We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just o.k”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Daly's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Daly's House
Ranked #1 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“just o.k”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Although the owner was nice, the BB was just very, very average. The location was great but Doolin is such a small town that any of the BB will be perfect. But most importantly is how disappointing the breakfast was. Boy, that was rough!!! Sorry.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,142
    53
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
252
642
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Absolutley loved Doolin and particularly loved Daly's. Susan was just a wonderful hostess, capably aided by George! Can't wait to stay here again. I will admit that some other reviews that say the rooms are a little on the small side might be accurate, but we didn't find it to be a problem at all. The bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. I'm 6'5" and my wife is 5'9" and we had plenty of room. You're not there to spend the whole trip in your room right? Otherwise, reviews that find Doolin a little too remote, etc; well no kidding. That's a bit of the point vs. the hustle and bustle of a city. However it's so convenient to the Burren, the Aran Islands, the Cliffs of Moher, etc, etc, etc. I can't imagine complaining about the locale! Doolin is just absolutely picturesque and quaint in the best possible way. Great music and actually VERY good food at O'Connors. Other pubs are walkable (albeit a little bit of a hike). We loved it and can't wait to go back. We'll definitely be back at Daly's when we go!

Room Tip: Group had 3 rooms all great and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mk15057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Wonderful location within walking distance to the local pub. Susan is a funny, kind, and caring hostess. Irish coffee and cookies when we arrived. The room was clean, spacious and well appointed. Susan's itineraries for what to do in the area were great. Breakfast was wonderful. Thank you Susan for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfdiva8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Susan and Paul were the most welcoming hosts possible. Susan is a wealth of information about the area, she recommends must-see sights local to the surrounding areas, and after your daily excursions, she welcomes you back to the house with cookies and Irish coffee, which is just enough to prepare you for an evening of "craic" at Gus O'Conners Pub which is walking distance from the house. If/when I ever get back to Ireland, Daly's is a MUST STOP for me!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murron71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

We were just off a 24 hour transit, jet lagged, our first trip to Ireland and Susan welcomed us like long lost family. Her B & B feels like a place to come home to. Susan is funny, smart, a great hostess and sets a beautiful table, serves breakfast with a flare. Our room looked out on an ancient tower castle. And she has loads of original art through out the house. I not only miss Ireland, but I miss Susan and her B & B. We wanted to do some yoga and she found us a person in the little village of Doolin! Thank you Susan & Paul! Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: We loved the firsta floor, back corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirderSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Susan and Paul treated us like long time friends. Welcoming us with an Irish coffee we were shown to our rooms all with great views. We stayed three nights in comfortable rooms. Susan was a great help in planning our days. She has great contacts and will make arrangements for you. The B&B is close in to town yet sits in a quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcorc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

My wife and I returned to Daly's House again this year. We brought my brother and his wife to experience the best of Ireland. Susan and Paul once again showed us what we love about this place. They couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating. It is like returning to an old friend's home. Our room was available early b/c of our AM flight into Shannon. The bed is very comfortable. The food, prepared to order, is delicious sitting in the sunny breakfast room. Susan makes sure your every need, including booking great day trips are cared for. Daly's House is a very short walk to 3 great pubs featuring Doolin's great Trad music. The beautiful Burren (go on a fun educational, educatiuonal with Shane Connolly) and the Cliffs of Moher (visible from some of the rooms) are very close by. Go visit Susan if you want to experience the best of Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VincentC680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
1.3 mi away
Aran View Country House
3.0 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
0.0 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#15 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daly's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daly's House

Property: Daly's House
Address: Dunmacfelim, Doolin 065, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4 star Bed and Breakfast in Doolin village has panoramic views of the Sea and the Cliffs of Moher. Daly's House is an ideal base for touring the Wild Atlantic Way, the Burren region, Doolin Cave, the Cliffs of Moher and Aran Islands. The ferry services to the Aran Islands and the Cliffs of Moher are a 5 minute drive from our home. We are situated 100 yards from O'Connors Pub, world renowned for traditional Irish music. We are just 1 hours drive from Shannon airport and just over 3 hours drive from Dublin airport. Doolin is an idealic base to tour neighbouring counties Galway, Limerick and Kerry. Your host, Susan ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Daly`s House Hotel Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing