We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place got me. Deep.”
Review of Aille River Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aille River Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This place got me. Deep.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Wonderfull stay at a very friendly location. The staff is nice, I felt king of the kitchen, bed was good, shower was the best. Perfect. Washing machine was big and quick, everything we needed: we found it. Relaxing, nice environment, lovely people. I definitly want to come again. We stayed with two teenagers in a 4 bedroom, they really loved it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heididepeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    64
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
44
91
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed there one night, and found the staff to be great. Gave us a quick tour of the facility then showed us to our room. Room was small but fine. En suite in our room and worked fine - good shower. Provided advice on the traditional music pubs in Doolin. Beautiful location. A good traditional music pub across the bridge 75 m away, and two others (also with traditional music) a short walk (say 400 metres) away in either direction. On-site parking. Basic, economic room. Clean. Quiet, and we'd definitely stay there again if in Doolin!.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuck2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here or 2 nights mid August. Turns out the Harley Davidson festival was in town so the hostel was really busy and common room was packed at meal times. Our double room with ensuite suited our needs, although the wifi didn't works so we had to go to reception. The breakfast for €1.50 was good value (egg, soda bread, jam) but they didn't have any of museli on either day was was a bit annoying. Friendly staff.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I spent a perfect night camping in the grounds of Aille River Hostel in Doolin and what a privilege that was!. The camp site was perfect...level, soft earth and beautifully sheltered by a stone wall. The hostel itself is one of the best I've visited...immaculately clean, piping hot showers, very friendly and welcoming staff and owner, a wonderful wood burning stove and large kitchen....unfortunately we could only stay one night but we will be back both to enjoy the physical space and to meet more interesting characters. the icing on the cake was the fact that Glenedd our dog was welcomed and other guests even played ball and threw the stick for him so all in all thank you Robert and staff for a hugely enjoyable experience in the magical Aille River Hostel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KILKENNYKATIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belchatow, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The best hostel in Doolin. Well-located. Only a few steps from Fitzpatrick's Bar with live music. Warm and friendly atmosphere. Clean and cosy rooms and bathrooms. Well-equipped kitchen. Breakfast available on request for €1.50. Free WiFi. Just great! Nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorthy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hostel's location is perfect (just a short drive from the Cliffs of Moher). The staff is extremely friendly and the place is very clean and comfortable. There are several shops and bars within walking distance which is nice as well as a small beach and pier within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hostel has a beautiful setting, and we really enjoyed going to McGann's for the best music of the trip! We were a group of cyclists and hikers travelling all over Ireland, and this was one of the better hostels in which we stayed. One of our favorite memories of our trip was the hike up to the Cliffs of Moher from Doolin. What incredible views there are, and now that the trail has been improved it isn't quite the nail biter that it was a few years back. It was nice that hikers are allowed to walk around the actual Cliffs of Moher area without having to pay! Anyway, back to the hostel, the kitchen was nice and we liked the fact that you could buy an egg to cook for breakfast as the Continental breakfasts can get a little old with all the carbs! The only drawback is that there really wasn't a secure place for our bikes, but we made do with our own locks and a tarp to cover them up in front of the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursetommey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
569 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.3 mi away
Doolin Hostel
Doolin Hostel
#1 of 18 in Doolin
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Hostel
Rainbow Hostel
#4 of 18 in Doolin
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#4 of 54 in Doolin
390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#5 of 54 in Doolin
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aille River Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aille River Hostel

Property: Aille River Hostel
Address: Ocean Road, Doolin -, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aille River Hostel is a 300-year-old cottage lovingly renovated to retain its old world charm while offering modern comforts for our friends and guests. Located by the banks of the Aille River, the Aille River Hostel is a quiet oasis right in the centre of Doolin. Voted Best Hostel in Ireland in 2009 by IHH customers and Number 1 Hostel in Ireland in 2008 by Hostel World customers, Aille River hostel is recommended by the Lonely Planet travel guides as “The best of the bunch” and has been given the Thumbs Up by Let’s Go travel guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Aille River Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing