We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flanagan's doolin Hostel”

Flanagan's Village Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flanagan's Village Hostel
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flanagan's doolin Hostel”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Was here for near a week in late April this year and found this a most convenient location to get right into the heart of Doolin's music (and experiencing The Burren in general - though a car is helpful for that). Gerald is a great host, generous and willing to facilitate - even refusing to charge for some of the breakfast supplies he provided. Tariff is very reasonable. Gerald is involved in the local music scene, including very much the Centre across the road. He's often too busy with chores to get going on his music, but just ask. Facilities are excellent - kitchen, common room, parking.
Jim, Australia

Room Tip: I had double private ensuite - excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

All around satisfactory accommodations and convenient location in Doolin. Was there for music and Buddy couldn't have been more helpful. Also full of advice on other local sights. Buddy, the owner, is a fascinating, friendly host and adds real local flavor to your stay. Great local pubs and music just down the street. We have great memories.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Great little hostel in Doolin. Super friendly and helpful owner. Great rates. Full kitchen privileges with coffee, tea, breakfast cereals at no extra charge. Close to town and the bus stop.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here for the August bank holiday weekend with a friend. Had booked a double, but got "upgraded" to a 4 bed dorm for no extra cost.

Gerard, the owner, is really helpful and really friendly. Couldn't do more for us, or anyone else there. Always on call. We heard he's a great man for a trad music session, but unfortuantely didn't get to see him in action.

Hostel is basic, but has everything you need. Nice common room and kitchen area.

Bedroom could do with a mirror and maybe a locker would be my only comments.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loukkcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here. Our visit happened to be during a slow time of the week, so we were the only ones there, but the owner, Gerald, kept us company and was very kind. The location is also ideal for the evenings. You're only a couple minutes walk to McDermott's, a cozy pub with live music. The private room we stayed in was pretty bare, which we didn't mind, since we were spending most of our time out and about. We will definitely want to stay again the next time we're in Doolin. Gerald was a great host! (and we're sorry we accidentally took a key - hopefully it arrived safely in the mail!).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duttonart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We had a little car problems, so we came around 1am, but the owner was so nice and came all the way to give us key for the room, even though we stayed only for one night.
Facilites were average, rooms could be bigger too. But everything works, cause you're in the village. We had a great look on the sheep from our room window and a look on the horses from the kitchen. The lounge room looked so cosy and friendy. Doolin is great for getaway from city madness, you can really find peace there. Cliffs of Moher are also close and there's also a ferry to Aran islands, which we had to miss, because of the weather, there were terrible big waves.
We were so sorry we couldn't stay longer, I bet we would have one funfeckintastic time!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmissys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 July 2004

Located in the heart of Ireland's traditional music scene, Doolin Ireland, this is friendly, family run hostle. Has dorm style rooms, family rooms, and single rooms available.

A large sitting room, and large kitchen. The hostel is only 3 minute walk to two of the three pubs in the town, and about 10 minutes to the third pub.

It is located in the heart of the burren, and just a few miles from the beautiful cliffs of mohar, Ireland's most spectacular spot.

The hostel is located on an actual farm, and is surrounded by beautifl scenary on all sides.

Has washer & dryer facilities, and plenty of parking for those with cars.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.4 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.8 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 16 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Doolin Hostel
Doolin Hostel
#1 of 16 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blackberry Lodge B&B
Blackberry Lodge B&B
#3 of 16 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nellie Dees
Nellie Dees
#22 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flanagan's Village Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanagan's Village Hostel

Property: Flanagan's Village Hostel
Address: Doolin Clare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Flanagan's Village Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing