We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous host!”
Review of Daly's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Daly's House
Ranked #1 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous host!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a lovely house with a beautiful garden. The views from front and back weren't too shabby either! Susan welcomed us so warmly; it was like visiting family! After showing us to our room, she joined us in the sitting room for a chat and Bailey's coffee. She was a wealth of knowledge on places to visit in town, as well as how to plan our last day in Ireland. Without her help we wouldn't have found the gem that is the Burren Perfumery. We would absolutely stay at Daly's house again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,156
    53
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
258
650
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We concluded our 25th anniversary trip to Ireland with 3 nights at Daly's House ... and what a great decision that turned out to be! Susan was the consummate hostess from the moment we arrived (Bailey's and cookies!) until our reluctant departure for the Shannon airport (armed with precise driving directions that saw us arriving right on time).

Susan not only provided top-drawer hospitality and offered extremely helpful recommendations on local dining and activities, but she also generously spent time in kind conversations with us, leaving us smiling and laughing in ways that we usually experience only with longtime friends. Susan's sister and cousin (Terry and Susan, I believe) also provided delicious food and warm, friendly service throughout our stay. All in all, a tremendously enjoyable experience that we recommend to anyone, including solo travelers, couples, and families with kids.

Thank you and God bless you, Susan!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe4968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Daly's House was our first stay on our recent trip to Ireland. What a welcome to the Emerald Isle. Susan's love for people and her home are evident. She welcomed us with drinks and chocolates in the garden (I'm not hooked on Irish coffee!). We appreciated the electrical adaptors. Breakfast was delicious. She advised us on local restaurants as well. It's a short walk to Gus O'Connor's. I'm glad my husband didn't need to drive the windy roads after a few Guinness!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily43082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Perfect location. We were able to walk to the pub for a drink, walk to the pier for a boat ride to the cliffs. Wonderful host! Our room had a view of the cliffs in the distance. There was also a beautiful garden on this location.

Room Tip: Some rooms have view of the cliffs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnypoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
228 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The family just spent two days at Daly's House and we just loved it! Susan is a marvelous host and made us feel so welcome. She's a wealth of knowledge on Doolin and the surrounding area that it made for an even more enjoyable experience. We'll definitely be back to see Susan and "George" and pick up spending time with a lovely lady and a lovely house!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jedda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We arrived at Daly House a day late after our flight had been cancelled. Susan was just the boost we needed. She does everything she can to make your stay enjoyable. She can help with any problem as we had trouble trying to lock our car and she called Hertz for us.
The room was perfect with a wonderful view of a castle in the field across the way. Fresh flowers and fluffy towels added special touches.
The sitting room was warm, friendly and inviting to share a cup of tea, a Bailey's or a visit with other guest.
Breakfast was delicious and we were happy with the choices. Love her lemon muffins!
It really felt like a touch of home for a couple of anxious travelers. We can't thank you enough Susan!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank poorlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, OR
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is the most wonderful B & B in all of Ireland. Susan greeted us with a warm hello and a glass of wine. It only got better from there. Every morning we had a beautiful spread of breakfast choices on the buffet, in addition to most anything you would want for a hot breakfast choice. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy. Susan has thought of every amenity you could imagine from blow dryers and curling irons to flashlights and power adapters. The outdoor gardens are inviting with chairs and tables to enjoy the garden and surrounding views. Finally, ANY information, recommendations or reservations you need are supplied within minutes. This was a perfect five night home base to tour all around the Doolin area. Thanks Susan and Paul for everything!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
1.3 mi away
Aran View Country House
3.0 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
0.0 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#14 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daly's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daly's House

Property: Daly's House
Address: Dunmacfelim, Doolin 065, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4 star Bed and Breakfast in Doolin village has panoramic views of the Sea and the Cliffs of Moher. Daly's House is an ideal base for touring the Wild Atlantic Way, the Burren region, Doolin Cave, the Cliffs of Moher and Aran Islands. The ferry services to the Aran Islands and the Cliffs of Moher are a 5 minute drive from our home. We are situated 100 yards from O'Connors Pub, world renowned for traditional Irish music. We are just 1 hours drive from Shannon airport and just over 3 hours drive from Dublin airport. Doolin is an idealic base to tour neighbouring counties Galway, Limerick and Kerry. Your host, Susan ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Daly`s House Hotel Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing