFI from the Google Play store, well worth the eight bucks).

Western Ireland will have a special place in our hearts, thanks to the Pollclabber.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!
Liked least: Lack of Broadband Internet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
Thanks Sung,
Delighted you all enjoyed your stay in Pollclabber cottage.
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
866liz
County Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
“Amazing cottage- wished I lived there!”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My husband and 2 kids (aged 5 and 7) stayed here for 4 nights in March. As soon I was leaving I was looking up availability to go back! It's a beautiful, well-designed cottage in a lovely peaceful location. We had great weather for most of the trip, but even when it was lashing rain on the last night it was magical sitting inside all cosy and listening to the rain falling. The kids loved exploring in the garden and we did a loop 5k walk starting from the house one morning which was really nice. There is plenty to do in the area for kids and adults, and the cottage is well positioned for trips to Lahinch, Doolin, North Clare, Burren perfumery, Cliffs of Moher etc. The cottage is very luxurious and the decor is lovely. The beds are really comfy too. I always spend time looking for nice accommodation when traveling and I've found some really lovely places in the past but this is probably the nicest house I've stayed in! Looking forward to going back at some stage next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Can't think of anything I didn't like.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
Thanks Liz. Glad you and your family enjoyed your stay in Pollclabber cottage. It weaves its magic again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location - unique
Liked least: Nothing - it was as advertised
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing