We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hostel, friendly and helpful staff”

Flanagan's Village Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flanagan's Village Hostel
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hostel, friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed here last weekend with 2 friends. The hostel is in a brilliant location in Doolin, there's two pubs within a 5 minute walk, and its in a quiet area. The beds are comfy, and the staff are the most accomodating I have ever come across. We had booked a dorm room and a double room, and on arrival he transferred us to a family room . Throughout our stay they were friendly and helpful. on our second night two friends travelled down unexpectedly,a dnthey went out of their way to accomodate them aswell. The owner teaches set dancing and country music to guests and they're full of information about the local pubs. Thanks guys for a great weekend. We will be back and would definitely recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorcha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napoli, Italia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

So, we arrived in the morning and the owner was playing traditional irish music with some guest. He also showed us traditional dancing and gave us some good advices on the walks to the Chliff of Moher.
the rooms are really comfortable and the atmosphere was relaxing and home-like.
we spent there just one night, but we wish we could stay longer.

probably the only problem is that is not so close to the "center" but 2 of the best Doolin's pubs are 5 minutes walking, so not so far.
The place is overall quiet and really safe :)

OUTSTANDING!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleBiCuomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Me and two girlfriends travelled Ireland for a bot over a week. We hadn't.booked anything in advance, which means finding Flanagan's was purely by chance. We came from the Cliffs of Mohar and this was the first hostel with room for us. The area is beautiful, the atmosphere in the village relaxed and quiet but lively. Cows right outside the window, en suites and plenty of room. The doorms are a max of eight I think, but there are also private rooms. The whole hostel is very clean, so is the bedding and the towels. The staff is super friendly and helpful and seriously make you feel right at home. The owner is also lovely, and will take his time and talk to you, give tips or just chat about Ireland and travelling. We were sad to leave, and since we left nothing has topped our experience there. Next time we will stay for longer. Definitely a place to go to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danalein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed at Flanagan's Hostel for the Doolin Folk Festival and spent a total of 5 nights here. The owner of the hostel, Buddy Flanagan, as well as his family, know how to make you feel right at home and provide you with complimentary breakfast and tea/coffee throughout your stay. The common room is very homely and contains a few comfy chairs to stretch out in, around a warm fireplace. I found the facilities to be clean, dormitory rooms spacious and felt secure throughout my stay here. I highly recommend Doolin Folk Festival, there was a wide array of music and many of the bands play more gigs in the surrounding pubs - keep an eye out for this event in June 2014! Buddy is happy to answer any questions you might have about sight seeing and is a great story teller, as well as knowing a lot about traditional Irish music and will even play some for you on request! You are only a 2 minute walk from McGann's Pub and McDermott's Pub and approx 15mins from Doolin's Tourist Info Centre. If you want a hostel that feels like a home away from home, look no further! If I am lucky enough to return to Ireland one day, I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This hostel is brilliant, I stayed here with two friends and the owner Gerard couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. He is really friendly and has extensive local knowledge of the area and of the music sessions in the village. We even had a couple of tunes together! Just after we arrived he was giving Irish dancing lessons in the turf fire heated common room.
Our room was warm, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast of cereal, tea, toast and jam. Also a great location. Highly recommend visiting here.
We will certainly be back to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyG920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

After a mix up with busses, we arrived here a day late and were the only people here (off season). The owner could not do more for us, offering tea, toast, all linen, breakfast and even cabbages from his garden. He is a true local with a big heart. We were in a private room and thoroughly impressed with the value for money and atmosphere. Was also toasty warm on a cold night. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittflinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My friend Elena and I stayed here for one night during our trip in the countryside of West Ireland and we had a great time. Our room was spacious (we opted for a double bedroom with another bunk-bed and had no other people to share it with, so plenty of space) and clean, the bathroom and the kitchen were also very clean. The sitting room was very warm and the day we arrived, Gerard was playing nice Irish music along with some other folks. Breakfast was also very good: cookies, bread and jam, milk with cereals, coffee and tea...

Gerard has been an exquisite host, very generous, warm and helpful. We had an interesting chat with him, where he explained us all of the changes and improvements he's planning to make to the hostel. He can teach you how to play Irish music, how to dance traditional Irish dancing and of course he can tell you everything about what to visit in Ireland.
I definitely recommend to stay at Flanagan's hostel not only because you will have a warm and clean place where to sleep, but also because you will have the chance to taste a bit of real Irish life with the locals. Would definitely stay here again if I went back to Doolin :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.4 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.8 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 16 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Doolin Hostel
Doolin Hostel
#1 of 16 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blackberry Lodge B&B
Blackberry Lodge B&B
#3 of 16 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nellie Dees
Nellie Dees
#22 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flanagan's Village Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanagan's Village Hostel

Property: Flanagan's Village Hostel
Address: Doolin Clare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Flanagan's Village Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing