We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite stay during our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashbrook Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Ashbrook! Olwyn was such a wonderful host and the rooms are beautiful and VERY spacious. To top it all off, we were traveling with our 4 month old daughter and Olwyn provided us with toys and a play mat for her, as well as a high chair at breakfast. Our room was not close to any other guest rooms which was also great as we didn't have to worry about bothering anyone else while up in the night with our daughter.
This is also a great location for visiting the Aran Islands and the Cliffs of Moher.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Ashbrook Lodge Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We recently had a two week vacation in Ireland and stayed at 8 different BandBs. Ashbrook Lodge was our favorite.The house and furnishings were beautiful. Our hostess Olwyn was a great cook and both breakfasts were delicious.She had good suggestions for touring routes and places to eat. We really enjoyed touring The Burren and The Aran Islands, Doolin was great and we enjoyed the music at a few bars. If we return to County Clare in the future,which we would love doing,we would surly stay at this lovely Band B. Tom and Eileen Cataldi

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 546TomC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We recently took a short trip around Ireland, staying in B&Bs as we went. Ashbrook Lodge was our first stop, where we were greeted warmly by Olwyn and shown to a beautiful room that looked out over the rolling land down to the sea in Doolin. The location is less than 5 minutes drive to the town of Doolin, where you can visit picturesque shops and listen to traditional Irish music in the pubs. The B&B was spotless, the bed was comfortable and the room quiet. Our hostess, Olwyn, was extremely helpful and glad to provide recommendations for places to eat, sights to see, etc. Breakfast was served in a lovely room on the ground floor, nicely appointed with a sun room/reading room off to the side. In addition to a full Irish breakfast, she offered a variety of fruits, yogurt, cereals, home made breads, compote, juice, coffee and tea. The meal was beautifully presented and made to order. In addition to the town of Doolin, the location of Ashbrook is perfect for trips to the Cliffs of Moher and the Burren. Of the 5 B&B's we stayed in (all of which were lovely), have to say that Ashbrook was our favorite and we would love to stay here again next time we are in Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ashbrook Lodge for one night in September. Before arriving, we called to let Olwyn know that we would be arriving late. She was interested in following up with us once we determined which ferry we would be on and was concerned that she might not be there when we arrived to personally greet us. Upon arrival, her husband Des greeted us, recommended some restaurants and showed us our room. Our room was large and beautifully decorated. The room was very new looking with several skylights and a nice view of the ocean, and was sparkling clean. We waited for a few minutes before leaving for dinner, as Des said that Olwyn wanted to meet us and would be home soon. We met Olwyn and Des' children first - they were very charming and polite and let Olwyn know that we were waiting to met her. She provided some information about breakfast, asked about our plans for the next day and suggested some restaurants. We ended up going to Fitz's based on her and Des' suggestion and really enjoyed it! We got a great night sleep and enjoyed a delicious breakfast the next morning. I typically do not enjoy eating heavy breakfast foods, so I was pleased to see that Olwyn offered a bagel with cream cheese on her menu! A simple offering, but was much appreciated! We had mentioned the night before that we planned to go to the Aran Islands, and Olwyn offered to call to check if the ferry would be sailing that day.

Overall, my husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Ashbrook Lodge. We decided that this was probably our favorite place that we stayed during our trip. Olwyn and Des have provided great accommodations and really have went above and beyond with providing attention to small details, as well as excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princesspepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We originally booked 2 nights at a nearby B&B, but due to a booking mix up, our reservation didn't go through. The owner of that B&B called over to Ashbrook Lodge, where Olwyn really saved us the headache of trying to find new lodging by taking us in for both nights.
The rooms were spacious and tidy with a great view of the countryside and the water. There was also a kettle and some teas to choose from. About a 15 minute walk into Doolin where you can find some lively pubs and shops. Breakfast was great--you have a few different hot options (mmm, delicious bacon and french toast) and a selection of cereals, granola, yogurt, fruit, and juice. Olwyn gave us advice on what to see nearby and provided us with a map that she highlighted the best route on and the best places to stop within the area as well as places we should see on our drive to Cork.
We really enjoyed our stay and Olwyn's travel advice. Definitely would recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadamChaussure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We loved our short stay in Doolin and at this this beautiful B and B. The owner was extremely nice and very helpful in directing us to the best way to see the Burren and other sites along the route. The bedroom was spacious, as was the bathroom. The breakfast was delicious. It was one of our favorite places to stay in Ireland and I would highly recommend it! Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mickeym0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Booked as a stop-off on the way to the Aran Islands, this stay was a real pleasure. On arrival with kids in tow, we were offered a range of DVDs and made feel so welcome. Just like home from home. Our needs were met and more. The room was extremely clean and comfortable and the ensuite spotless. My children were delighted and actually wanted to stay longer. We were given a fantastic breakfast and the children were delighted with the attention they were given. I noticed that this kind hospitality was not restricted to just family visitors - Olwyn provides beautiful accommodation, impeccable breakfast as well as useful information on local attractions and route guides. As well as this, the rooms provide a view of the ocean and the Aran Islands - beautiful. Perfect start to our holiday.

Room Tip: The dormer room is gorgeous and the windows are equipped with blinds.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge, Doolin
The Lodge, Doolin
#29 of 56 in Doolin
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dunroman House
Dunroman House
#11 of 56 in Doolin
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Suantrai House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbrook Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbrook Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Boherbue, Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: £62 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing