We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doonagore Farmhouse
Ranked #25 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Lovely farmhouse located in Doolin not far from the Cliffs of Moher or the Burren. Cozy beds and a delicious Irish breakfast. The sweet family dog called Daisy will greet you as you come up the drive.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kelcey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

The farmhouse is around 30 mins walk or 3 mins drive from the Cliffs. Its easy to find despite having a non-descript address and the hosts are very pleasant and warm. Its a pity the accommodation itself is anything but warm. The radiators are on but no-heat comes out of them. There are also no thermostats in the room and i suspect the hosts are aware of it as they themselves are covered in layers of clothing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARTIST222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. It's a short drive into town, where there are several excellent pubs with great music. Also close to the Cliffs of Moher, and a good jumping off point for the Aran Islands (although we took a boat from the other side of the water). Lots of beautiful scenery, the Burren, a sheep dog demo at Coherconnell. The B&B itself was quite nice, as was the hostess.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBartholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We turned up fairly late on a wet afternoon and after a slight misunderstanding about availability (we were met by the owner's Mother who lives in the same building - the owners being unavoidably delayed in another town) we said we'd stay, left our packs upstairs and went into the village for dinner. On our return we went to our room, assuming that we would meet our hosts the following morning. As it turned out we heard them, at a considerable volume, later that night. Our room was situated directly above what I imagine must be their kitchen/living area, and while I understand that this is their home first and foremost, they could perhaps give some thought and be more aware of the disturbance caused to their paying guests. I have to say the noise wasn't anything like amplified music, simply a family talking over the day's events but it was very loud and was clear enough for us to hear every word of the conversation.
It was a bit surprising to find that there was no tea or coffee making option in the room. In fairness, the owner told us the following day that they had stopped providing an in room option due to damage and that tea and coffee would normally be provided downstairs on arrival. Since they weren't on the premises when we arrived they obviously couldn't do anything about that omission. Apparently tea and coffee making facilities are available downstairs (although this wasn't mentioned when we arrived) but I still prefer the in room option, particularly when a trip downstairs in the middle of the night would have involved steep stairs and little lighting) Be that as it may, that's the choice the owners have made. There was no soap or shower gel in the bathroom which was again a little surprising. Fortunately we travel prepared for most eventualities but it could be a problem for others. There were other guests that night and while they didn't disturb us I just hope that our snores weren't too audible through the very thin walls. The view of the coast line from the bedroom window was very lovely and we enjoyed meeting the owner's very enthusiastic Border Collie and the donkey. Was it ok? yes, in a slightly impersonal fashion, but it left us with the impression that we were slightly in the way (and yes, I'm aware that this is a working farm with busy owners) so on balance, I don't think it would be a must-stay for us on any subsequent trip. Having said that, it's clear from other comments on this site that there are many who've stayed and enjoyed themselves greatly. That's the nature of travel and one of the benefits of a site like this one is that you get to read both sides of the story and then make up your own mind. My husband enjoyed his chat with Mr Sweeney and was interested to hear how he has set up a walking tour to help promote the region. Apart from the view, the best part of our stay would have to have been the local and exceptionally tasty sausages served up at breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOHADIVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

What a wonderful welcome we received from Mary. And this was the best Irish breakfast I had while in Ireland.

Mary also gave us great advice to go see the cliffs when we got there, while there was still light and a clear day. We were bone tired, but if we had waited until the morning like we were considering, we would have seen only fog. So really, she made our day and our stay there.

Doonagore is all of 5 or 10 minutes from the cliffs, and about that far from Doolin, which has great food and music. So you couldn't ask for a better location. I wish we had time to wander around the farm, but time was short.

The room was large and clean and the bed was comfortable. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eneely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Sweeney's are our Ireland angels. They are very knowledgeable about the area and where the best offerings are shopping, food etc. They have an individual concern and helpfulness for each of their guests. One morning Mary spent close to an hour helping a young couple find other lodgings as they traveled through!. Breakfasts are made to order and perfectly cooked. We will be forever grateful for the care and understanding that the Sweeney's have given our family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniefinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Doonagore is close to the Cliffs, and close to the town of Doolin. Hostess Mary gave excellent advice on places to eat and shop. Despite there being family in the house, we never felt out of place or in the way. Mary is friendly, and the animals are very sweet. A nice touch. Would likely stay there again.

Room Tip: There was a major sporting event involving the local team. It was fun being among the fans, but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
1.5 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#11 of 56 in Doolin
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trildoon House Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Moloney House
Moloney House
#24 of 56 in Doolin
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Riverdale Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
468 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Anthony's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doonagore Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doonagore Farmhouse

Address: Cliffs of Moher Road | Doonagore, Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Price Range: £104 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doonagore Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Doonagore Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing