We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killilagh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Killilagh House
Ranked #40 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Nice for our first night in Ireland.Hosts were fantastic although the rooms were a little tired and poor wi-fi. Great location to town and nightlife. A great breakfast.Killilagh House was very good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    52
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
53
84
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slatington, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

My daughter and I really enjoyed staying at the Killilagh House in Doolin. I wish we would have been able to stay for a few days. We were greeted with coffee/tea and cake in a cozy common room with warm colors. Brid makes the best breakfasts! The French Toast is to die for. I would have liked to have tried the pancakes because I heard they were equally good! We were walking distance from a couple of pubs that have live music. We will stay there again if we have the opportunity to visit in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Two of us in a spacious room, cozy common room with a warm pellet stove out front, and an excellent breakfast served by hospitable hosts. The main drawback for us was the foul smell in our room, kind of mildew and sewage-like, had to keep the window open all the time. The shower had plenty of hot water, but the stall is tiny, like in a motorhome, unable to turn around without bumping the sides (and we're small people!). Also, be aware that there is no sound insulation - bring your white noise generator or you will hear the hum of every voice, the rattle of every key.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1. It becomes very smelly as soon as you close the window (which will be open when you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kh2u100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Another stay at Killilagh House and as always we were treated with the very best Irish hospitality you could expect. That's why we return trip after trip! Brid instantly makes you feel at home with a very warm welcome and smile. Her husband Michael is very knowledgeable and willing to provide advice and insight. The location is perfect for Doolin - restaurants and pubs all within easy walking distance. Killilagh is also perfectly located as a base to explore the Burren, nearby caves, Cliffs or Moher, or the dozens of other sights to see within a days trip. This is our second review, but we've stayed many more times at Killilagh, and I am pleased to say that Killilagh is exactly what an Irish B&B should be - Home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingmoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Our family of four fitted comfortably in the basic room. Lovely unassuming hosts prepared the sort of breakfast options you'd expect, and were happy to offer directions or leave you to yourself. Ensuite was pretty tired though, and the sheets and towels are the sort that my mother has kept in the back of her linen cupboard since the 1970s for emergencies. Bear in mind the musicians at the pubs don't play until 9:30, so it's tricky for younger kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwith2kidsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Four of us stayed here in de one room excellent location and the owners were very helpful and nice and friendly wud def come again breakfast was great too and was served fast excellent value for money

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spanner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

This was our first B&B on our 25th Wedding Anniversary Trip! The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. There was a full bath with tub and shower in our suite and was quite "roomy". Brid's homemade marmalade and brown bread was wonderful! She made us feel very welcome. Pubs with great food, cold beer and live Irish Music within walking distance of the B&B. The Cliffs of Moher were breathtakingly beautiful! If you get a chance, drive over to Ballyvaughn for the day to eat at the Tea Room and Garden.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.4 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.4 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#13 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 15 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moloney House
Moloney House
#28 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blackberry Lodge B&B
Blackberry Lodge B&B
#3 of 15 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killilagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killilagh House

Property: Killilagh House
Address: Main Street, Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killilagh house is on the main road in the centre of Doolin Village all rooms are on the ground floor are en-suite and have power showers The house is a couple of minutes walk to pubs and restaurants with safe off street parking and an official bus stop right outside our house Free WiFi available 10 mins drive to Cliffs of Moher and the Burren. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Killilagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing