We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star stay the BEST CAMPSITE IN IRELAND”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nagle's Doolin Camping & Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My family and I are just back from a stay in Nagles, our 2nd stay here, so far. Fantastic campsite where you can pitch where you like, great scenery looking over at the cliffs of Moher. Facilities on site, a shop with everything in it from food to airbeds to gass, whipped ice cream. On bank holiday monday morning the owner Cyril arrived with freshly baked bread rolls at 9 and at 9.45 Irish Pride delivered fresh bread and Dawn Daries fresh milk. Showers - lots of them, spotless and a euro token will give you a generous 5mins.Toilets spotless with lots of toilet paper. A kitchen with hobs, microwave, toaster, sinks, benches to sit and eat and even a tv. A laudry is also on site. Board games.Shaving sockets. Dogs are allowed, free of charge. The only negative I have is there should be soap dispensers in the bathrooms and a hand dryer. 10 min walk to the pub. 1 min walk to the pier where you can get T, coffee, pastries, burgers, toasted sandwiches, soup and lots more. There is a fantastic walk along the cliff edge it goes all the way from Doolin to Liscannor, passing through Cliffs of Moher, (free for walk and free entry to Cliffs) it takes 3.5 hrs but you can turn back when ever you like. We brought our 2 daughters (6 & 9) and our dog and it was very safe. Bring a picnic if the day is good, the scenery is like no other. Thanks Nagles for yet another Fantastic stay we'll be back.

Room Tip: To the right of the shop as you come in is the windiest so try to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ursula006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just a week ago my fiance and I stayed for the week in our caravan at Nagle's Doolin and we had the most relaxing and enjoyable stay. The toilets and kitchen areas are kept so clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. Thanks to ken for the aeroboard to stop the awning from rattling! Really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredderz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

After a very pleasant greeting and introduction to the campsite we were shown to our pitch which overlooked the Aran Islands and the Cliffs of Moher. The weather could have been kinder but this did not take away from the welcome and the absolutely brilliant facilities on this wonderful campsite. I spoke to the owner, Ken, who advised me that although they are advertised as only three star, they actually are now four star. My opinion - they should have five.

If you enjoy great views, a warm welcome and of course not forgetting the beautiful village of Doolin, then what are you waiting for!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrishEyesLondonderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We arrived at Nagle's early in the evening after a long day on the road with the kids. Ken came down from his house to greet us and was extremely helpful and pleasant. We basically had our pick of over 50 sites and Ken clearly explained the workings of the site and amenities and gave us change for washers and drier. Ken gave us some good advice on the boat trips to the island and cliffs and the local pubs.
The grounds are immaculate and brilliantly situated near the town, the pier and the cliffs to the south. The washer and driers were sanely priced and the best and most efficient we have had on our trip. We pulled up next to the amazing on site playground so we could easily keep an eye on the kids while making tea.
We scored a great day so did the island and cliffs boat trip next day. It was no problem to stay another night. We caught up on some more washing and Ken even gave my wife a some powder for the load. Highly recommend this camp site.

Room Tip: Pitch near playground if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Reversing into our spot I misjudged the situation and drove over a bit of grass (no visible damage), the owner came storming at us and I have never heard so much use of the f-word. Apologizing didn’t help it only seemed to encourage him. We have stayed at a lot of camp sites all over Ireland and Europe and this was by far the worst experience ever.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
12  Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

This site is a little off the beaten track but worth the trek.
We stayed at 3 sites in Ireland- Camac Valley, Nagles Doolin and Knock Caravan Site.

After leaving Camac Valley, we headed off on the N17 and some 150 miles and 3 hours later, we arrived on site. Check in was painless and we were told to pick a pitch. We drove around and it was less than a third full. We opted for pitch No 64, which had a great view of the sea, pier, and Cliffs of Moher. There were no other caravans either side of us which gave us plenty of privacy.
The pitches are part tarmac, part concrete and separated by immaculately cut weed free grass. They all look brand new to be honest, such is the cleanliness of them.
Our 26ft Swift twin axle took up all of the concrete section with the front legs on the Tarmac. We could have pushed it back a bit further and had all four legs on the concrete, with ample room at the front for our car, but I didn't want to walk on wet grass to connect the electrics etc up, which incidentally are all at the rear of the pitch out of the way. All pitches appear to be fully serviced and flat, so no real need for levelling blocks as far as I could see.

Once set up, we put the kettle on and enjoyed the views. It is so quiet on this site, which made a change from the road noise at Camac Valley.

Turn right out of the site and a short walk will take you to Doolin Pier where boats will take you to the Aran Islands. These islands are seen in the opening credits of Father Ted. The house isn't far away in the other direction either.

We took a drive out on the two days we were there. We went to the top of the cliffs and took a drive along the N67 through Listoonvarna to a point where you could clearly see Galway Bay.
When it was time to leave, we were a little sad. It was raining as well, which didnt help.

Regarding other reviews about the site owner Ken. We didn't see him "patrol" once, and only met up with him when we checked out. I found him to be very friendly and polite and nothing like he was described in other reviews. it was quiet when we went so maybe he had no need to come out and tell people to be quiet. This was exactly the reason we came here - for peace and quiet. I've been to sites were the owners haven't done anything about the noise. I want rowdy campers dealt with. Be thankful for site owners like Ken!

We will definitely return to Nagles Doolin, and will spend longer there next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noddynodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We were in doolin for a short break and enjoyed it very much, always very helpfull staff and Ken the owner looks after every one. All aeras are kept spotless. The new play area was great for our grandchildren. Also the kitchen tables are great as we have been there many times and can see the improvements over the years. Make sure to stop if you are travelling in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank claureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.9 mi away
Doolin Glamping
Doolin Glamping
#6 of 20 in Doolin
61 reviews
0.9 mi away
O'Connors Doolin Riverside Camping & Caravan Park
0.8 mi away
Doolin Inn & Hostel
Doolin Inn & Hostel
#1 of 20 in Doolin
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
629 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.9 mi away
Doolin View B&B
Doolin View B&B
#11 of 56 in Doolin
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nagle's Doolin Camping & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagle's Doolin Camping & Caravan Park

Address: Doolin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Doolin
Number of rooms: 99

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing