We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doonagore Farmhouse
Ranked #25 of 54 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boone, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This was by far our favorite B&B. We spent 3 wonderful nights here. The room was spacious,and comfortable.Very clean! Mary & Patrick Sweeney were so gracious. Mary prepared the most
delicious traditional Irish Breakfast each morning and we enjoyed talking with Patrick about his Cliff Walking tours. We relaxed one evening in their comfortable living room.I spent one afternoon reading in their sun porch and let the world pass me by. Mary served tea and fresh banana bread ! We were minutes from Doolin & The Cliffs of Moher. The only negative was that we had to leave. :(

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    24
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
68
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This was the best B&B we stayed at in Ireland! Mary Sweeney's made to order Irish breakfast was delicious with eggs, bacon, breads, cereals, yogurt and tea/coffee. The room was beautiful and clean. The beds were extremely comfortable. Minutes from the Cliffs of Moher and you can see the ocean from the farm! You will feel well rested after a delightful stay at the Doonagore Farmhouse!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadephaeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 for one night and found Doonagore farm house to be very clean,comfortable and good value. We paid 32 Euros for the night per person which included a cooked breakfast. Mary, the hostess is very relaxed and friendly and we enjoyed the farm animals. The internet connection was a bit off and on but cant complain as its free. Its probably about a 5-10 minute drive into Doolin,too far to walk without a car,and all the pubs are good according to Mary. I believe a couple of the rooms would have views out to the ocean,and the rest face out to the fields and road, not a bad view but I think looking away from the road would be nicer.Other reviewers have commented about how noisy and lively Doolin village is but we found it fairly quiet on a week night. Maybe it's only the weekends when its like this?

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliedoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matamoras, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We just returned from our trip to Ireland. We stayed here the last four days of our vacation. The Sweeney Family, proprietors of the Farmhouse, were so welcoming and were an excellent example of true Irish hospitality ! Mary created a very relaxing atmosphere through the decor, breakfast (delicious !!) and her calm response to any question or concern we expressed about our travels. Our bedroom was neat, clean and very spacious !!! Pat treated us to a trail walk along the coast which meandered through his and 37 other farmers' property. (Ask Pat how he advocated for and built this trail!!) The views were breathtaking and the secret treasures we discovered through Pat's guidance were thrilling !! Mary and Pat's sons have a great sense of humor and were very friendly. The farm animals (donkeys, cows, dog and cat) were delightful to watch and just as friendly !!! And extra bonus was the chance to observe "Dusty" the dolphin who greets the ferries and swims with surfers by the pier in Doolin !! Staying at Doonagore was an unforgettable experience and a wonderful ending to our 10 day stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Mary and Pat's home was so warm and welcoming, and Mary and Pat were so nice and helpful. Upon our arrival, Mary went out of her way to book a boat cruise for us to see the Cliffs of Moher, which was an awesome way to view the Cliffs. The rooms were spacious and clean, and Mary is an excellent cook. Doonagore Farmhouse is practically sitting on the Cliffs of Moher. Wish we could have taken Pat's Cliff Walk, maybe the next time we visit! The view from the room was spectacular, overlooking the coast, with the most amazing sunset I have ever seen. Anyone who stays here will be charmed by this family, and will hate to leave their wonderful home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Keep coming back for more. . . Have stayed here for the Russell Weekend, at the end of February, for well over a decade, enjoying concerts and set dancing, and great music in the pubs. Have seen Mary's B&B develop and the Sweeney family blossom. Now, along with a 5 star bed and breakfast, with clean, comfortable beds; genial hosts/family; and beautiful surroundings, is the added feature of Pat Sweeney's guided cliff walk from Doolin. On a recent visit at the end of April to the beginning of May 2012 the stunning walk was featured with stories of past events along the Cliffs from Doolin toward the Cliffs of Moher. The mighty Cliffs were viewed, as well, from the sea, on the "Jack B" cruising from the Doolin pier, accompanied by Dusty the Dolphin, over to "The Stack" off the Cliffs of Moher for photo opportunities. Then down under we went--80 meters--to observe the billion year old staligtite at Doolin Cave. Up the street, in Kilfenora, a trad music festival, with singing and dancing at Vaughan's, etc. -- and in the square a free for all with the Kilfenora Ceil Band. The charm of the various flowers poking through the rocky Burren was dazzling. --Now with Shannon Airport going private it is hoped that more opportunities can be had to fly direct in to Shannon and not have to dig out of of some distant city to be able to enjoy the comforts and convenience of County Clare. Thank you Sweeneys for always being there to make each trip home, better than the one before.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMFRNJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Absolutely charming! This was one of the greatest experiences of any B&B I’ve ever stayed it. I was here with my mother on vacation here, and just had the most wonderful time. Mary is the most delightful person, so wonderfully charming and accommodating. Her sons were a delight to spend time with, and her adorable mother Mary Senior, as she was called, simply precious. This is as real as it gets for the experience of a typical Irish family, their house out in the country, gorgeous surroundings.. and Doolin was not too far of a drive at all the next day. Our room was terrific. Mary made us a lovely traditional Irish breakfast, black pudding (blood pudding) and all. It was all terrific! Such a wonderfully sweet family, and I can’t glow enough about them and their lovely home. It was a privilege to be their guest for the night, and would return there without hesitation. I left a bit misty eyed to be entirely truthful, I felt I had become part of the family and quite simply didn't want to leave. A gloriously wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idreamofeuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.9 mi away
Trildoon House Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Cahermaclanchy House B&B
1.0 mi away
St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Limestone Lodge
Limestone Lodge
#31 of 54 in Doolin
36 reviews
2.7 mi away
Glasha Meadows
Glasha Meadows
#9 of 54 in Doolin
244 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dubhlinn House
Dubhlinn House
#43 of 54 in Doolin
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doonagore Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doonagore Farmhouse

Property: Doonagore Farmhouse
Address: Cliffs of Moher Road | Doonagore, Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Doonagore Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Doonagore Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing