We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
Ranked #6 of 53 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great place to stay in Ireland”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I spent 9 nights all around Ireland and Roadford House was the BEST place for a two night stay and amazing food. The hostess and staff were all great and very accommodating. Their greeter, Beanz, the Irish setter dog is a nice touch. Made us smile numerous times.
Highly recommend this B & B, feels like home.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    29
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
107
236
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This is a very special place to stay and to eat. Stayed there for two night and had a family meal in the restaurant on Saturday night. Both the accommodation and the food are excellent. Would recommend staying there, it is a very special place. Also do visit McDermot's pub, just down the road. Great music and crack.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Roadford is perfect. Located in Doolin, you can see the Doolin Caves, The Cliffs of Moher, go hiking, see a castle, see the natural livestock etc... the list goes on!....

The family run B&B is an absolute delight. The rooms are quaint, and have a country feel. Nice amenities and the restaurant is excellent. The hosts along with their Irish setter provide a warm welcome.

The morning breakfast is diverse and offers dishes to order that you may not find elsewhere along with a buffet if you prefer self service. The dinner menu is original and makes you want to try everything! The husband in the team we believe is a true, professionally trained chef, or at least someone is back there! True imagination,originality and a love of cooking goes into the dishes.

It's simple, just stay here, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: rooms facing the town obviously offer a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We knew from TA reviews that Roadford House was highly regarded by past guests so decided to book for two nights during our visit to Ireland. Absolutely the right decision. Spotlessly clean B&B run by super friendly hosts. Our room was simply but perfectly adequately furnished and provided an extremely comfortable nights's sleep.

Do not miss the chance to dine at the Roadford House Restaurant. The standard of cuisine is simply excellent and far, far above what the term "B&B" brings to mind. If better tasting lamb can be found anywhere I'd be surprised. Excellent variety of wines available at reasonable prices. The first class food produced by owner Frank in the kitchen was further illustrated by the scrumptious breakfast fare. Perfect way to prepare for the often brisk Doolin weather!

The location is perfect, being a short stroll from what I think is the best pub in Doolin (McDermotts) and with short driving distance of the cliffs of Moher, The Burren and other local attractions. The house comes equipped with a super-friendly Irish setter -Mr Beans- who seems to want to make friends with all who stay.

Finally I can't praise Marian ( one half of the husband and wife team who own and operate Roadford House) highly enough. Nothing is too much trouble. A wealth of local information. Not only that but she was good enough to arrange for much-needed medicine that we had left behind at Roadford House to be sent by courier to our Hotel in Dublin (at her own expense!-we owe you for that one Marian) thereby saving us the long drive back to Clare to pick it up.

Summing up, why would you stay anywhere else in Doolin if you could stay at the Roadford House?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azeuro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is the most comfortable, relaxing place we have ever stayed in. It is located on a mesa about a mile from the ocean. The bathroom had a skylight which when open, allows a cross breeze. You can lie in the perfectly comfortable bed and listen to the sound of the wind and the birds. So peaceful.

The furnishings are not lavish but they are tasteful and very, very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious.

The place is within crawling distance of two pubs that have music each night (starts late so proximity is good) and walking distance of another. You will not want for good music or delicious things to eat and drink.

Marian, the owner, is so gracious. Mr. Beans is a red Irish setter who is the official welcome committee. He does an excellent job too.

I wish we could have stayed forever....

Room Tip: Cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paniolokine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Marian our host was really welcoming. We had dinner the first night in the restaurant which was top class. Breakfast both mornings was amazing. Marian was kind enough to book our ferry for us to Aran Islands. The place is very close to two great pubs that have very good traditional irish music every night. Highly recommend this place and definitely book into the restaurant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnzer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottsville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I am thanking our lucky stars and the guardian angels that brought us to The Roadford House in Doolin, Co. Clare. We planned a long weekend that turned in to a week and managed to find a place that had that many days free~ The Roadford House. The accomodations were clean, modern and very comfortable. Our breakfasts were gourmet treats every day with a lovely menu from which to choose and standbys like yogurt, cereals, lemon stewed prunes, ginger stewed rhubarb, home made scones and excellent brown bread, juices, coffee, and tea....a breakfast to look forward to!

Set on a side street with a view of the Cliffs of Moher from the front windows, The Roadford House also features a first class dinner restaurant where Chef/owner Frank Sheedy creates beautiful meals artfully presented, and outrageously delicious. From starter to dessert, the meals we ate there were just stellar. With lovely Marion Sheedy in the front of the house the Roadford House became our home, and we couldn't have felt more welcome. Marion greeted us with a smile every morning and the offer to help us make the most of every day. She was as gracious a host as we could ever ask for and our enjoyment of Doolin was truly enhanced with her assistance.

Room Tip: The apartment is perfect for a small family or 2 couples and the front rooms have a view of the Clif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
1.0 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 53 in Doolin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cullinan's Guesthouse
Cullinan's Guesthouse
#5 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation

Property: Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation
Address: Roadford | Doolin, Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with modern clean lines - some with views over the village and towards Cliffs of Moher. Gourmet Restaurant serving modern Irish cuisine. 2 minutes walk from local pubs where traditional music is played nightly. 10 mins from Doolin ferries and 15 mins from the Cliffs of Moher tourist centre. Shops within walking distance. Hi Speed internet connection. Ample free parking. Self catering also available minimum of three nights stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roadford House Restaurant & Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing