We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Irish Character”
Review of Fisherman's Rest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fisherman's Rest
Ranked #33 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

No reservation needed! We just dropped in front door and got very friendly welcome and help with our luggage to take it to the second floor. We stayed 3 nights, that was our first experience with B&B in Ireland. First night Danny had only standard room for us: very small room with a double bed, there is practically no room around bed and the bathroom is next door on the corridor. We like the view from the standard room, it was to the Clift, breathtaking! For next two nights Danny moved us to the corner larger room with private bathroom. It is very basic: double bed, two small night stands and the clothe's hook but bathroom and room are extremely clean. They are drying sheets and towels outside on the rope, so it smells very fresh,too. The breakfast is very big, traditional Irish and very fresh. The location is fantastic, just behind the O'Connors Pub in the center of Doolin, so you can walk everywhere.
Danny is very funny and cheerful character, he added lots of flavor to our visit but if you believe that jokes like" Do not make bambinos, I will be jealous" or "Next time leave your husband home and I will show you real Ireland" are personal, I would recommend to find other B&B near by.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ena314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Fisherman's Rest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Myself and my husband stayed for one night in Fisherman's Rest....the hosts Mairéad and Danny were very welcoming.....the house was very warm and homely and we got a lovely welcome....it is in a prime location and we had a very pleasant stay albeit too short.....we will definitely be back for a longer stay next time...thank you Mairéad and Danny....looking forward to seeing you again....Ger and Vinny from Dublin :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here our last two nights in Ireland- it is super close to where you want to be- an easy walk to any part of Doolin. The facilities are wonderful- they breakfast was great and Danny and Máireád were SUPER accommodating to our needs both dietary and time wise. In a country of extremely welcoming people these two stand out as even more so. I can only hope that we will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Danny the host, made a great impression on us and he was one of the many highlights of our vacation exploring Ireland. A good room, good breakfast, friendly pup, good location (to nearby pub and just a short drive North from the Cliffs of Moher) and most notably, friendly charasmatic host Danny! Love that guy! Made everyone comfortable and had us all smiling and laughing!
Slainte!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinkmcqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We arrived very late and Danny didn't hesitate to welcome my husband and I in, and once he saw how tall my husband was he immediately switched our room to one with a bigger bed and shower. Then he directed to us where to get something to eat at such a late hour. In the morning we had such a good time laughing with Danny and the other guests. He fed us well and sent us on our way well rested with a souvenir rock from his yard. This was our best B&B experience of our two week tour of Ireland.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be good. Ours overlooked the backyard which was lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AprilSeanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We'll spent only one night in this B&B but we really liked it ! First of all because Danny and Mairmead are extremely welcoming ! Danny talked a lot with us in the evening during the check in and he told us many times to feel home, which was the case :) In the morning we met Mairmead, she was really nice and talkative as well ! What a pity we ran out of time because we had to catch a boat for the Aran Islands.
Then, the place is very nice, simple en suite rooms, very clean and a brightly and lovely dining room ! and very well-located, at 2 minutes of Fisher street and famous pubs !
An excellent place to stay in Doolin !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

View of the cliffs from the bedroom and close enough to O’Conner’s to crawl home. We could walk anywhere in town which was handy. We regret that we didn't take Danny's advice to force ourselves to keep Irish hours and stay up for the bag pipes down the road. We both enjoyed Danny’s stories, colorful language, and inappropriate suggestions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredandMarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.0 mi away
St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#7 of 56 in Doolin
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killilagh House
Killilagh House
#47 of 56 in Doolin
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dunroman House
Dunroman House
#11 of 56 in Doolin
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Lodge, Doolin
The Lodge, Doolin
#30 of 56 in Doolin
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Rest

Address: Fisherman's Rest Fisher Street, Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: £22 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run bed and breakfast in the heart of the village of Doolin. We are within walking distance to the ferries to the Aran islands,and the famous O Connor's pub with traditional music sessions nightly. We are a great base for exploring the burren or the cliffs of Moher and just an hours drive to Shannon airport makes it a good start or end point to your holiday. For 2014; Our prices range from 55-70euro per room(2 people).This includes breakfast and all charges. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing