We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”
Review of Daly's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Daly's House
Ranked #1 of 54 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
Reviewed 14 June 2005

We enjoyed our stay at Susan's place very much. My wife and I enjoyed our room and everything was very nice...the shower worked well, the bed was comfortable, and it was quiet. The breakfast was very good and Susan was wonderful to chat with. We stayed at three B & B's on this, our third trip to Ireland, and this was the nicest B & B we stayed at. We also liked the location, close to Gus O'Connor's in Doolin.

I would recommend the Daly House to anyone thinking of staying in Doolin overnight. I hope to get back there again!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnieOshkosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,203
    53
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
267
684
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2005

We loved this place. Susan was the sweetest woman in all of Ireland. This place is right around the corner from one of the popular pubs. The value is unbeatable. We so enjoyed our breakfast in the beautiful sunroom. Very good! Doolin is really cute too!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a_really_red_dress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Ma.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2005

My family and I just returned from a week in Ireland.
One of our stays was at the Daly House in Doolin; Susan
Daly is just wonderful! We were all tired from a long car trip and she went above and beyond to make our too short stay with her quite memorable. The rooms were spacious and quiet.
Bathrooms an A+....Hearty breakfast; she even deviated from thier menu to accomodate the children. The views, everything! We felt very welcome.
The ONLY place to stay in that area!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Vacationgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 May 2005

Having read the reviews of Daly's House, I was looking forward to my visit. We arrived early (around midday) but this wasn't a problem as our room was ready. Susan Daly was very friendly and we quickly felt that we were staying at a friend's house rather than a bed and breakfast. The rooms are comfortable and the location is excellent - just a few minutes walk from Gus O'Connor's pub. The breakfast was also excellent and we especially enjoyed sitting together with the other guests so that we could share our travelling stories. If you are staying in Doolin then I would recommend Daly's House.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2005

Based on the reviews from Trip Advisor (which are usually very accurate), we were very excited about staying at Daly's House. We were a bit disappointed. Our room was small but adequate, could use some updating. But, the house was extremely noisy and we could hear each person enter the house and their conversations. So, we were awaken 2 times as people came in after we went to sleep. The shower did not drain properly so that only one person could shower or else the bathroom would flood. The door lock stuck and we had difficulty getting out of our room because the lock would not open. On the plus side, it is centrally located and not too expensive. We LOVED Doolin. Susan Daly was very friendly and her breakfast was very enjoyable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay because we loved Doolin and the people .... but we expecting a bit more out of the B&B based on the excellent reviews.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RPGinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 May 2005

The Daly House is run by a wonderful woman, Susan, who treats her guests like old, dear friends. The rooms are clean, spacious, and warm, with beautiful views of all that makes Ireland so wonderful. Just a quick 2 minute walk from the famous Gus O'Connor's Pub, of which Susan is the daughter of the now dearly missed owner. The breakfast choices are plentiful and the food is delicious. Susan can also give you some good ideas for a nice walk in this scenic town. So stop in and enjoy a good rest at the Daly House after some good craic at the pubs, and say hi to George the dog for us.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 May 2005

We just returned from a week's vacation in Ireland, a very beautiful country! To get away from the hustle and bustle and stress of our everyday life, it was nice, but we didn't really fully relax until our fourth day in Ireland, when we checked into Daly's House in Doolin, Co. Clare. We were so comfortable here that we stayed there the remaining 3 evenings of our visit to Ireland.

Daly's House is a beautiful bed & breakfast where the owner, Susan Daly, greated us warmly on our arrival. We had a lovely, spacious room, ensuite with an equally lovely and spacious bathroom. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and we immediately felt at home here.

Daly's House is on a hill overlooking Doolin and has a view of the breathtaking Cliffs of Moher. Just a brief walk down the road took us directly to the oceanside or to Gus O'Connors Pub, where we enjoyed a pint, some fish and chips and wonderful traditional Irish music.

We had a wonderful breakfast selection in the mornings and Susan would greet us again and talk with us about what we'd seen and suggest sites we may want to visit. She was very gracious and extremely helpful with directions to everything. We made Daly's House our starting point in the mornings, and the ending point in the afternoons.

My husband and I would highly recommend Daly's House to anyone traveling in Co. Clare, Ireland. We hope to return there again!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
569 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
1.3 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doolin House
Doolin House
#4 of 4 in Doolin
79 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
0.0 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#5 of 54 in Doolin
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daly's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daly's House

Property: Daly's House
Address: Dunmacfelim, Doolin 065, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4 star Bed and Breakfast in Doolin village has panoramic views of the Sea and the Cliffs of Moher. Daly's House is an ideal base for touring the Wild Atlantic Way, the Burren region, Doolin Cave, the Cliffs of Moher and Aran Islands. The ferry services to the Aran Islands and the Cliffs of Moher are a 5 minute drive from our home. We are situated 100 yards from O'Connors Pub, world renowned for traditional Irish music. We are just 1 hours drive from Shannon airport and just over 3 hours drive from Dublin airport. Doolin is an idealic base to tour neighbouring counties Galway, Limerick and Kerry. Your host, Susan ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Daly`s House Hotel Doolin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing