We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&b very close to Moher Cliffs”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emohruo Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Castilla y León
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great B&b very close to Moher Cliffs”
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We were 4 people and Margaret prepared us 2 family room. She was lovely and she was very close with us. I expect to come back to Burren and I will stay in this B&b again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chetepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    31
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
143
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Mrs Carey's B and B gives the visitor to Ireland a true sense of Irish hospitality and humor, a lovely view of the sea on sunny days, and an excellent spot for touring the Burren and coast. Mrs. Carey makes you feel so welcome that you are treated as a visiting member of the family! I have stayed here numerous times by myself, with my husband, and with children; each time I am reminded of why this is the best place to stay in Co. Clare.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BridIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

My wife and I toured Ireland by car for two weeks and spent two nights here with Margaret Carey, our hostess at Emohruo House. The accomodations are simple, not fancy but our room was large, clean and comfortable. There is a pay phone in the foyer which may not seem like a big thing but since our global cell phone wouldn't work anywhere in Ireland it was very convenient to have a phone with which we could use our calling card.

Emohruo House is located about half way between Doolin and the Cliffs of Moher, a very popular and "must see" site in this part of Ireland. Doolin is a great little town with excellent pubs, very good pub food, music every night. There are B&B's directly in Doolin but the small town can be overrun with tourists in the season. It was busy enough in early May. We found Emohruo House a few minutes drive away to be a great location, quiet yet nearby.

The best part of staying here was Margaret, our hostess and the owner. Her family has a long history in this part of Ireland and Margaret is a wealth of information about living in Ireland in the country, the life of an Irish farm family, the traditions of Ireland and so on. She could even provide some books in which her family history figures prominently which made for excellent reading. Much of her family history is archived in the national library in Dublin.

We had only one day in Ireland in two weeks in which the weather prevented us doing what we planned and we spent the better part of that day in Margaret's sitting room with a warm peat fire, tea and scones, good reading and conversation with Margaret while the wind howled and sheets of rain blew across the fields outside. It is one of our fondest memories of Ireland. By the way, Margaret makes great scones, get to breakfast early and get'em while their hot.

I highly recommend Emohruo house if traveling near Doolin.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AandE-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2009

My husband and I spent two nights at Emohruo last summer. I wish we had stayed longer - this was my favorite bed and breakfast. Margaret is simply a fantastic host - very warm and friendly. Breakfast was excellent. Don't miss St. Brigid's well in Liscannor (very close to the b&b). Margaret, thank you for telling us about the well - it was an amazing experience!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trottola70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2008

Yes it is out in the middle of nowhere, but it is well worth the drive. The two pubs are down the road. The landscape is rolling pastures with stone fences and the pub we went to makes you think that you are there in the 1800's. We (6 of us) had the house to ourselves, which I don't understand why. She was nice enough to give us the extra rooms, at no extra cost, so that we could spread out more. It was our last night in Ireland and we sat up and talked to her. She asked what was the first thing that we were going to do when we hit the States, and we told her that ordering ice tea. She never heard of it before and asked us how it was made. Five minutes later she came back in the sitting room with a pitcher of ice tea. When we got back she emailed me several times and told me of how she enjoy us staying there and that she was still making ice tea as a treat for her in the summer.

  • Liked — Friendly people
  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lksmith33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

This was a very nice B&B, clean and comfortable. The owner, Mrs. Carey is a lovely, lovely lady and made us feel very welcome. A fantastic experience!

  • Liked — The host! Mrs. Carey.
  • Disliked — Nothing. Everything was great!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WindyAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2008

My wife and I have spent our honeymoon in Ireland in September 2008, and we stayed at Emohruo for a week. From the moment of our arrival until our departure, we felt like home there. Mrs. Carey is a wonderful, warm-hearted person who treated us with much hospitality and kindness. She was always there for us when we had questions or needed counsel. She and her family have welcomed us with open arms, and we shall always treasure their friendship in our hearts.

The B&B itself is lovely. We had a very cosy double room with lots of blankets and plaids – one simply cannot get cold at Emohruo! The dining room is spacious, nicely decorated, and filled with deliciously-smelling goodies at breakfast time. The food is tasty and plentiful, and there’s something in store for everyone, whether you prefer cereals and fruits, a traditional Irish breakfast, or just toast and cheese. Mrs. Carey’s homemade scones, served with freshly brewed black tea and jam are a rare treat, and you’ll find yourself asking for more! ;)

All in all, staying at Emohruo was an amazing experience, and we have many wonderful memories from our time there. We enjoyed Ireland very much, and we are planning to go there again someday, and you can be sure that visiting Mrs. Carey and Emohruo will be high on our list!

A heartfelt “Thank you!” to Mrs. Carey and all her family for the wonderful times and everything they have done for us. We miss them all very much!

Nicole and Sabina

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nerhegeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
4.5 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
2.9 mi away
Aran View Country House
1.7 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emohruo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emohruo Bed and Breakfast

Property: Emohruo Bed and Breakfast
Address: Cliffs of Moher Rd R478 | Doolin Co.Clare., Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing