We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Doolin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Doolin
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awful hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel on October 20th and it was a nightmare experience! We booked our room around two months in advance. We were getting in after midnight so we called the hotel a few weeks in advance to make sure checking in at that time wouldn't be a problem. We were assured that someone would be there. After a late flight from London to Shannon we made the hour long drive and walked in to a nice looking reception area that was dark with no one manning the desk. After searching for 20 minutes Mark finally showed up and checked us in. We walked to room 107, opened the door and were almost knocked over by the smell of smoke from our non smoking room. It was horrible. I am allergic to the smell of smoke and my husband has asthma so it was not going to work. The carpets were not vaccines and had disgusting stains on them as well. There were also stains on the walls and drapes. We went and searched for Mark again and after 15 minutes we finally located him. Mark told us there were no other rooms available. I asked him to call their sister hotel to see if rooms were available which he did but a 30 minute drive at 1:00 am was not possible for us so we stayed in our little hell hole of a room. I got almost no sleep due to the awful smell of smoke and the bed was horribly hard and uncomfortable. We got up early to avoid any more time in that awful room. I chose this hotel after researching on trip advisor. Maybe other rooms are better, but ours was like a bad motel 6 and a horrible disappointment. I felt disgusting staying there. I am writing this review to save others from a similar experience. Warning... Stay elsewhere!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Juaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    145
    33
    17
    9
See reviews for
126
235
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CORK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I couldn't fault this hotel. we arrived on a Friday afternoon to be greeted with a free cocktail, fresh buns in our room and a voucher for a free local ale in the bar. The hotel was fresh, modern but with a comfortable atmosphere and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. You can walk through the hotel to a gift shop, tourist office, restaurant and bar. There is a lovely small garden /court yard to the back. Also a large marque which I assume is used for weddings. We ate in the bar that night the selection was mainly seafood which was so fresh. The menu also recommended a beer or wine with each meal which I thought was a nice touch. Although it was the start of October the bar was full, plenty of atmosphere and of course the traditional music. The following morning we had the most wonderful breakfast. I had smoked salmon which would melt in your mouth and a poached egg on a muffin. I also had yogurt with fruit salad. We would have booked for two nights but it was fully booked for the Saturday night. On booking out we were given a voucher against our next stay and homemade brown bread. This is a small hotel, has no leisure centre and I don't know about facilities for children but I would recommend it for all the other groups. I haven't come across such attention to detail in any other hotel I have stayed and definitely look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you require a bath do specify it when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiseradvisorcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal M, General Manager at Hotel Doolin, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear wiseradvisorcork

Thank you for you recent review and recommendation of Hotel Doolin. I will make sure to tell that staff that you found them extremely friendly and helpful. Our chefs will also be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your fresh fish in Fitz's Bar and breakfast the next day. We grow a lot of our own herbs and veg and all other ingredients are sourced from local artisan food suppliers!

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally when returning to Hotel Doolin dminihane@hoteldoolin.ie

Slan go Foill
Donal Minihane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
127 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at the Doolin and our first impression walking in the front door, was 'Wow!' we had been on the road most of the day and were tired and hungry. Checkin wax speedy and our room clean and relaxing. Breakfast was served in a restaurant down the hall, a hall connected the Doolin to a 'pantry', this eating area', a tourist information office and finally Fitzsimmons pub. Given Ireland's weather, this layout was a godsend. I only rated the location very good as Doolin is quite small. Otherwise the hotel was a gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trolleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal M, General Manager at Hotel Doolin, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Trolleyman

Thank you for your review on our property. It is nice to read that you found your room clean and relaxing and overall found the hotel to be 'A Gem'.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if returning to Hotel Doolin dminihane@hoteldoolin.ie

Slan go Foill
Donal Minihane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamuela, Hawaii
Level Contributor
371 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My family of four stayed here one night in September. We were greeted well and given two cupcakes upon check in. Our room was fine. We had to ask for two more towels as there were only two in the room and four of us. We had to ask for more soap as the soap dispenser in the shower was empty. They brought the towels and soap up immediately. The room was clean but the carpeting was stained in several places. The location was excellent and the breakfast was average. There is a nice 15 minute walk to town which has some good shopping. My wife bought three sweaters at the large store as they had a very selection and good prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Visited Doolin with our 22 year old son and wanted to visit all the pubs for the seisiuns and the Hotel Doolin was halfway between O'Connors and McDermotts with the others in between. We were greeted with a complimentary cocktail and given two coupons each for free drinks in the bar. We did manage to get to all the pubs during our two nights there but enjoyed the music at the Hotel pub, Fitzgeralds' the most. Some hotel guests were from Bretagne and they danced all night. Two great lady fiddlers and a guitar player had everyone dancing. The food at the hotel restaurant was delicious, love those garlic crab claws.
Our rooms were very modern and comfortable. The hotel has a hip, cool boutique quality that my son appreciated. Really great breakfast before we boarded our ferry to the Aran Islands. Delicious Burren smoked salmon that I am craving. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyAga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal M, General Manager at Hotel Doolin, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear LadyAga

Thank you for your recent review on Hotel Doolin. I am delighted that you enjoyed the music in Fitz's Pub and that you enjoyed your meal in our Chervil Restaurant and your Burren Smoked Salmon breakfast in the morning. All of our ingredients are sourced locally so we can guarantee fresh, delicious food!

Please do not hesitate to contact me if returning to Doolin dminihane@hoteldoolin.ie

Slan go Foill
Donal Minihane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

A couple of us stayed at Hotel Doolin last weekend and had a lovely time from start to finish - would highly recommend. The hotel were a pleasure to deal with over the phone/email in advance of our trip, and the warm welcome we received, complete with complementary cupcakes and being escorted to our room by the receptionist, was delightful. The room was lovely with nice local Irish Voya toiletries products which was lovely to see. A group of my pals were staying in sister Tír gan Éan House Hotel next store and we all ate in the Hotel Doolin restaurant. Starter, main course & desert were all delicious - nearly all 16 of us remarked on it. Service was also excellent. Breakfast the following morning was also delicious. The scenery around Doolin is beautiful and we'll definitely be coming back - thanks Hotel Doolin and Tír gan Éan House Hotel for a great time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachBliss7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal M, General Manager at Hotel Doolin, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear BeachCliss7

Thank you for your review on our property and for your recommendation. I am pleased that you received a warm welcome on your arrival at Hotel Doolin and enjoyed a delicious meal with your friends in our Chervil Restaurant.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if returning to the area dminihane@hoteldoolin.ie

Slan go Foill
Donal Minihane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Interesting strip mall with pub and one end and hotel at other end with travel agency, dining room and deli in between. Microbrew celebration in courtyard that was going until midnite with electric music and renovation going on that gave the hallways a toxic smell that mixed poorly with the chlorine odors emanating from the service laundry on first floor. Poorly staffed, but pub had great irish music with mediocre food, though locally sourced according to menu. Never did see the real Doolin leaving in the rain in AM did not wish to drive the 2 km into town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balaramjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doolin
0.2 mi away
Aran View Country House
2.8 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
5.2 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doolin Hostel
Doolin Hostel
#1 of 15 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#13 of 53 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Doolin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doolin

Property: Hotel Doolin
Address: Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Doolin 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Doolin is located in the heart of Doolin, traditional Irish Music and Cultural capital of Ireland. Set amidst the backdrop of the Cliffs of Moher, Clare's famous high cliffs and on the fringes of the Burren National park which is known worldwide for its unique flora and fauna, our central location allows you to explore a beautiful part of the world. Come to Hotel Doolin, where a traditional warm Irish friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Doolin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing