We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovley little gem!!”
Review of The Ivy Cottage

The Ivy Cottage
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Doolin
Cuisines: Irish, Soups, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A lovley little gem!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Sat and enjoyed the lovley coffee, fish and chips and lovley buttery scones!!! All homemade!!! Great location in heart of beautiful doolin ... Put it on the list!!! And by the way the service was outstanding!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank declanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    18
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lisdoonvarna, County Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Secret Garden; Authentic Irish Cottage; Varied Fresh Menu; Fabiola's French Pastries; Fresh Fish and Chips YUM !!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My eldest is on the bring of her final exams before leaving to go to University, so my husband and I decided to take her out to lunch as a way of breaking the study monotony. They chose The Ivy Cottage and in years gone by it has been a nice place to eat, but a bit hit and miss. All that was laid to rest today when we had a fabulous lunch, and to be honest the absolute hook for getting us in the door was the news that the French pastry chef - Fabiola - has been providing the restaurant with bread and her amazing dessert creations. But more on that later. It's a bank holiday monday so we were delighted to get a table - we chose inside, but there were tables available outside on the terrace at the front of the cafe or inside the "secret garden" patio which adjoins Doolin's Aille River. The integrity of the cottage has been retained but cleanliness has not been sacrificed. The menu is clearly displayed up behind the servery and I opted for soup (potato and leek), eldest daughter had salmon quiche with 3 salads (mixed leaves, tomato cous cous and 5 bean salad), my husband had just a dessert because he foolishly ate before we left the house ("I was hungry" he wailed). My soup was thick and delicious in a generous serving and the brown soda bread was tasty, shame there was only one small slice. The quiche again could have done with being a larger portion, but the salads were fresh and no shortage of portion there. So onto the desserts - Fabiola moved into the area a few years ago and quickly became famous amongst the "ladies who lunch" for her amazing, daring and precise desserts. So today eldest had a dark chocolate tart with a chocolate biscuit base and a pistacchio quenelle on top, my husband had lime tart with a very shortcrust pastry base and meringue on top whereas I opted for the coconut and banana tart, again with a very shortcrust pastry base and it seemed the filling was coconut frangipane with glazed banana slices on top. Mmmm. We drank table water, Club organge (!) and a diet coca cola (!!) but eldest had a black coffee with her dessert and I had Earl Grey tea with my tart.

There is a charming wooden spoon system where you queue at the counter to order your food and they give you a numbered wooden spoon to bring back to your table which they then use to identiy what food goes to which table.

I haven't tried the fish and chips but eldest advised me she's meeting one of her friends there again this evening and they're ordering the fish and chips to go. Apparently the friend ordered the burger and chips a week or so ago and has been nagging for a return visit because he'd never had a burger and chips that was so tasty (and he's American, so that's saying something!!).

All in all I'd recommend this venue very highly. The background music is traditional Irish music - which is a plus because Doolin is synonymous with traditional (or trad as we call it) music and it's not intrusive and if you like what you hear there are a selection cds which you can purchase.

There's really only a couple of downsides I can think of - the restrooms/bathrooms are up stairs so there's not accessible to the disabled and at the end of the day because of its proximity to the river, the garden becomes a complete hive of activity for midgies (teeny-weeny black biting flies which come out on humid or balmy evenings). But if you stay indoors at that time you should be ok.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Puffbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best scones in Ireland at charming cottage”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Ivy cottage is an authentic Irish cafe. Best scones. Incredible quiche. All enjoyed in inviting outdoor garden by the river. Dont miss it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlmeye01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Find for a Relaxed Lunch”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our first visit to Doolin and as we're not much for tourist towns we didn't have high expectations of anything more than a filling lunch. The Ivy Cottage was a great surprise. Very welcoming staff and a comfortable place to sit. We had the Cream of Chicken soup with brown bread and the Fish and Chips. The soup was nearly a bucketful and very tasty. The Fish and Chips were fresh fish perfectly battered and cooked with hand cut chips. My wife had a cappucino that was great. She's still not speaking to me for dissuading her from having a scone instead of the soup.
Prices were quite reasonable for the quality of the food. Also, they play very good contemporary Irish folk music on the sound system.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Gem !”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very pleasant restaurant / coffee shop / fish and chip specialist

Food very well presented, very high quality and good value.

Weather was bad so the place was a bit quiet which may have impacted on the atmosphere

Would definitely recommend this place if visiting Doolin

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ivy Cottage also viewed

 

Been to The Ivy Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing