We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suantrai House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #48 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This B&B is located right in the middle of the main street of the tiny center of Doolin, so the pubs/restaurants and shops are all nearby (walk-able, but we drove because after dark the streets are hardly lit). The rooms were very clean and the innkeeper was very polite and helpful, giving us directions and calling for information for the Aran Island ferries.

Our group was somewhat large, so we kind of took the place over, which was good because noises (opening/closing of doors, etc) tended to travel. They do require that you pay for your room in cash, so come prepared. Great sitting room downstairs with a coffee/tea/biscuit area and wi-fi. Breakfast was wonderful with options.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jedriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed in Sauntrai in April 2013. We were looking for a place that was reasonably priced, and which would serve as a base for exploring the west cost of Clare. Sauntrai ticked both boxes.
The B&B has a great location, right in the centre of Doolin.
We stayed for three nights, and had a very enjoyable experience. The staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. The room was bright and modern, with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. Breakfast was great. We took the ferry to the Aran Islands ("beautiful") We were within easy driving distance of the Cliffs of Moher, Lahinch, Spanish Point and the Burren to the north and Kilkee and Loop Head to the south.
To summarise, this B&B is very comfortable and welcoming, and close to all pubs and restaurants in Doolin.
Pros; Friendly staff, good food, nice location, good value.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed here with my wife while we were doing a surf tour along the West coast in April. It was such a nice spot. Rooms were basic and comfortable, we had travelled a lot that day so by the time we got there I crashed, man did I appreciate the shower when I got up. Really quiet and quaint, exactly what you would imagine a rural house in Ireland would be like.

It was close to the local pubs so we got to check out the local music scene. Cliffs of Moher were awesome (it's windy!), and we got a ferry to the island for a day trip. Such a beautiful area.

Breakfast was great, and we found the staff to be attentive and friendly, and they didn't mind us hauling our boards in from the car (we didn't want to leave them outside).

All in all it was a nice stay and I would definitely consider staying there if I was back in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My family and I stayed here in July, 12 - 3 days. We had a picturesque walk to the pier where we got the ferry to the islands and cliffs. We were within walking distance to the night life and places to eat The room was compact but big enough for 4, very comfortable sitting room. Breakfast was good and plenty. The owner was very helpful with our needs and questions about the area. My family will be in this area again for a family occasion in May, 13 and I have booked this B & B again. I would recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imelda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariu_Spanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsteffens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
642 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glasha Meadows
Glasha Meadows
#8 of 56 in Doolin
288 reviews
1 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Doolin Sunset B&B
Doolin Sunset B&B
#50 of 56 in Doolin
16 reviews
1.6 mi away
O'Learys Lodge B&B
O'Learys Lodge B&B
#10 of 56 in Doolin
74 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dale View
Dale View
#26 of 56 in Doolin
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suantrai House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suantrai House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Suantrai 479 Suantrai R, Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: £75 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Suantrai House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing