We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a nature wonder”
Review of Doolin Cave

Doolin Cave
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A Stunning Underworld Experience, the Great Stalactite at Doolin Cave is one of Europe's most compelling cave attractions. It is a truly unique and breathtaking experience:- the largest stalactite in the Norhern Hemisphere. Doolin Cave has a Farmland Nature Trail, which is FREE for its visitors.We have unusual breeds of chickens, sheep, cattle and alovely pygmy goat called Minnie, with her little kid called Vincent Van Goat or Vinnie for short.We have also planted lots of native trees and shrubs and wildflower meadows. Our cafe serves lovely fresh salads, soups, breads and homemade cakes We are very proud to announce that we have recently been awarded a Gold Award from Ecotourism Ireland. Hurray!
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Its a nature wonder”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Its a must while in Doolin,Great History and our tour guide was wonderful,be prepared to climb lots of steps but all fun and quite interesting .Dress warmly its kind of cold down there.Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanzu500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    234
    45
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Really interesting history and great tour guide. To see such a rare site as the stalactite was incredible. It is cool and damp all the time so make sure you dress accordingly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great visit for everyone in the family”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Loved the cave and the staff. The claim to fame is The Great Stalactite and it lives up to it's name. You have to see it to appreciate it!

No elevator so be ready to do some stairs! :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TeomnerZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unbelievable surprise”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

On our drive holiday in Ireland we came across Doolin Cave. Jim was our guide who was great at telling stories, explaining the geology and history and responding to questions. This was one of the best attractions we attended during our time in Ireland. getting to see a 500 million year old stalactite was truly memorable. there are lots of steps up and down but you are not rushed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IandD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good tour”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Very good tour guide. Wonders of nature shown in an interesting way. Good walk in the cave. Wear good shoes. Recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakub K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHBrowne, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to Doolin Cave. We are delighted that you enjoyed the tour and the wonder of the Great Stalactite. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Doolin Cave in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doolin Cave also viewed

Liscannor, County Clare
 
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Been to Doolin Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing