We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“briiliant experience”
Review of The Ivy Cottage

The Ivy Cottage
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Doolin
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Set in beautiful surroundings The Ivy Cottage offers indoor or outdoor seating. Famous for our fresh fish and hand cut chips we also offer sweet and savoury snacks and a great range of deserts. We serve freshly ground coffee and have a great range of teas. Join us soon for a best of the best locally caught fish and local produce.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“briiliant experience”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

happened to stop in doolin for some lunch and found the ivy cottage. had a great fish and chips found the place very relaxing could have settled in for the day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mortellclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    23
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Heber, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quaint!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We enjoyed 2 meals at the Ivy Cottage. The outside seating was very comfortable and relaxing. The food was OK.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic (!!)”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited the Ivy Cottage three times over our stay in Doolin and couldn't get enough. The food was fresh and delicious -- DO NOT miss their scones which are ready around 10 in the morning :D
The staff were friendly and the owner, Frank, was in there taking orders, serving tables and chatting with the customers - nice. I remember asking Frank what time they opened the next morning, that I was looking for a place to have coffee. He told me that they opened at 10 but that I could drop by around 8:30 for coffee. And that's what great customer service is about. (Btw, the coffee was also great!)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had our dinner here one night - it was quite busy and it took about 25 minutes for the food to be ready. The fish & chips were excellent, with home made tartar sauce, a huge portion. They have a large selection of pastries available. It appears in the day time there's a different menu. When we were there it was basically 3 items - fish/chips, burger/chips, chicken burger/chips. They do have wine available as well. It's a tiny place and when they are swamped with lots of folks it clearly slows things down, but worth it to be patient.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelfun001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algonquin, IL
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I never write reviews, but I had to for this place. The service was amazing. The owner said if I didn't have enough euro, I can order now and pay later. He also said he could look up the exchange rate and I could pay in dollars if I didn't have enough euro. Here's the guy that makes you believe in humanity again. We ordered soup and fish and chips. The bread was delicious and the fish was great. They make their own tartar sauce. The owner even introduced us to his dogs, and we just met him! We've been in Doolin one day and gave fallen in love with this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarajsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ivy Cottage also viewed

 
Doolin, The Burren
 

Been to The Ivy Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing